1982 Mercury Capri RS Black Magic 5.0

Faults:

Rear brake lines leaked 3 times.

Replaced rear end 2 times.

T-tops leaked, but I fixed it myself with Black Cyclone.

Bent piston.

General Comments:

What a great car. I took my mom's car in for service, and drove out in the Capri. It was a Black Magic RS, Recaro seats, fully loaded. I did not even know the power it had.

It was a head turner.

Front seats were comfortable. Back seat had no room, but I did not have to sit back there.

I wish I still had the car. I found out only 1300 were made. They also made a white lighting model. It was white and gold.

I still have the sales book on the car. I also have photos if anyone would like to see them; email me at mtheriot00@yahoo.com. I did find a few are still around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2010

3rd Aug 2012, 01:39

I would love to see the sales brochure and the photos you have.

1982 Mercury Capri 5.0L 302

Summary:

This car rocks

Faults:

Nothing has went wrong with the car since I have had it.

General Comments:

I got this car from my father last year. He bought it in 1993 from a man I do not know. We took the car and built it into a drag car. It now runs 12.60's in a quarter mile with the original motor with only one modification the camshaft. I know its crazy. I love the style of this car it is a true classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2005

9th Nov 2005, 08:12

10/10 in comfort eh?

Yeh, need to be comfy for those 1/4 mile drag runs!

It's good that it's reliable too, hard to get 12.60's when you have to stop to fix something.

24th Nov 2005, 17:48

With a set of decent heads, intake and cam 12.60's are more than doable, the '82 is a lighter car than the later foxes...

22nd Mar 2011, 14:56

Advertised 6.9 seconds for 0-60. I have one (1982), and 0-85 was very fast. It's all about torque and weight.

1982 Mercury Capri RS 5.0

Summary:

The perfect muscle car for me... a child of the 80's

Faults:

This car has t-tops which leak in heavy rain. (I cover it with a tarp when sitting in the driveway)

This car has terrible brakes and suspension for the size and performance of the engine. (who would have guessed?)

It started to rust in all the usual places.

It is now impossible to replace the tires with the original sizes since the alloy wheels are metric. This is the reason most of these cars have aftermarket wheels on them.

General Comments:

The 5.0L HO 302 engine is a screamer! I know newer cars have much better horsepower and torque, but they cannot compare to the sound of an American V8.

The RS package includes all the spoilers, air dams, trim pieces etc. that made this car desirable.

At 21+ years old, it still turns heads after a good washing and waxing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

14th Dec 2003, 00:37

You can't be serious?

16th Feb 2005, 09:28

I myself have a 1984 5.9 RS, AND I AGREE! Beautiful car. I got mine from a car collector, and It came to me in late 04 with - believe me, I have no reason to lie- 46,500 miles on it, everything on it stock. I love it!