2014 Jeep Compass 4x2 2.0 gas

Summary:

Good, honest little SUV for the money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

Very inexpensive vehicle.

The 2.0 is only 158 HP, so it's not great in the hills.

The back seat is small for a baby seat. I have to put the front seat up half way so my 2 year old's feet are not smashed.

Great gas mileage though, and easy to park.

My car's only option is air conditioning that works well.

It's kind of hard getting used to no power windows, but Jeep wanted way too much $ for the "power package".

I also hate not having power locks, and having to lock each door one at a time. Overall though, for the price it is a decent, honest, no frills car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2015

2008 Jeep Compass Sport 2X4 2.4L

Summary:

Problem free, thanks Jeep

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car is very good as a commuter.

Handles very good in mud and light off road conditions.

I average 46 mpg in the city and get, yes, 31 mpg on trips from San Fernando to Paso Robles, CA.

No problem getting up the big grades like the So. Cal grapevine.

Love this small SUV!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2009

12th Feb 2009, 18:22

You get 46 MPG in the city? WOW!!! Talk about efficiency! Way to go, Jeep!

29th Jun 2012, 15:25

The MPG looks insane. Are you sure?

2007 Jeep Compass Sport 4X2 2.4L

Summary:

10/10 - Bang for your $$$$

Faults:

Nothing so far, the jeep is doing great.

General Comments:

After 7,000 km, I'm totally satisfied with my purchase, it seems to be reliable, the engine (4 cylinder) is peppy for the size of the vehicle. Seats are comfortable, handling is good.

Enough space, excellent on fuel consumption, I have nothing negative to say, I would give it a 10 for bang for your $$$

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2007

4th Dec 2008, 23:53

Welcome to the Jeep family... as a little brother. You are the Daimler solution to the decreasing demand for large SUVs. And it does not come without a price: shared platform and components with other chrysler products. Older Jeep products where powered by other manufacturers power-trains, but in an exclusive overall design it will never shared with others. With Daimler, all Jeep patents where now available and adapted to the whole Daimler lineup (Quadra-Trac design in Mercedes and quadra-Link in Dodge trucks). For a Jeep purist, these new additions to the brand are the final insult. But welcome anyway, as long as you respect your older brother, the Wrangler, and its attributes, and the honor will be saved. Enjoy the fun through an authentic American icon, with its qualities and faults.

29th Sep 2012, 20:18

What's this about honoring your older brother, the Wrangler?

I've been a Jeep enthusiast all of my life, and have owned 3 Wrangers - 2 YJ's & 1 TJ - (the YJ's are my favorites) as well as 3 Libertys.

Perhaps you are too young to remember, but when the YJ first came out, Jeep purists were appalled that Jeep dare replace the CJ with the Wrangler and its rectangular headlights - well it turned out that the YJ Wrangler was one of the best products Jeep ever manufactured, especially when they went to the 4.0 inline six and the Aisin 5 speed transmission (replacing the problematic Peugeot tranny).

So just remember when you have the audacity to ask a non-Wrangler Jeep owner to "honor" the older brother, the Wrangler - you really have no idea how many Wranglers, CJs, TJs or whatever they have owned in the past.

So in other words - worry about your own Jeep, and don't be judgmental of other Jeep owners.

2007 Jeep Compass Sport 4x4 2.4L

Summary:

Great value, lots of features for a great price

Faults:

The rear hatch didn't close right when it hit -30 degrees Celsius.

The rear brakes were horribly noisy when in reverse.

General Comments:

Overall the Jeep is a fantastic buy, a great value, lots of features. I'd have to spend close to $8K to get a similarly equipped Ford Edge (which I'd prefer). Other similar SUVs are also $3-5K more than an equipped Compass.

My Compass has 4x4/AWD which works great in 4WD mode in the snow. I added Nokian WR all-weather tires and they work great also.

So far I'm quite happy with the Jeep, I've had it 5 months. Time will tell if it is reliable. There is a 5 year powertrain, 3 year bumper-to-bumper warranty. This is my first DCX vehicle since 12 years ago.

I've started a website dedicated to Jeep Compass owners and enthusiasts so you can read more opinions and info: http://www.MyJeepCompass.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2007