2005 Hyundai Elantra Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 7

2005 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired461 miles
Most recent distance755 miles
Previous carKia KIA Sephia

Summary:

I really like this style of car

Faults:

Nothings gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

Car seems like it has plenty of pep even for a 4 cyl. Is roomy inside and has a lot of appeal. Dash is well designed and is easy to read all gages. However mine had a cassette player in it and dealer changed out for a CD player at no charge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

7th Oct 2007, 18:28

Things that have broken, check engine light came on at 28,000 miles due to thermostat problem, dealer fixed with no problem, battery went out at 42,000 miles after 3 years of use, this is a maintenance item. Other that that this has been a problem free car.

26th Sep 2009, 18:50

Car was a very good car, totaled in 2009. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone.

2005 Hyundai Elantra GLS 5 Door (Hatchback) 2.0 I4

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 I4 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance5200 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fabulous car for the money. Outstanding warranty!

Faults:

Slight shudder when braking. Dealer replaced both front Rotors (discs) with no questions asked under warranty. Brakes are perfect now. Mechanic said shudder was probably caused by a slight disc warp due getting disc brakes wet after a long hard usage, or incorrect factory torque setting during installation at factory.

General Comments:

The vehicle is an excellent daily driver with wonderful fit and finish. Quite, smooth, comfortable seats and great handling and power for a small 2.0 liter engine.

I love driving this car which surprised me after owning a BMW 3 series. American car manufacturers need to worry about another competitor on it's shores other than the Japanese which are already starting to dominate the car market in the US.

Hyundai backs its cars with a great warranty because they believe in their cars. Ask why Ford and GM don't do the same with their disposable cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2005

2005 Hyundai Elantra GLS 2.0 liter

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Faults:

Cassette Player plays at double speed when it changes direction. I have to manually eject the tape and flip it over before it gets to the end. Minor annoyance.

Some buzzing rattles in driver door and front passenger door.

General Comments:

I bought this car after serious consideration between it, a Corolla and a Civic.

The others do get slightly better gas mileage. So far I average 34mpg.

This car rides better and is quieter than the Civic. has more options than both the others for the price and has a 10 year warranty. I paid $12,200 for a car that feels like a slightly smaller Camry. I would have had to buy a used Corolla or Civic with little warranty left for the same price.

I love the power the car has. With a manual transmission I always have enough. I did test drive an automatic and didn't find it as peppy.

The RPM's do raise a little for one whole second when I put the clutch in. At first I thought this odd, but now I know that if I shift exactly at the times the owners manual tells me to i.e. 15,25,35,45 mph respectively, the RPM's fall just right and it shifts as if I have an automatic. None of that slight lurching or anything. Everything is really smooth.

The car is as quiet as my dad's Camry. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

2005 Hyundai Elantra VE 2.0 16v DOHC

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance1755 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Very good fuel efficient fast little car

Faults:

Nothing major so far...

Left front signal bulb fell out when dealer installed fog lamps.

Could not unlatch hood.

General Comments:

The car is awesome, love it, nothing major has happened yet... very comfortable, stereo is awesome for stock, and it's surprisingly quick... a lot of my friends own Elantras and to what I hear from them (my brother included) I couldn't go wrong with this purchase...It's one heck of an upgrade from my old 1994 Sentra (mind you had it until 300,000kms) Just enjoy it a lot...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

2005 Hyundai Elantra

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Getting to love it

Faults:

So far I have not had any problems with my new Elantra, but it does have big shoes to fill. By replacing the Mercury Sable wagon which had more toys, more room, more power and a few odds and ends which I miss.

General Comments:

My Elantra VE has surprised me with its handling on icy roads and even to overtake another vehicle, the power is there. For a small car it's very comfortable. The radio and cd player has a great sound. Items such as windshield wipers, lights, cruise control and especially the ignition are very well situated. Fortunately it does not have ABS brakes, but it does have the donut tire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

21st Mar 2005, 15:36

Why don't you like ABS? It could save your life.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews