Lada Samara Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

1991 Lada Samara 1300 1.3L Gas

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3L Gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carLada Samara

Faults:

I purchased the car for $300 with a bad transmission and bad clutch. This costed another $1000 for the repairs, after which point I was on the road. I've had no problems since.

General Comments:

Very simple design makes basic maintenance easy.

Reliable economical workhorse.

Lada Owner's club has been very helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

26th May 2002, 09:15

Are you in Canada or USA?

(it isn't made clear on this website)

I am interested to know if Lada cars were ever sold in USA.

12th Feb 2003, 22:13

Ladas were first exported from Russia during the cold war, and because of the conflict were never exported to the USA. They were displayed on a couple of occasions at major US new car shows, but not enough interest existed to proceed.

1994 Lada Samara 1.5

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carLada Samara

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Brake calipers and pistons (back and front) seized several times.

Clutch burnt out.

All locks including hatchback lock seized.

All doors (despite oiling hinges) seized.

Rocker panels and floor rusted through.

Rear wheel articulation bolt to frame rusted through, rendering the car all but irrepairable.

Floor of trunk rusted through.

Carburetor barrel warped.

Constant trouble with idle speed.

Had to replace the entire exhaust system every two years.

General Comments:

Inferior quality control.

Extremely poor quality metal body. My '84 Toyota Van continues to be rust free, this Lada bought new in '94 has been rendered undrivable due to rust.

All interior parts are extremely cheap quality.

All interior fittings are loose and rattly.

Handles very heavily.

Poor gas mileage for the displacement.

Rust, rust and more rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

7th Aug 2001, 08:50

I am quite fussy with my Lada, and I have no rust at all. Granted, they are not the best built, but properly maintained they are a reliable car that does need more than the average amount of maintenance. Mechanically they are reliable too, as long as you perform the maintenance as soon as any problem arises. Maybe you should have washed your car after you bought it.

3rd Sep 2001, 13:23

I have the same car now. I paid 1800 for it and I have a lot of trouble with the cooling fan for the motor.

Also the master cylinder is now leaking, the pick up coil needed to be replaced and now the knob that controls the air flow in the car is broke.

I think I got burned when I bought that piece of crap, but there is no rust on the car, also the wiring of this car is really poor.

14th Sep 2001, 02:32

Yes, I agree that you should have washed the car after you had aquired it, take some advice, don't slag a car off just because you couldn't be bothered to maintain it!

31st Oct 2001, 20:04

Are you sure you bought a Lada Samara or did you just retrieve one from the sea?? I've had one since '91 and no rust at all!!! This car has 120000km and the only problem was some piece in the clutch, and Lada repaired it for me!!! The interior sucks :)

29th Mar 2004, 23:00

I have driven (a lot) 2 Ladas, property of my father. They feel good during the first 5000 km if you have not tried anything else. However they always feel better than a Moskvich. For a person who drove a regular car the Lada feels a little nonsense or a lawn mower. I have done 160 km/h in a Lada when I was very young and I did not care of my life enough. I was shocked that the same Lada would not do more than 120 km/h at 50000 km (30k miles). This might be a 60's technology, but the quality is back in the mid ages.

1994 Lada Samara 1.5

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carLada Signet (Riva)

Summary:

Dependable and inexpensive transportation

Faults:

Seat had a loose weave which got snagged. LadaCanada replaced the interior with Sport fittings.

Resonator replaced twice (once under warranty).

Starter rebuilt at 120,000 kms (slipping a touch and I didn't want to risk it as I commute 500 kms per week in the car).

General Comments:

I have read other individuals comments on these cars. I do wonder if the preparation and dealer support is the difference in this case.

I enjoy and rely on my car. I have driven a number of different vehicles in the past, and find this one stacks up with most others.

The multi-port fuel injection system has never let me down, and get approx 5.9 L/100kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews