1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews from North America - Page 8 of 9

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles

Summary:

The perfect teenager's first car

Faults:

Since I just got this wonderful truck, only a few things have happened - the fuel pump needed to be replaced, the timing, and the fan for the AC.

General Comments:

My goodness, this truck is a wonderful first car. I bought it last June from a shadetree mechanic who had put on new wheels, slight lowering job, new shiny red paint job, and custom made seats.

In addition it a very safe car, some dude went through a red light while I was going 50mph, I had to swerve into the other lane, and a girl hit me right in the tailgate, the entire front left side of her car was smashed in, it was totaled. My trusty Nissan's tailgate still works, and has a mild dent/scratch, I also found a piece of her bumper in my exhaust! This truck is built like anx.

Perhaps the coolest thing about this truck is that it is pretty quick and packs a pretty good punch, spinning the tires in first gear is very satisying. A tip for you other kids out there, 3rd gear has a lot of power, if you're racing a friend, get it in third at about 35 MPH, keep it there till about 50, you'll get to 50 really fast. It's a rush.

Simply put, I love my truck, it's trusty, safe, and great for pulling some donuts in the school parking lot. I have named my truck Shilow.

The horn is great

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

23rd Jul 2002, 19:40

I had the same truck, and I loved it too. I would probably still have it if it didn't get totaled by some goof who hit it while it was parked in the driveway. The best thing about this truck is it was a four cylinder, but it had 8 spark plugs this thing would scream. I loved my Nissan.

5th Jun 2003, 18:55

Come on anyone who has a nissan knows you can get about 70-75 before you hit third. drive it a littleharder you can't hurt it.

27th Nov 2005, 20:47

You really can run these trucks hard; the body will usually go before anything else.

Plus, what’s better than seeing a little Nissan Hardbody truck jet past a “tuner” car?

I usually go by this for the max speed for gears:

1st- 0-35MPH

2nd- 35-55MPH

3rd- 55-85MPH

4th- 85-pegged

5th- pegged.

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

The best truck, kickin'

Faults:

My father put a battery inside behind the seat when I went to Texas so the carpet is withering.

I bought a new alternator, thermostat, and brand new tires in June of 2000.

The driver's seat is broken.

General Comments:

This truck has been through more ditches and mud holes, over railroad tracks and curbs, and over many miles of highway.

There's nothing like a chick cruisin' the street in a 4x4 truck. Every chick should own a truck just to get that "bad" feeling. There are a lot of guys who can't believe that I drive a truck, then I show them and they are in shock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 24z

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 24z Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance254000 miles
Previous carPontiac GTO

Summary:

You cannot beat a Nissan Hard-body Truck!!!

Faults:

The water pump and throttle position sensor are the only two replacements I have performed, along with routine maintenance.

General Comments:

My Nissan has outperformed most other light duty pickups and a few fullsize's as well, a 1/4 mile at a time.

My nissan will go 98mph in the 1/4 mile race track and it's stock with only a modified exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

26th Apr 2005, 17:46

Hey, my buddy has an 87 D21 hard body we put exhaust on it and thats it, and we run low 12's on an 1/8 we are looking for performance parts if you know where we can get them email me at css_shorter@yahoo.com.

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2wd King Cab 2.4 Z

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Z Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance16100 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Why have a high car payment when you can drive an old school 720

Faults:

New battery, and alternator.

New brakes all around.

General tune up work.

Two minor rust patches in the cab.

New u-joints.

Exhaust leak between the manifold and intermediate pipe (four wheelin' accident in my 2 wheel drive).

General Comments:

Best vehicle I've ever owned. So much more reliable than that GMC I had.

1999 Nissan Pathfinder 6 spokes (15x7's) bolt up perfectly to add some new school looks.

I believe I own the only one without a serious rust problem.

Perfect kit truck, soon to be dropped and put into shows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews