1997 Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

1997 Mitsubishi Mirage LS 1.8L

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

This is a great first car that is reliable

Faults:

My uncle owned the car before I did, but from what he tells me there has been nothing wrong with it. He has had to replace the timing belt at around 60000 miles, but that's about it. Manufacturing is a little cheap, but livable.

General Comments:

I loved this car. Sadly someone rear-ended me and totalled it. Great first car, good on gas. I got upwards of 30 miles to the gallon.

This car had a lot of "pep" and had nice acceleration despite its small engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

1997 Mitsubishi Mirage DE Coupe 1.5L

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance137654 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Reliable, under-rater, quick little sport and economy car.,

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with my mirage. All I do is the basics.

General Comments:

This little 1.5L engine is the best economy car I've ever seen. It says to get 38 mpg highways and 32 mpg city, but I blew that out of the water.

On a trip to New Hampshire my dad figured out the gas mileage it got and it was around 45 miles to the gallon!!! Unbelievable.

I got this car from my dad when I got my license. The car is very peppy, its not to great from a dead stop, but once those RPM's get up that car moves for a SOHC 4 cylinder engine. The car sticks to the road like glue.

The Corolla and the Civic are good cars too and my family owns a Civic EX and I've driven a corolla and I like all three, but theres just something about that car I love.

The interior is in great condition besides wear on the driver seat. That isn't that bad and everything else is perfectly intact. It's very comfortable for such a cheap car.

I can't find this car in the US anymore at the dealer or the American Mitsubishi website and it's a real shame cause I'd buy it again if mine ever goes. Mitsubishi needs to advertise it more cause it's a great car and civic lovers will love this.

Mitsubishi needs to bring it back with my body in particular with a nice sport kit and turbo like in the old days for all the ricers out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2005

22nd Sep 2007, 03:29

Mitsubishi just got rid of the name Mirage, now the cars have been switched to the name LANCER. For a while they had Lancer as a special package option, and then eventually dropped Mirage and kept Lancer. So don't be sad, because if you upgrade in the future, the Mirage is still there for you and has more power and better performance than ever before :D.

1997 Mitsubishi Mirage

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Nothing special

Faults:

I have had to get the brakes replaced twice.

After a rainy day the car has difficulty starting and if I don't let it warm up first, will stall repeatedly when I begin to drive.

The cassette player is broken.

General Comments:

The radio gets horrible reception.

It was very inexpensive and I have gotten my money's worth out of it.

It is extremely unsafe. That is why I am getting rid of it now that I have a daughter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

1997 Mitsubishi Mirage LS 1.8L SOHC Sedan

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L SOHC Sedan Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

This car does not get the credit that it deserves!

Faults:

Center console can snap in and out.

Wind can be felt coming from the E-Brake area.

Mechanically, I haven't had any problems. I just kept up with the normal maintenance, and it runs perfectly.

General Comments:

For an economy car, the Mirage is fun to drive.

This car handles exceptionally. Somehow I managed to keep up with a BMW Z3 while racing on a windy road. Obviously he left me in the dust on the straightaways.

It accelerates nicely, I drive on the highway often and I have no problems merging into traffic or passing other cars. It holds its own against a honda civic.

A power sunroof/moonroof is a great addition to the car. The controls are simple, and easy to access. and when it slides back, it is inside the roof compartment instead of sliding above the roof like some other sunroofs I have seen.

The seats still haven't become noticeably worn, even after being driven almost 100,000 miles, and the cushions haven't flattened out yet.

The Mirage isn't very spacious in the interior, It is comfortable in the front seats after you slide the seats back a little bit. As for the back seats, your friends may question why they even bothered to put 4 doors on the car. Do not attempt to seat 5 people in the car. The added weight makes the car sluggish, and it will remind you why this is called an "economy car".

Overall, the Mirage is a great buy. I've heard many people say that it will easily last more than 200,000 miles if you take care of it. If Mitsubishi had promoted it better, it might have been more popular than the civic. I have driven both and have seen how they both wear, the Mirage is a much MUCH better buy than a civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

18th Feb 2010, 12:50

Why the negative face if you like the car?

19th Feb 2010, 05:12

********************

steven@carsurvey.org

*******************

The happy and sad faces are automatically generated based on the numerical ratings (Performance, Reliability etc) in the review, and the answer to the question "Would you buy another car from this manufacturer?"

In this case, the very low numerical ratings are the reason for the sad face.

Steven Jackson, CSDO Media Limited.

1997 Mitsubishi Mirage DE 1.8L

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The best economy car I have seen

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

From 1999 to now, I have only had to change the oil the brakes, and the air filter.

Gas mileage always averages above 30 miles per gallon.

Very very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews