1995 Hyundai Scoupe Reviews from North America

1995 Hyundai Scoupe LS 1.5L

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles

Summary:

Love

Faults:

Where to start? I bought my car for $1800. E-tested/certified at the beginning. All was good, then came the bodywork as it needed it; RUSTY SPOTS EVERYWHERE...

The car was badly damaged on the driver's side. Myself and my father fiberglassed the damaged area, and made it look new :)

New gas tank in the 1st year of owning it. Tiniest little pin hole was leaking. And a bumper; some person rear ended me :(

Within the last year I have replaced the fuel pump (original 95 pump), a gas pump thing that puts the gas in the motor from the gas tank, exhaust pipe (original), starter, alternator, shocks, struts and ball joints. I basically have a BRAND new 1995 Hyundai in 2013.

Just this last week my cooling fan stopped working. The car overheated 2 times in 1 day :( Being looked into to get it up and running again.

As for numbers, I don't recall any mileages for any repairs, but all I know is it works, it drives, and that's what matters :)

General Comments:

I love my car. I'm happy to be a DRIVER!

I just got my license 2 years ago, and learned a lot on how to fix and do whatever to a car that I had no clue how to do before.

I am a girl, and I basically remodeled my car on the outside; fiberglassed rusted spots, sanded, bondo'd, sanded and repainted the car to the colour it originally was (white), just no glossy finish. All done with my own 2 hands. My father supervised my progress :)

I have to say I am glad (more than glad, ecstatic) that I bought the car, and I love my car. The 2013 "PEPSI MOBILE" I call it, as it has a Original Pepsi logo on the hood. My nickname with a logo on either side "PEPSI GIRL" on the upper part of the rear window and PEPSI REP "unofficially of course" on the bumper, and an E-Plate that reads, while the brakes are on "Don't Drink and Drive and if you do Drink Pepsi!!!! M.A.D.D."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2013

10th Aug 2013, 23:22

Is that your 1995 Scoupe on cardomain.com? What's with the Pepsi addiction?

Anyways, I am happy that you enjoy driving, oppose drunk driving, and that you have used your mechanical interests to keep a Scoupe on the road. There aren't many left of these neat little cars.

1995 Hyundai Scoupe 86,000 1.5

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85500 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

I love my car!

Faults:

Nothing yet, that's a good thing.

General Comments:

It's a real good running car and has a lot of get up and go. get a performance exhaust and intake like I have. the car was fast before, but it flys now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

15th Aug 2005, 10:16

Take good care of it and it won't fail you. My sister has a '93 Scoupe with 130,000 miles on it and it's been badly abused which has caused everything cosmetic to fall apart, yet mechanically it's held up well and still runs reliably. You can't kill these cars.

1995 Hyundai Scoupe 1.7 non-turbo

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Surprisingly reliable... the one model Hyundai got right!

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong to be honest... the transmission has always been weak. But, I've been driving it like that for 17,000 miles and it's not really noticeable until you hit speeds over 75MPH. I am actually having my first repair on the car done tomorrow... a new starter... $180. But, for a car with 147,000 miles on it, I can't complain. The only other things I've had done to the car are: new tires, new battery, and oil changes... regular maintenance. I've never had the A/C charged and it is ice-cold... I live in the desert, so this is important.

General Comments:

I purchased this car cheap... about $1000 about a year ago. I've already put 17,000 miles on the car. I was VERY reluctant to by anything with a "HYUNDAI" logo on it. But, I must admit, that the car has been very reliable and comfortable. I think that this is the only model Hyundai put out in pre-year-2000 that is reliable... I've heard that their other models (Hyundai Accent, Hyundai Excel) are real lemons. But, this model... the SCOUPE... is surprisingly good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

10th Aug 2005, 22:11

That's awesome and yes I have one and agree, succas.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews