2001 Hyundai Sonata Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 7

2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.5L V6

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Never fails to impress

Faults:

Paint chipping from rear left door handle. Recalled for side airbags which were fixed quickly and for free under warranty.

General Comments:

The V6 accelerates to 60 in less than eight seconds which is impressive for a car of its size. Plenty of power after 4000 RPM, but enough low end torque to be drivable. It is faster than 4 cylinder Accords, most 6 cylinder Mustangs and older V6 Camaros. Interior materials are of decent quality. The 4 speed auto is a bit slow to shift. Ride is soft and comfortable. On sharp turns, the Sonata's body rolls considerably. Hard braking at high speeds causes the body to oscillate left and right. I don't have much confidence in this car while its suspension is being pushed to the limit. As a family car it works well and for thousands less than its competition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.4 Liter

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Buy a Honda Accord or Nissan Altima instead

Faults:

Electric firing coils replaced at 20,000 miles.

Door handle broke off at 35,000 miles.

Hood latch replaced at 42,000 miles.

Windshield washer fluid motor replaced 3 times.

Windshield wiper motor replaced at 40,000 miles.

Very poor paint job. All of the paint on the door handles have worn off already.

General Comments:

This car was purchased largely due to the 10 year / 100,000 mile warranty. I now know why they have such an extensive warranty.

This car gets very poor gas mileage for a 4-cylinder. I have not gotten over 21 miles per gallon, city or hi way.

In town this car has a very rough ride and will shake you to death. The suspension is not adequate.

This car starts very rough in winter and even rougher in summer.

This car has very high maintainence costs. The dealer charges $300 for the 30,000 mile tune-up and over $600 for the 60,000 mile tune-up.

This car was a bargain when I purchased it, but is has become very expensive to maintain and operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

5th Jul 2005, 19:58

I've had the same problem with peeling paint on the door handles. I had the dealer remove and repaint the right rear handle. Then I started losing paint on the other three handles. The dealer advised that paint is only warranted for 36,000 miles and my car was now at 42,000. They then suggested I buy a can of spray paint.

2001 Hyundai Sonata Base 2.4L I4

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L I4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

It's father was a GT Cup Car and its mother was a Rolls

Faults:

Power steering pump just starting to whine. Brake pads and rotors went at 11,000 miles (not a design flaw, just a lead foot).

General Comments:

Great handling, but front end unloads if you tip it too far, get the lowering kit.

Awesome acceleration.

Seats are more comfortable then my freinds Maxima GLE.

Interior is very well thought out, everything within reach.

No loaner car if something goes wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance25 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Definitely a incredible bargain at 3 year @ 0.9% and $800 rebate (total was $800 under invoice)

Faults:

None, just purchased.

General Comments:

Appear to be great car for the money.

Big car feel without big car handling.

Very manueverable and easy to brake.

Comfy & cozy (almost luxurious) ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

A lemon and junk

Faults:

Mass Air Flow (MAF). When the car comes to a complete stop and you want to take off, it stalls. When even trying to cross an intersection and one is trying to cut through, there is no power and it leaves you going 5 MPH knowing that the gas pedal is positioned where it can go faster, and it doesn't. No power at all and it only has a little over 10,000 miles. You be the judge.

General Comments:

I know being a car owner in the state of Florida there is a thing call a Lemon Law, and this vehicle is what it is, a piece of LEMON.

I have tried numerous of time to rectify this issue and Fort Lauderdale Rick Case Hyundai did not make it any easier, from the stealing of my CD's when my car was in for a service, to the rude management hanging up on me.

I know that this probably will not help, but I for sure will not recommend anyone to purchase any vehicle from Hyundai due to the fact that they do not help when you need to be helped, and consumers like us are stuck with a piece of junk.

We are at the point of finding a lawyer or even HELP ME HOWARD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

29th Oct 2001, 23:29

You went to the wrong dealership, do research before you buy, OK that's your problem, stop trying to get other consumers to stop buying Hyundai.

If you noticed a problem, trade it in for a new one.

29th Jan 2002, 15:57

If you would like some help rectifying your situation please call me. LeRoy Larson General Manager Rick Case Hyundai 954-377-7501 direct line.

28th Oct 2006, 22:42

I just spent my Saturday afternoon on the side of the highway - again!

I own a 2001 Sonata and I can't go more than 2 weeks without driving or being towed back to the service department for a repair. 2 tows in 2 months.

Today, October 28, it stalled and I was crying since I need to begin training for a job in Tampa tomorrow. The Sales Manager was kind enough to give me a loaner. However, after over a dozen visits for major problems in a year, it just isn't enough. Windows go off track, power doors jam, needed 2 new batteries, new alternator, last week the front axle went and there was grease everywhere. Out of warranty on Oct 18 and today God only knows what happened. I have approx 55K on this car. By the way, cosmetically it looks awful. The clear coat peeled off the bumper and there's paint chipping and rust everywhere. I hope I can get some legal assistance!

Warning - if you plan to buy a Hyundai, make sure you aren't employed because, if you are, you'll probably lose your job. Last May I was told I should either get rid of my car or find a new job, since it was always in the shop.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews