1994 Honda Prelude Reviews from North America

1994 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very reliable, and very, very fun. ;)

Faults:

Front sway bar links replaced at 120,000.

The headlights kept shutting off; turned out my lighting relay was just loose.

Replaced camshaft end cap at 135,000.

Rear defrost is not working, hope to fix it soon.

A/C not working since I bought the car; hope to fix that soon too. ;)

Probably should replace the timing belt/water pump.

Rust on rear quarter panels, not really the car's fault, I blame Iowa winters.

General Comments:

I bought this car my senior year of high school, and have had it for almost six years now. It's a dark blue color, and she's beautiful.

I don't abuse the Prelude at all, so at this rate it should last me for another 100,000 miles.

Fuel economy is only about 24 city / 27 highway, but it's more than enough for the power you get.

I love taking this car out on the open highway curvy roads; I could go for miles and miles.

The only thing I dislike about my Prelude is the rust on her; if it wasn't for that, this car would be the best in my opinion, and honestly I don't think I'll ever spend the money to get it fixed, I'll just put that money into proper maintenance, and make her run forever. ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2011

1994 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

One of Honda's best in my opinion

Faults:

ABS light is on.. have not had it checked yet.

Driver's seat is torn up (leather seats).

General Comments:

Overall, very pleased with this car. First car I owned that I really loved.

I'll run her until she dies... ;)

Handles great, drives great, mileage not as good as my 05 Accord Coupe, but that's understandable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2010

1994 Honda Prelude S 2.2

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Awesome dash and seats from the factory!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Back seat is very small, but I have an amp and subs in the back, so the front seats are very roomy.

The Prelude takes turns like a Corvette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2008

1994 Honda Prelude Si 2.3

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles

Summary:

Great car to race with and also very reliable

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I have a 94 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 liter its pushing about 190 horse power with a few modifications. this car will demolish any civic VTEC with slight mods. i raced and beat a mazda 3 with mods the other day I smoked that p.o.s. overall the car is real quick for a 4 cyl. and especially for a 1994. I ordered a turbo with a BOV. never seen a prelude with turbo and a BOV before. anyone on here have one? I want to know how it is. I wish it didn't take only premium gas though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

2nd Oct 2007, 02:44

I have a 1993 si prelude I'm running in the high 13teens what are you running.

1994 Honda Prelude Si 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Fast, fun, and sporty

Faults:

Air bag light constantly on.

Air conditioning broken.

Seal on window damaged due to an attempted theft.

General Comments:

The 94' prelude is the best car I have ever had. I loved the interior and the comfortable seats. The dash board and guages are unique and attention grabbing also. The car gets up to speed very quickly and handles like a champ. Even at 170,000 miles the car ran excellent and didn't require any maintenece during the time frame that I owned it. The sad part is that the car was eventually stolen from me. These cars are a target for car thieves, not only for the car itself, but the seats and other interior parts are in high demand on the streets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

25th Oct 2010, 08:00

I bought a Honda Prelude 1994 SI VTEC. It is a nice car. I love it.

But I recently had the tyres changed and the wheels aligned and now the wheel light remains on all the time. I don't know what it could be.

Can someone assist?

1994 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 4 cylinder (H22A)

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder (H22A) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance131500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not all that common, but worth every penny

Faults:

The whole cat-back exhaust system broke.

The flex-point on the headers broke.

Battery terminals rusted over and needed cleaning.

Oil pan was leaking badly and I was burning about 1 gallon of oil a month.

Clutch slave cylinder was getting a leak at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car isn't all that quick until you hit the VTEC and then it just takes off.

Handling could be better, but it's not all that bad.

My friend who is 6'4 doesn't fit very well.

Awesome dash that is spread out across the width of the car.

Leather seats are very comfortable and offer very good support when racing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 00:15

I think this review was written very well.

5th Jan 2007, 05:22

Good review, but you could fit a 7 foot man in this car easily, I am 6"2 and with the drivers seat fully back I can't even touch the peddles, absolutely no rear leg room though.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews