1970 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews from North America

1970 Oldsmobile 98 Convertible 455

Model year1970
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 455 Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

What a blast for a ride

General Comments:

Gas guzzling, road burning, land cruiser. I purchased this car in 1987 after my Dad told me a friend of his had a 1970 Olds 442 for sale. Imagine my surprise to find this car instead. I purchased this car after some prompting from my dad. The car was towed home, and after a driveway engine rebuild, the beast was brought back to life. As a teenager, I got strange looks and many comments from other drivers who enjoyed seeing the car. It is a wonderful car to cruise in on a hot Georgia night.

The car was parked in 1991, and has been patiently waiting for what is going to be a major restoration. I have managed to keep the car mostly dry, but years of sitting have ruined the interior, top, paint, floorboards, and transmission. Maybe 2011 can be the year to start the restoration.

In 2010 I was able to use the Oldsmobile protect-o-plate, tax records, and facebook to find the original owner. I found out the the car was from Colorado, and the original owner told me that the car broke down in the mid 80's near Atlanta. The car was sold in Atlanta, and eventually purchased by my Dad's friend as a junk car. I was surprised to find that I am the second owner of the Oldsmobile. The original owner was surprised to find that the car had survived, and described cruising in Colorado with the top down.

The Oldsmobile 98 Convertible is truly a classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2011

25th Jan 2011, 21:18

Awesome story. Sounds like a great car that should be brought back to life, they don't make convertibles like they used to! These are the funnest summer cruisers.

27th Mar 2013, 21:27

After years of sitting, I finally got some time to visit with my old friend. Cleaned out the gas tank, carb, and lubed the cylinders. A new battery, fresh gasoline, and a new coil. I am amazed that the car actually started with little effort. She smoked for several minutes and settled into the old familiar Oldsmobile lope at idle. I got to drive her for the first time since I was in my early twenties.

I cruised her down the driveway that is about a quarter of a mile long, and she got to put her dry rotted tires on asphalt at the end of the driveway for the first time since 1990. I felt the teenager emerge from me as I looked over at my father in law that had helped me get her started who was now sitting in the passenger seat. I am sure he was surprised as I romped on the accelerator and brought to life the 455 that lives under the hood. I swear his eyes grew to the size of golf balls as the car jumped forward, the Quadrajet carb gave a loud moan, and I let the smoke out of the right rear tire.

29th Mar 2013, 04:22

1970 is the zenith era year across the model lines for domestic V8 models and styling. I have a 70 Chevelle SS and a 70 Corvette among others. I am certain the values are escalating as well. I wouldn't mind having a 70 442 Convertible, 70 Cuda, 70 Z28, or 70 GSX. It's a pretty addictive hobby that's worth working very hard for.

As far as convertibles, I have always made money on mine, even on base models.

29th Mar 2013, 07:25

Awesome story. After 23 years of storage, carefully prepare an elderly car to get back on the road again.

Get it started, drive it out to the road... then beat the snot out of it!

Way to go!

29th Oct 2013, 14:21

I've been visiting with the old girl, and spending some money as I can. Sand blasted and powder coated the factory wheels to help preserve them; a little darker than the factory grey, but close enough for a 100 dollar bill. New tires were mounted, and the stainless full moon caps reinstalled (still have factory hubcaps, but the moons give it some style). I have worked with the top cylinders and have the top frame where it can be moved up and down manually. The transmission and the exhaust manifold gaskets are next.

1970 Oldsmobile 98 Convertible 7.4L/455ci

Model year1970
Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 7.4L/455ci Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89995 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Beast!

Faults:

Radiator & waterpump @ 99000.

Seats in rear wore out due to sitting on back seat at parades from previous owner.

P window switches didn't work after a while.

General Comments:

The car ate vettes, but sucked down fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

12th Jan 2009, 20:23

"The car ate vettes, but sucked down fuel."

- My friend, you had a 455 there. The less than the last thing in the world that the 455 was designed for was good mileage.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews