1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Reviews from North America

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E320 AWD sedan 3.2

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

Outstanding vehicle and value for the money

Faults:

Front wheel bearings (at about 165000).

Fuel tank needed reworking (wouldn't feed last 1/4 tank, known recall issue).

Very slow A/C leak, treated with sealer.

Right rear window regulator needed replacing at around 175000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been absolutely solid and reliable.

It handles very well and is remarkably comfortable on long trips.

Even at 185000 miles, it runs like new. It gets around 28 MPG on the freeway, and looks great inside and out.

I upgraded the tires and wheels, mounting S-Class wheels with tires that had the same OD as the originals. These noticeably improved the ride, which was a bit harsh with the original 17" AMG wheels. Now it is very smooth and comfortable at any speed.

According to Consumer Reports, these have above average electrical issues, but I have never had even a hint of one.

Paid $7000 a few years ago, and could probably get close to that now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2012

17th Feb 2013, 20:37

I have a 1999 E300, which I ordered and received in Oct 1998. It has been a wonderful car. Replaced the MAF, glow plugs, just done regular maintenance. Only have 65,800 miles on it, and it is a great car.

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E300 3.0L turbo diesel

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Junk... massive waste of money

Faults:

My E300 is a money pit. It was purchased with 48,000 miles in April of 2005. Today, July 14, 2006 at 71,000 miles this car has had:

1. Glow plugs replaced at 50,000 miles (these should last much longer than this)

2. Air mass flow sensor at 50,000 miles

3. All under hood fuel lines and seals at 62,000 miles

4. Filter seal at 70,000 miles (this was a seal that was replaced at 62,000 miles. It lasted on 8 months!)

5. Today injector line seals are bad and I have been informed by the dealership that Mercedes no longer makes these parts available.

General Comments:

Big waste of money!!!

I have a 1981 and 1985 300D Mercedes. These are well built and dependable cars. I can buy parts for these cars. The newer Mercedes are junk; stay away from them. I do not fault the dealer service; I fault Mercedes for building junk and then not making parts available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

12th Oct 2006, 07:24

Injector line seals are readily available for this car/year. You should check another dealer that knows what they are doing. MB have probably the highest availability of spare parts of any car make. Try buying a spare part for a 20 year old Toyota. Parts availability is 100% or close for most MB models, even cars made in the sixties.

13th Oct 2006, 13:38

Yep, he gave himself away with the, "M-B saya parts not available" line!

Anyone who has ever owned a M-B knows that they support their vehicles well with available parts for not only years, but decades. Just bought some new piston rings for a '73 SL at my local dealer. :-)

11th Nov 2010, 13:28

Sounds like you bought it right before the service was due. Same for me. After replacing, it was the best car ever.

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E320 3.2LV-6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2LV-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance111500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

Wonderful car, feels like an S-Class!

Faults:

009,468: Rear Fog Lamp shorted out first time I used it. Travel Sensor diaphragm failed. Warranty.

019,429: Steering coupling noises. Lower Control Arm bearing bolt failed. Warranty.

020,116: Interior Dome Lamp/Rading Lamp shorted out, and the driver's Visor/Vanity Mirror went with it. Driver's side power seat switch (mounted in driver's door) failed, lost reclining adjustment. Faulty windshield detergent level was sending a "LOW WASHER FLUID" signal to the car. Warranty.

027,482: Driver's side door handle electronics shorted out, eventually causing dead battery. Replaced both battery and driver's door handle mechanism. Warranty.

037,834: New problem with driver's side power seat switch - now it won't up or down. Replaced the switch (again). Also had a reverse lamp bulb go out and a bad "closing cylinder" in the front door. Warranty.

058,994: Stop Lamp switch shorted out, causing my brake lamps to be on whenever the car was "ON". $150.

067,407: Just before vacation, I went shopping. I left the headlights on when I went into the mall, killed the battery. I asked for a jump-start, but Mall Security wouldn't touch a Mercedes "too many electrical things to go wrong in there", they said. Mercedes Roadside Assistance was out here in less than 45 minutes and got me up and going. Battery and alternator are working properly. No charge for this service.

067,412: Six days (and only five miles) later, just back from vacation, the car wouldn't run. No dead battery this time. Crankshaft pulley was broken, had to be towed to the dealer. $425.00.

079,851: Flat tire (slow leak) while the car was in a parking garage at my office. Mercedes Roadside came out and changed the tire. No charge for this service.

082,435: Ran out of gas on the highway. Mercedes Roadside was there in a half hour, with three (complimentary) gallons of 93 octane. No charge for this service.

082,539: Serpentine (Fan) Belt Tensioner coming loose, had to be replaced, also noticed valve adjustment required. $325.00.

082,632: Dead battery. Mercedes Roadside was there ASAP, and I was on my way in no time. No charge for this service.

096,051: Jump start again. Two problems here. One is that the "key-in-ignition" chime is the same as headlamps on. Two, an automobile in this class should really be equipped with automatic headlamps. If it's standard equipment in a crappy, American car like the Pontiac Sunfire, it should at least be available on a Mercedes. Mercedes Roadside to the rescue again. No charge for this service.

111,088: Suddenly, my car was operating under "right-hand drive" on several electronic functions. For example, the passenger side memory seat also controlled both the outside mirror settings. The dealer had to re-program several mini-computer modules in the car. No clue what caused this. $280.

And now: The Trunk Release and Rear-Seat Headrest Release has stopped working. I have been told by Mercedes Technical Assistance that these two systems not only operate on from the same vacuum source, but also, from the very same vacuum line. Not sure what has gone wrong, but I will be taking it in to the dealer shortly for repair.

And the Cup-holder mechanism does not always work like it's supposed to. The dealer tells me they "cannot get it to duplicate the problem" - typical.

General Comments:

Despite some faults the car is amazing. The power is incredible for a V-6. I drove a VERY trouble-free '91 Mercedes 300SE before this, and I think I like the new 'Benz better in every way. It's not as wide, but through better use of space, it feels like the same amount of legroom (front and rear), and it seems like I even have more headroom. The interior is light and airy during the day, and very well lit at night. My only complaint about that is I really think Mercedes should install under-dash lighting. It makes it much easier to located items that have fallen into the front floor wells.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

25th Jun 2008, 07:05

Seems like you had a ton of problems.

26th Oct 2009, 18:39

I have to agree. It seems like this car was prone to a lot of problems. A lot more, in fact, than I've ever had with my "crappy" American cars.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 3 reviews