1986 Mitsubishi Starion ESI/RS 2.6 Intercooled turbo

Summary:

I'd buy a brand new one if they still made them

Faults:

I swapped an old running Nissan PU for the non-running Starion which from a relative. I made the trade just so I could take it out of my yard and down to the junk yard. But, after I got it to run and drove it a few miles I was hooked on its performance. Wow!

General Comments:

I liked it so much more that the new 2003 autos of all major makes that I decided to rebuild my Starion and have a brand new 1986 Starion. New non-jetted head, mild upgrade on the cam shaft, balancer eliminator, bigger turbo and all new suspension wear parts made a super performer. The sport handling package was original which counts for the low comfort score. Its noisy and rough riding and a thrill to drive on narrow winding mountain roads nearby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2007

1988 Mitsubishi Starion ESIR 2.6 Intercooled turbo

Summary:

This car is the epitomy of a performance car

Faults:

The Lower Rod Bearings caused the engine to be replaced.

Both fuel injectors clogged.

General Comments:

Incredibly fast and agile car! I have had the luxury of owning several high end vehicles and when a friend brought me this Starion ESIR I laughed at him because of the name Mitsubishi. Reluctantly I took the car for a drive and I have to say 3 hours later when I pulled it back into my driveway I was definitely all smiles. Needless to say I immediately bought the car on the spot and have since made it my pride and joy. It will definitely outrun my '85 IROC Z, my '90 Nissan 300Z and even the new Mazda RX8 that I just bought.

I would like to recommend to anyone considering buying a Starion that you remove the jet valves from the head immediately upon purchasing as this will help you to avoid overheating.

Next make sure the vehicle has had the lower rod bearings replaced, this is a Mitsubishi recall and they will still perform this job at no cost to you. This is an expensive repair job which you do not want to pay for if you don't have to.

Another recall they are still performing is on the catalytic convertor.

Lastly, some manufacturers will try to sell you the tall skinny batteries for this car, Do Not Instal Them, this car takes a short fat. The tall/skinny batteries positive terminal will rup the vacuum diagram on the bottom side of the hood and cause a large short which will result in an extremly hot battery fire. A sign that this is happening is you will notice the electronics in the car coming on and off as you go over bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 20:35

You can go to any mitsubishi dealership and get the lower rod bearings replaced? no charge?

14th Mar 2006, 14:11

Yes, ANY Mitsubish dealership is obligated to do the service.

I don't know if they are obligated to do service to any other damage caused by the defect. good luck ;)

1988 Mitsubishi Starion ESI-R 2.6 turbo Intercooled

Summary:

These cars are the bomb

Faults:

The cam tower bolts in the cylinder head stripped out, resulting in a broken valvetrain.

The alternator and battery have also gone out, but the wear has been consistent with a car of this age.

General Comments:

This car is amongst the fastest I have ever owned, and I have owned some fast cars. While spanking most cars on the road, it manages to knock out very respectable fuel mileage.

The interior is a dream come true for anybody, with very supportive seats that have many adjustments. The factory sound system is of audiophile quality, and has controls located in the steering wheel.

My only real issue with the car is that it is a little difficult to get in and out of, but you soon learn a technique for it, and it's all good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2003

7th Apr 2004, 09:43

I'm getting one soon. I hope that this car is good. I wanna hook it up and stuff like that. Hopefully you can give me some pointers.

18th Jun 2006, 05:08

I'm thinking about buying a Starion, but end up finding not running ones, or a couple of thing are wrong with the car. I'm willing to work on the car, but just doing my research on the Starion. Anyone with good advice, let us know.

28th Sep 2006, 07:05

Looking for information on Starion/Conquest? try Top End Performance. They are out of California. They are very knowledgeable about these cars, also have good pricing. The best year to buy is 87 and newer. the 86' which I have is rare. Mits changed injectors half way through production year, thus resulting in very expensive injectors. These cars aren't a cheap fix, but are well worth it.

20th Mar 2007, 18:42

Try KDM Performance they'll help more than anyone else. They have helped me a lot and the products are great.They're out of California.Check out the website.

4th Nov 2010, 13:03

I have a 1988 Chrysler Conquest with a Mitsubishi motor. I have some much fun! 0 to 60 in 4 1/2 seconds. It depends how you shift. I hook my Conquest up with Lambo doors, the chicks love it. Thank god my dad passed it down to me! Turbo fun, fun, fun.

1986 Mitsubishi Starion ESIR 2.6

Summary:

This car was well worth the wait

Faults:

Head gasket went about 1000 miles ago.

Had a bad jet valve.

Fuel pump went at 129,000 miles, it was the original.

Had to replace the original fans, good idea living in the desert.

General Comments:

I had always wanted one of these cars! It was quite the bargain for all the speed and handling that come with it.

This car puts to shame the 1986 Mustang V8 I once owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

23rd Mar 2004, 18:31

Don't forget to mention the starion is a 4 bangger

1987 Mitsubishi Starion TSi 2.8L turbo

Summary:

0-60 in 5.4 sec, a very high performance bargain

Faults:

Voltage regulator wire will burn out, replace with a stronger thicker 12 gauge wire so that it won't do it again.

Heads can go but gas never happened to me, oil pump can stall and destroy your engine if you don't get to it in time. Flush the engine every time you change your oil. Car will run a long time.

General Comments:

Very very fast car, I have a 95 Mustang GT now and it's much much faster plus it's a much nicer car to live with, it's got everything but a kitchen sink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

15th May 2001, 07:44

I own a 1987 Mitsubishi Starion. I have done a lot of work to mine, it looks really nice but is practically stock. I was wondering if you could tell me were I can get a Mitsubishi Starion parts catalog or if it's even possible. Your review is right on the money. I have no arguments on your ratings.

Thanks,

TJB0007@aol.com