1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews from North America

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 gas

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 kilometres
Most recent distance273000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

This has been one of best and enjoyable cars I have owned

Faults:

Timing chain at 182,000km (known at date of purchase).

Engine rebuilt at 220,000.

New fuel pump at 195,000.

Numerous miscellaneous repairs over the 10 years of ownership.

General Comments:

Further to my comments on this site made in 2003, I have now owned the car this car for 10 years.

I have enjoyed owning and driving this car.

It still maintains the style and prestige that it had since the day it was purchased.

The only complaint I have, is that the dealer who appears to have a control of the repairs and maintenance of these vehicles in the city, is over servicing the car, which is not an uncommon practice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2011

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.3 gasoline

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.3 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired114 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 924

Summary:

The very best family car available at the time

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 60000km.

General Comments:

Excellent car, except for head gasket replacement.

Running very strong after 24 years.

Very comfortable.

A good example of German engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2011

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 190e 2.6 6 cylinder gasoline

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.6 6 cylinder gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carBMW 2002

Summary:

Maybe the all around best car I've ever owned!

Faults:

Clock was not working; driver's seat squeaks, and the ELECTRIC headrests were not working.

General Comments:

I bought this 1987 190e 2.6 sight unseen from a dealer in Colorado and had it shipped to NJ; I have driven daily it for two months already, adding 3000 miles, and must say that I am astounded by this car - it simply does EVERYTHING better than you would expect.

It is comfortable for four adults and five in a pinch; the suspension is fantastic as is the steering response.

The 2.6 6 cyl gas engine hides quite a bit of pep at 170hp, and lets it loose when you floor the pedal, putting a huge smile on your face and a puzzled look on nearby drivers in Asian econoboxes.

If you are shopping for a 190e, be aware that only the 2.6 had standard ABS and had power seats - which brings us to ELECTRIC headrests! - I took apart the back of the seats to see what the mechanism looks like, and it is one the strangest arrangements imaginable - a motor turns a 10" horizontal ridged tube-screw, which then lifts a very delicate plastic assembly. I had to raid a salvage yard to get pieces, but they now work beautifully!

The car gets great gas mileage in the 25mpg area and is just a blast. Buy the best one you can find for about $7000; avoid the $3000 versions that have been abused;

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2009

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 EL Straight 6

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

This car get the ladies

Faults:

First of all the AC is broken, second my car failes to get fuel into the engine over 60 miles so the engine fails and stops at 20 mile, also chip is really messt up.

General Comments:

This car will get you the ladies plenty of ladies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1st Aug 2009, 05:25

Sounds like a clogged fuel filter. A $15 fix in overdue preventive maintenance might revive your car.

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.6 2.6L straight 6

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6L straight 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Fun, powerful, and low running cost

Faults:

Can't unlock door from driver's side.

Antenna won't go all the way down.

Molding on passenger's side sticks out a little.

Air conditioning doesn't work.

General Comments:

This is probably the most fun car I have ever driven. With automatic windows and sunfroof with a 6 cylinder engine and leather interior, can it get much better?

Nothing major has gone wrong with it.

For such a small car, it is quite comfortable. It handles great. It has quite a bit of power, but nothing uncontrollable.

Gas mileage leaves a little to be desired. It gets about 24mi/gal, which is OK, but when you have to buy premium, it can get a little expensive.

It is definitely faster than the old 83 Oldsmobile 98 I used to drive. That was a fun car though.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a car that has the perfect amount of power, comfort, and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A good combination of prestige and sport

Faults:

The timing chain needed replacement which was known at the time of the purchase. The small repairs and a bit of general maintenance have been reasonable based on the age and the mileage of the car.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable.

I find that that considering it is only a 4 cylinder, that it has plenty of power.

The car is 16 years old, but has been well maintained giving a new car feeling at an old car price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2003

1987 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3L gasoline 8-valve

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L gasoline 8-valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carJaguar Vanden Plas

Summary:

Pentathlon sedan

Faults:

Have only done minor repairs on this car that are typical of a vehicle this age. A belt, a couple of hoses, a battery, and a universal-type joint.

General Comments:

I've owned everything from a Chevrolet C1500 pick up to a Porsche 911 Targa Carerra and this is the best car ever!

Its been rumored that the 2.3 liter 4-cylinder is a much better power train than the 2.6 liter six-cylinder. I'll substantiate that rumor in comparing our 1987 2.3 liter with my friend's 2.6 liter with less miles on it.

Our original dealer was an independent, but the dealership was absorbed by one of the few Oklahoma City conglomerates. Now, they leave a lot to be desired.

Recently, I noted that the dealer price on a sensor was $17 but the dealer had marked the part up to $42!!! I went home and glued my old one back together; it worked fine.

For the money you won't find a better performing, safer car, that looks this sharp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews