1999 Lexus LS 400 4.0 1UZ-FSE V8


If you want something tank reliable, this is the car for you. It is superb even from year one


Nothing except windshield washer fluid, and I fixed it using a wire to pull up the float, and replacing the third brake light bulbs.

I have been doing research and have chosen to go to my local Lexus dealer to get the original 90k service done now. It's $1,162.90 and includes belt, tensioners, idlers, fluids, oil change, wash, ALL.

It's a dream car. Something that can only be appreciated if driven. Even at 155k I can floor it and stomp my 2010 V6 Coupe Accord... It's a beast, yet clean and elegant. My Mom (59) loves "the squared lines and elegance." I want her to get one now and throw her '02 Acura TL-S away.

General Comments:

In my opinion it's what Toyota got when they tried to build the best car in the world. It's superb. I still get looks and comments on how clean and original it is. I absolutely love my 16 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2015

1st Dec 2015, 23:24

"Tank reliable". I chose a '96 Town Car 9 years ago. No regrets at all.

10th Dec 2015, 17:12

Just got my service date for major maintenance. Pretty stoked! The Honda has been out of commission due to fouled spark plugs, outdated computer and a bad starter... All covered under warranty, but still left my mom stranded over the Altamont Pass when I let her use it...

Lincoln Town Cars are indeed nice, but I chose the Lexus for different reasons, primarily because of the engineering that went into making them.

1999 Lexus LS 400


This is a terrific automobile


Front hood supports failed to support the hood at 60,000 miles.

The right speakers of the car stereo fade in and out after 80,000 miles.

"Low windshield washer fluid" warning light stays on at 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have owned. It is quiet, gives a smooth ride, and can travel almost 500 miles on a tank of gas.

I purchased as a certified, and now have over 200,000 miles. Most of the maintenance has been routine, although expensive at the Lexus dealership. I expect to get at least another 100,000 miles. At 200,000 miles the car rides almost as new as the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2010

6th Apr 2016, 15:06

I had the annoying washer fluid indicated light as well at 150,000. I used a piece of wire and made a fish hook and looped it around the floater in the washer reservoir, and pulled up and bent the wire over the cap. Bingo, no more indicator light. The floats get water logged after so many years, so this is a very easy fix. Also, if you ever have an annoying tail lamp failure but all the lights work, just replace all bulbs including the third brake light bulbs. Even if one has a weak current, it will throw the all mighty annoying indicator light.

30th May 2016, 03:57

I just removed the sensor under the reservoir!

1999 Lexus LS 400 4.0 V8


A great luxury sedan for anybody


The Sending Unit went bad on the temperature gage.

The right taillight went out.

General Comments:

This is a great, reliable, and comfortable luxury sedan. The wood trim feels cheap in some places.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2005

23rd Mar 2008, 21:50

My 1999 LS400 is a superb vehicle in every respect. It has 296 hp., 300 lb. ft. of torque, 0-60 in 6.5 seconds, and a top speed of 155 mph. The interior is fabulous. The steering wheel, alone, takes 3 weeks, by hand, to make. The walnut is real. The side and rear view look like a 5 series M-B or a 7 series BMW. I will keep it forever. In the winter, it rests in our heated garage. To drive it feels like riding in first class leather. The LS 430 and 460 models are plain vanilla in appearance. My '99 has a classic appearance. I'll never trade it.

23rd Jul 2008, 20:34

There is no doubt that the Lexus LS is a superbly engineered auto, but I dislike for a few reasons which I will list.

1.) It is an obvious forgery of a German car which is a far more noble and prestigious auto (Mercedes-Benz S-Class.) A modern upstart from the land of technology and robotics will never be able to match the craftsmanship and heritage of a European car.

2.) The styling is extremely bland and not balanced properly. A W140 S-Class or Jaguar XJ8 is styled more beautifully.

3.) The car isn't completely without fault in the area of reliability and quality. There is a Technical Service Bulletin for some component in the front suspension. This faulty component causes it to have almost no damping over sudden, sharp imperfections in the road surface. It really is quite irritating.

4.) The trunk space is minuscule. When I drive the car on road trips, I have to carry some of my luggage in the cabin area.

5.) The interior quality is a far cry from excellent. The handle on the center console lid is made from horribly flimsy plastics and so are the cup holders and so are the plastic areas surrounding the interior door handles. You would think that an auto that is priced at almost $60,000 would have a better interior.