Lamborghini Murcielago Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

2002 Lamborghini Murcielago 6.2

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance2590 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

A rocket on wheels, like no other!

Faults:

My only problem with this car is that it stalled about three times. One time time it stalled as I pulled in a parking lot, the second out of my drive way and the third time was recently, when I was about to take off from an intersection. The car just stalls and the dashboard lights up. I still haven't gotten it checked yet, I'm going to take a shot in the dark, and say its because the way I drive it, but I think its meant to be red-lined, no?

General Comments:

For a vehicle of this value, I think it hits the spot. Stalling is bad, very bad, people in civics point and laugh! Honestly I had to PUSH the car to side of the street, last week when it stalled. People where really laughing at me. And yet when I'm at the light and it doesn't stall, everybody shuts up, I don't get it. However I'm going to go get it checked next week, and hopefully the problem will be fixed.

This vehicle is off the hook, you're chance to meet dozens of people daily, and smoke a lot more, despite my little stalling problem this car is amazing, seats are a bit hard, a little under steer, a whole lot of power, and a lot more noise. But I don't mind the noise, I LOVE it!

Would I buy this car again? HELL YEAH! I don't know many cars that I can reach 170 in just 16 seconds! I got from Koenig some bigger pipes for more noise, and better performance, and some 'cheater' tires. This car smokes my 360 Modena, Barchetta, 911 Turbo, E55 AMG, Lamborghini Diablo (1996), Viper, Z06, XK8, Aston Martin DB7 Vantage, and my Lotus Espirit V8!

A must have for any Lamborghini fan, get one before its to late, I know this car has gotten some bad reviews, but out of my batch of 11 cars, this one rules them all! King of the hill. Period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

14th Aug 2003, 23:20

Wow! Automatic!? That must have cost a lot, I don't know many people willing to touch 300 thousand dollar vehicles!

27th Mar 2004, 08:17

Well, actually there is a semi-automatic clutchless gearbox you can order with your Murcielago called "e-gear". But this was certainly not available in 2002 but from late 2003-early 2004. So it's just a case of another sad reviewer...

20th Oct 2004, 09:55

If you would learn to drive... maybe the stalling would not occur ----- jpNY ('97 RR silver spur, '00 BMW m5, '99 L diablo alpine edition)

7th Mar 2006, 18:10

Lets see it was purchased new in 2002 sold in 2003. Desire then to make the V12 even louder to draw more attention. It could have been chromed, but no someone has already done that. Anyone that is lucky enough to acquire one of the 200 made per year certainly knows how to drive better than most... as well as certainly attended a high speed professional driving school. Assuming the car was new and not having mechanical defects you should have mastered the usage of a clutch. I have never driven one so I might stall out myself maybe twice? But I have only driven a Porche 930 Turbo and my sons 2002 Viper RT/10.

11th Jul 2007, 10:01

Stalling seems to be inherent in the earlier cars because of the sensors on the drive by wire system. It was changed on later cars; I haven't driven one yet to see if the modification works.

2003 Lamborghini Murcielago Coupe V12

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V12 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1600 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

My dream car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is my love I can't believe I could afford it it is cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

13th Sep 2003, 06:35

You owned a Buick Century and believe this to be a dream car. C'mon, why are you reviewing a car you haven't owned? I am sick of all these fake reviews. We cannot separate the wheat from the chaff. I agree with the political views that these vehicles are an incredible waste of resources (see other reviews of the Lamborghinis), but it would be nice to hear from genuine owners to find out from them what these vehicles are actually like.

7th May 2004, 13:34

I wrote the review and I won the lottery so it ain't fake and I could'nt think of anything else.

14th Dec 2004, 15:01

Does anyone own or know of anybody with a Muira?

I'm waiting to read a comment on this awesome car.

2002 Lamborghini Murcielago Massive 6.2L V12

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Massive 6.2L V12 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2117 miles
Previous carMaserati Biturbo

Summary:

Who needs an airplane when you've got this baby?

Faults:

- Nothing yet, except it has helped me become well acquainted with local law enforement.

General Comments:

- This is the ultimate road going machine.

- With a zero to sixty time of 3.7 seconds, and a top speed in excess of 205 mph, this car will really get you noticed.

- Some of the other cars in my collection are a Mercedes CL 600, a Volkswagen Passat W8, a Bi-turbo, a Jaguar XJR, and a BMW X5 4.6is. All are outstanding vehicles and are highly recommended by me.

- I've done enough bragging for now. If you are actually serious about buying a Murcielago, take one for a spin. Then you'll know what it really means to drive a Lamborghini.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

14th Oct 2002, 09:59

How fast have you gone in this thing!?

14th Oct 2002, 14:15

It does 205 mph effortlessly.

14th Oct 2002, 19:09

Hmm. Your notes are interesting. Can anyone add to them? It's proving hard work trying to find a decent review of this car on the Web. I, in a fit of madness, have ordered one of these. No I can't afford it, but I've remortgaged the house so I can get it.

If anyone is reading this that can add to the experience above, I'd really appreciate it. You can save 100k by getting an older Diablo. Is it really worth that much more, or would a Diablo be good enough?

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 5 reviews