2011 Lincoln MKX AWD 3.7

Summary:

Don't buy one. Don't buy any AWD Ford or Lincoln with the same powertrain (Edge, Fusion, MKS, etc.)

Faults:

Power brake booster failed.

Power transfer unit needs replacement.

No engine oil pressure - being diagnosed & fixed.

Sunroof sticks when closing, must pull it by hand to help the motor close it.

Power steering hoses leaking.

Multiple problems with Sync & Navigation system rebooting, not working properly, etc.

Door speakers replaced multiple times.

Various rattles in the doors, body, etc.

General Comments:

I bought this car new, with the top line option package, which included nearly everything but the adaptive speed control. Overall the car drives fairly well, it is relatively comfortable. I would not rank the ride as great, nor is it a quiet car.

But it is troublesome. It's been back for a number of problems. Ford seems to have an epidemic of PTU problems. Google returns thousands of hits with people recounting the problems with that part. The PTU, Power Transfer Unit, attaches to the transaxle on the right side of the car in-line with the right front wheel's axle. The job of the PTU is to send engine torque to the rear axle via the connected drive shaft. The failure mode of the PTU is that the oil sludges, turns to jelly and gets thrown out of the housing by gear motion. Unlubricated, the gears and bearings fail. If you catch the problem early, multiple gear oil changes to flush out the old lube can save the unit from premature failure, but you have to catch the problem early. The PTU holds only a few ounces of gear oil and is located between the engine and the catalytic converter. It doesn't take much or a long time for the oil to being breaking down. It's not easy to change, but it is possible for a do-it-yourself person to do. If you have one of these lemons, change the oil annually, at least.

The other problem I'm still trying to resolve. While passing another car, the oil pressure warning suddenly sounded with a message on the instrument cluster. The crankcase is full, so it's not a low oil level situation. Normally when idling, I can see oil flowing from a port inside the valve cover area by removing the oil fill cap. The oil flow is currently very low and without any evidence of pressure. I've also removed the oil pressure sensor and confirmed with a gauge that there's no oil pressure. There's no major external leaks. The dealers want me to bring the car to them before they estimate the repair cost, but there's nothing more to see without them disassembling the engine, which at that point, you're on the hook for whatever they want to charge.

Unlike my Lincoln Town car that I drove for 250,000 miles before trading it and the dealer re-selling it to a limousine company that drove it another 150,000 miles, and my Navigator that I drove nearly 400,000 miles, and my Mark VIII that I still own and drive regularly, this car is unreliable junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2016

12th Oct 2016, 21:51

We have 2 Edges, one with 168k, and one with 190k. No issue in this area. The My Touch is another matter. Buy a 2010 and it does not have this.

13th Oct 2016, 03:33

This is what you get in place of a Town Car; It's a shame that they were discontinued.

13th Oct 2016, 12:38

Our one owner Town Car needed every line replaced under it and needed a new suspension.

14th Oct 2016, 03:04

Northern climates will do that to any car.

14th Oct 2016, 10:45

Except the car was located at a mobile home park in Sebring Florida.

14th Oct 2016, 22:21

Yeah, well mine is 20 years old, 216,000 miles, lived its whole life in Palm Beach county FL. and does not have one spec of rust underneath. Though the rear air suspension I did replace with conventional springs at 175,000 miles. I've worked on many vehicles and have never seen a Florida car with rot on the undercarriage.

Seems kind of strange it could have happened to your Lincoln. Sorry to hear about that.

15th Oct 2016, 11:16

Cars in many parts of Florida do rust. And not just the coast. It rains often in many areas, even if just for short periods. The recent hurricane will now have many flood damaged vehicles for sale. We also had a Range Rover with a failed suspension. People that tow boats and personal watercraft can also have suspension issues using boat ramps. The intense tropical sun cracks dashes seats and fades paint and interiors. Even with a garage or carport. Adding more tint is common. We have had tops warp on other convertible models across the front to allow rain in.

2008 Lincoln MKX 3.7 liter V6

Summary:

No wonder this car is so popular!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the MKX yet. The paint on the back bumper is cheap, and chips and scratches appear easily over the entire car... it is black.

Needs a cargo area protector for the top of the bumper.

General Comments:

Lincoln created air-conditioned seats as their answer to crack. I'm an addict for sure. Drives like a dream, has the turning radius of a Toyota Corolla. Rock solid. Needs cargo area cover... no place to hide stuff.

Crappy gas mileage, we averaged about 15 which SHOULD be a lot better. We drive carefully and coast and brake appropriately. In town 15 mpg, highway 22. Not impressed with that, our 1999 Continental with the 32-valve DOHC Intech V8 with 300 ponies got the same mileage in-town and BETTER on the highway!

Overall this car is an extreme pleasure to drive. Could use a power tilt on the steering wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2008

3rd Sep 2010, 15:17

Actually, it is a 3.5. It is a very trivial mistake, but it is the same engine they use in the Edge. Enjoy your car!

24th Oct 2010, 02:14

My father has one of these. I hope to bring it overseas when he passes. I'm wondering what parts should I load into the car before I send it on?

9th Aug 2012, 00:10

Was your 99 Conti broken? You should've kept it... These new "Lincoln"s look like ricers to me... I pick on my 2000 Conti, but you can't beat the acceleration. And the mileage, while not what I'd like, for a V-8 it ain't 1/2 bad; 16-17 city, 24-25 highway.

10th Aug 2012, 00:48

My family currently has a Lincoln MKZ and a Ford Fusion (which is an MKZ with 10 grand less ego). Both are awesome cars. Although basically identical, the Lincoln has more sound insulation and feels just a tiny bit quieter. The I-4 Fusion gets nearly twice the fuel mileage. It gets 34 to the MKZ's 19. Frankly, the ego appeal of the MKZ is not worth the extra 10 grand in my opinion.