Mitsubishi Colt Reviews from North America

1993 Mitsubishi Colt

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance273000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A great bargain!

Faults:

Replaced the alternator.

General Comments:

Extremely good value for the money, both in terms of few repairs, and very good gas mileage.

It handles very well in wet snow, allowing me to travel when other vehicles were stuck.

Not the fastest or strongest engine in its class, but very reliable. I've taken several long trips through mountains with almost no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GT Turbo 1.6 liter turbo

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Low 13's for less than $3000

Faults:

Let's start with the bad. The timing belt snapped @ 48,000 miles. I rebuilt it for under $1000.

The ECU needed the capacitors replaced 2 years ago.

Tires keep going bald up front.

General Comments:

If you can still find one of these awesome little cars buy it. They haul ass even as stock.

Want to make it faster? Get a TDO5H/14b/6cm turbo from a DSM and scare all your friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

20th Aug 2004, 21:36

Hey man I just got my 1st clot gt a couple days ago and id like to drive it. I also need a turbo help someone!!

31st Aug 2005, 06:10

Hi. I am Mozeh from Uganda. Just bought a Mitsubishi Colt 16v 1.8-litre GTi (DOHC). It is awesome!! Only Problem I have is the engine makes some funny noise (like vibrations) when running and it quite makes me sick. I was advised to use heavy engine oil, like that of Caltex, but the problem has persisted. Anyone out there guys with a few tips? Otherwise, with this car, I can't think of any other cheaper and reliable sporty machine!!! Thanks.

Reply to mbergzie@hotmail.com.

6th Oct 2005, 00:09

I have a 1989 dodge colt turbo for sale its black has some body damage, but the engine reads 140k on the ticker

hareboy1979@hotmail.com.

15th Jul 2006, 18:32

I brought my 1989 GT Turbo Colt back when it was new off the showroom. There is about 65,000 miles on the engine. That's because it has been sitting in the driveway for about 8 years. But I think it is time to get this puppy up and running once again. I had just replaced the timing belt. But there has been a problem with a water leak in the driver side door. The whole inside except for the driver side passenger seat has been removed. My brother is ready to get it back in running condition and back on the road.

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GT 1.6 petrol turbo

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol turbo
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

You must, must, must change the timing belt on any Mitsubishi at 60,000 miles. I had a dealer do it the first time and they messed up the timing, causing horrible gas mileage.

Frequently needs front wheel bearings.

General Comments:

I love this car - 2500lbs, 160hp, 155 lb-ft of torque - what's not to love? I have put 160,000 fairly hard miles on it and it just keeps going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2000

6th Feb 2001, 04:35

Unfortunately in Europe, the 1.6 model has only a 113hp engine, where can I get a turbo to get the 160hp??

The next model we want now is the 1.8 GTI.

1989 Mitsubishi Colt GT 1.6 turbo petrol

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

The alternator, radiator, condensation in the headlights, fuel pump (pricey little unit) and most recently the engine computer unit that controls the emissions and fuel injection.

General Comments:

Bought the car in 1997 for $ Cdn 3,000. Have spend about $ 2,000 in repairs in the last 2 years. (See above). The car's turbo control has been welded at 1/4 of full boost but the car still goes relatively quickly (bought it this way).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 1999

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews