1970 MG Midget MK III 1.3 CC




Shortly after purchasing my Midget, from a private seller, the reverse/first gear went out. However, I knew the transmission had a problem when I purchased the car. I later replaced the brake master cylinder. The car has never left me stranded, even when first gear went out, the little car brought me home.

General Comments:

The car has a rebuilt engine, approximately 1300 CC and is very responsive! However, riding comfort is comparable to "zipping" down the freeway on a skateboard.

Car gets a lot of attention, parts are available for restoration and brings back a lot of good memories for people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

1967 MG Midget Mark III 1.3 Liter


There are not words vulgar enough to truly express my opinion of this car


Without a doubt the most unreliable car anyone in my family has ever owned. Purchased new, within 35,000 miles it had cost more in repairs than it did to purchase.

General Comments:

The best thing I can say about this car is that it is so lightweight, a small child could push it when it broke down. I know this for a fact because I was a small child when my father owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

6th Jun 2005, 08:37

A British car built in the '60's unreliable?

Imagine that...

5th May 2006, 20:29

Sorry to hear it. My '68 gets driven 70 miles a day for my commute, and I just finished an 1100 mile road trip with no problems.

6th May 2006, 10:18

I don't understand the review. Is the poster reviewing the car as it was in 1967 or as it is today? Makes no sense.

31st May 2006, 15:08

I don't understand the review either, I would like one of these little cars and after all they are a classic car now, and have far more character than the modern metal boxes with a wheel at each corner.

28th May 2008, 21:19

I have a 67 Midget - it runs great and works well in this age of high gas prices; it is a lot easier to fill up a 7 gallon tank after driving it all week... Bought it for $2500.00 and invested another $3000.00 - besides it is a fun ride!

3rd Jun 2008, 16:16

I have owned my 1967 Midget since high school... It's been about 23 years now... Except for when I took it apart 5 years ago for a total show car restoration job, the car had never seen a tow truck. It has honestly been one of the most reliable and fun cars I have ever owned. It is for these reasons that I can forgive a few drops of oil on the garage floor...

1976 MG Midget Special 1.5


High maintenance... beautiful car


When I got the car the brakes needed to be replaced. My wife was driving behind me on the way home and my MG was leaking oil all over her windshield. It left a trail of oil all the way home. When I was close to home the muffler fell off. This was just on the way home after buying the car. My wife was doing everything she could to keep herself from laughing.

After repairing the brakes, oil pan gasket, and the muffler. The car started to over heat. I replaced the water pump.

Not too long after replacing the water pump the starter blew. I am still waiting to replace it.

General Comments:

Believe it or not... despite all of the problems... I love this car. When it runs, I forget all of the problems. This is definitely not a reliable car, but will put a smile on your face during those nice summer drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

13th Sep 2005, 09:16

Did replacing the water pump solve the overheating problem?

7th Oct 2007, 17:36

I have a 1976 MG Midget, and contrary to the other comments, mine appears to be reliable. It has had lots of things replaced starter, generater, clutch and other things, but it is 31 years old I expect some things to go wrong in an old car, but I have never been stranded and with luck (knock on woood) I never will. I love this little car, I bought a new one in 1973 when I was 18, and always wanted another, and at 52 I got one (lucky me)

12th Feb 2008, 14:51

I purchased a 1976 Midget about a year ago, great car, lots of fun to drive. Mine has been great and has not let me down as of yet. After all it is a British car so it's just a matter of time before something happens. I also drive a Land Rover, so I'm already familiar with the British vehicles. You have to know this going in before you buy an MG, but the fun to drive factor outweighs any quirks you may have. My advice would be to check for any major leaks and check your brakes. There is a line that has a check valve in it that is prone to fail. you can simply plug the line to solve this problem. Buy and MG and have Fun!