2004 Lincoln LS Reviews from North America

2004 Lincoln LS 3.9

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.9
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Poor value for the money

Faults:

Steering squeak; took 6 trips to get this fixed by the dealer.

Ignition coil, major expense, had to remove the intake manifold etc.

Faulty air bag unit, wanted $2500 to replace the electrical system.

Faulty heated and cooled seats.

Gas door release faulty.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of crap, and I would not recommend it as a used vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2014

18th Jan 2014, 23:07

The ignition coil seems like the only real problem here; the other "problems" are just amenities failing. I suspect you're being ripped off by shops/dealerships. The LS isn't one of Lincoln's best cars, but it's not the worst either. Don't go to the dealership for service unless you have a warranty; they don't know anything and overcharge on everything.

19th Jan 2014, 14:40

There was a recent Motoramic auto article on cars that dealers do not want (including the Lincoln LS) because of various problems they have...

http://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motoramic/car-dealer-scientific-guide-10-worst-used-vehicles-222709616.html

Dealers don't want them, but because of that, there could be some great bargains out there on these cars. And if you are handy with a wrench or a part time mechanic, there could be some steals out there. Some of those cars were $20,000 to $40,000 when new.

2004 Lincoln LS LSE V8

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance22800 kilometres
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

JUNK!!!

Faults:

Battery replaced twice, multifunction dash switch broke and replaced, computer module and harness had to be replaced; vehicle would virtually go from 100 km/hr to 40 km/hr in limp mode at least 10 times, both rear rims replaced, rear lights replaced, problems with seat control, brakes.

This vehicle listed for $63000, and had numerous problems, too many to list; a very unreliable and terrible car.

General Comments:

Junk!!! In the shop 6 times for 19 days, and no help from Ford/Lincoln Canada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2011

2004 Lincoln LS 3.9L 4V DOHC V8

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.9L 4V DOHC V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired479 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

For the price paid and service rendered, it is a big disappointment

Faults:

Our 2004 Lincoln LS needs a new transmission after only 55,000 miles.

We 1st experienced problems 2/28, but were out of town, & took the car in for service as soon as we returned. We were then told the transmission needed to be replaced.

We contacted Ford right away. But after hours on the phone with a customer service rep, Ford claims the warranty ended 3/1 & this car wasn't taken in for service until 3/4, so they won't do anything to make it good.

We have maintained this car well. Ford should be embarrassed.

General Comments:

Comfortable car to ride in.

Lots of power.

Problems with many things, including the driver's seat. It needed repair, and after it was fixed, the back panel fell off and wouldn't stay on. My husband had to tie it on.

Heated driver's seat needed numerous repairs.

Gas door release doesn't work now.

Trunk release didn't work for a while, but was fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2011

2004 Lincoln LS

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres

Summary:

The best used car deal on the planet

Faults:

Nothing; it is solid as a rock

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

But I am absolutely dumbfounded at how a car of this class can depreciate so much; this car sold for 61.000 and change only 6 years ago. I picked it up for 12.995 with 80000 klm on it; I couldn't believe it. When I was looking for a car to buy, I looked at used Japanese luxury cars with more klms and twice the price. It makes me wonder how many more American cars are getting overlooked for the way over rated Japanese cars.

Wake up people, to overlook a gem like this, I just don't get it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2010

7th May 2010, 09:06

The same is true for most American luxury brands. Cadillac is pretty bad too. I think the LS is such a niche car that it had a very limited buyer pool when it was the current sporty car in the Lincoln line. This caused them to lose like 50% in the first year or so. My mother had one and she paid like $47K for it and got less than $20K on trade three years later and the car only had 23K miles on it. They surely are a super used car deal though for all you are getting. I never was crazy about her car though as it was very slippery in the shifting department, which took away much of the sportiness of the drive.

7th May 2010, 14:21

It appears having some quality issues as other reviews show: window motors, ignition coils, valve cover gasket. But there are good hints on how to fix these things as well.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews