1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 I6

Summary:

7th Mercedes Benz: Baby Benz Love!

Faults:

(PLEASE NOTE: Project Automobile)

- Head gasket replacement.

- Transmission repair and rebuild.

- Oil pan leak.

- Door upholstery rip.

- Good cleaning.

General Comments:

This is my 7th Mercedes I have owned. It was intended as a restoration job, but I fell in love with it more and more as I have worked on it.

I have had all ranges of Mercedes Benz over the years, and this one has been one of my all time favorites.

Lovably dubbed the "Baby Benz", it has been an interesting project and fun to work on. These older Mercedes are well built and sturdy, and sometimes require a little extra TLC, but when they run, they will continue to run even when broken. This one in particular, when bought, had a blown head gasket and still drove fine with no trouble (i.e. no overheating, stopping). As soon as I replaced the gaskets and tackled a few of the other faults, it was truly a magnificent car. It has such a great presence. They are very reliable cars! Nothing can match up to its superior quality. Highly recommended as a first car for the Mercedes enthusiast. You learn so much about the brand by just starting out with a simple older Merc.

Repairs can vary in price, but parts for these 190s are so common because so many people owned them in the 90s that repairs are not as bad as one may think. A great starter DIY car (easy to access parts and easy to access the engine.)

These particular W201 engines are notorious for head gasket failure, so be on the look out for power loss and engine oil in the coolant tank. If any of these signs have surfaced, have the head gasket done ASAP to prevent damage to the car.

Mercedes Benz has superior quality, but it must be maintained as much as possible.

Happy MILES!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2014

11th Dec 2014, 13:15

I agree, Mercedes cars require regular maintenance to keep them reliable.

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3

Faults:

Needed a complete cleaning and detail when I got it.

Head gasket appears to need replacing at 134000 miles.

General Comments:

Love the car! Will get it fixed and keep it.

It needs new headlight & fog lamp lenses, but nothing major.

I'm a bit bummed about the head gasket, but my previous car (Aurora) needed one, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2013

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190 e 2.6 I-6

Summary:

Solid, reliable, and classic looking car, that is a serious cruiser

Faults:

Rusty radiator.

Dash light burnt out.

Middle vent not working.

Wires tend to "stick".

Tall people don't quite fit in front seats.

General Comments:

Overall, it is miles ahead of my previous car, my Volvo 850T. I am so glad I bought this, and sold my other car!

It is comfy and cruises better than any car I have driven or ridden in. Not the best performance, but it is quite stable. I am toying with sway bar install to make less body roll, and I just want to drive the AMG version now.

Engine is so smooth, along with the power band. Sluggish under 3K, but has plenty of highway passing power.

Overall, a dope car if you find a well maintained one. Handles well, and you have to really want to get the tail out. Even when this happens, so controllable.

The best attribute is the steering, to which I think no other car I have driven can match. The intrinsic sensation that you know how the road feels. A true Mercedes, and one of the last years before there was a real shift in MB. A true classic that is safe. I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2011

2nd Jul 2012, 10:58

Middle vents only provide external air, not heated. Read the manual.

1993 Mercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Fantastic car, still well made in old tradition of M-B, unlike today's models

Faults:

Coil springs.

Alternator.

Climate control vacuum unit.

Radio.

General Comments:

Bought the car from original owner with genuine 84.000 Km on it. Today my Baby-Benz has 162.500 Km, and it is a pleasure to have it.

The above listed parts replacement is reasonable considering the vehicle's age. Some parts, like coil springs, are naturally subject to fatigue.

The only problem is that the new parts from dealer are too expensive, and the availability from scrap yards is quickly diminishing.

While driving the car also in winter, the paint is original and there is not a single rusty spot showing yet. Possibly due to my regular application of oil spray before each winter season.

Truly a great car, which made me think of buying a new one when the time comes.

Regrettably, based on widely publicised reports of outrageously poor quality of today's M-B models, I definitely will not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2011

5th Jan 2015, 01:28

I think it's worth considering 2012 models onwards, as they have very good feedback. Not models from 1995-2009. The one you have - if I were you I'd just keep it for good. A simple engine and bullet proof quality. Hope you still have it today.

5th Jan 2015, 18:38

Dependability and durability are what made Mercedes' name, and it did cost to build a car like that. Hence, being expensive by necessity, it became a so-called "luxury" car. Yet it was the durability which made them the best taxis for decades.

You'd find faster cars, plusher cars, cheaper cars, or better-equipped cars during those days than a Mercedes, but people blindly bought Mercedes because they were simply good. Like a Rolex watch. You can't say that now - luxury simply means leather (which I don't care for anyhow) and high-tech gadgets that break and are too expensive to put right. Plus now there is no guarantee of absolute drivetrain reliability, which WAS the Mercedes selling point. I doubt Rolex would still be where it is if the diamonds on the numerals kept falling off or too many of them need to be taken back for unscheduled servicing.

Bells and whistles aside, they're really just the same now as all premium brands. Pick an Audi. Or a BMW. Even a Volvo or a modern Cadillac. Whatever you want. They won't be too different. If you want an upmarket car that is less likely to break down, it'll have to be Lexus (note I said upmarket - not luxury; luxury is what you make it out to be).

6th Jan 2015, 21:39

Every sentence of your comment is very true. I do know exactly what you mean about Lexus. Great cars, but they lack the badge (which I don't care about, but many do, and keep putting this brand down just because it's not a German).

I personally own a BMW 06 e92 coupe, but do love Mercs and their build quality, especially the early ones. I think in recent days they have picked up the game again and are trying to maintain the standard. Early models till the early 90s are very solid. And also the later ones aren't as bad as people on the forum say they are.

The issue generally is that most people who can't afford expensive brands, buy them at a cheap price, when they are not well looked after, then they don't maintain it or look after it cheaply, and they break down. Then all the blame goes to the manufacturer.

BMW has lots of reliability complaints as well. I have owned 11 of them, and not even one had any issue, just because I look after them. Even my current one is clocking close to 160k, and to date I've paid nothing outside of services and tyres.