1985 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews from North America

1985 Oldsmobile 98 4 Door Sedan 3.8L V6

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance541032 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

The most reliable car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Power window motor went out. Nothing else. Just standard wear and tear. Battery. Tires. Brake pads. Etc.

General Comments:

Words can't express how I feel about this car. Amazing. Transmission and motor running strong after more than half a million miles. This car and myself have been to hell and back, and besides normal wear & tear, everything works, and I sure do wish they still made them this way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2011

28th Jul 2011, 16:54

Wonderful cars, nice review. They'll never make anything like this again, nor the world that spawned them (and was, not coincidentally, being destroyed about the time this car was made).

22nd Apr 2013, 11:24

Did you have to replace the timing chain at any time? Mine has 88000 on it, but I am worried about the nylon gears; had my 88 break the gear at 108000.

1985 Oldsmobile 98

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carOlds 88

Summary:

Wish I could find another like it

Faults:

New Muffler, Heat needs repair, electric windows move slower.

Interior in great condition. This car drives so smooth. Very powerful.

The newer cars don't compare except maybe the 75 to 80,000 dollar ones.

It's too bad they don't make them like this any more. I can see out all the the windows. There are no blind spots. I leased a Toyota and felt like I was in a sardine can. This car is roomy with comfortable seats.

Someone hit the side door. The exterior doesn't look so great now, but it drives like a dream. Great pick up. It hits 60 in seconds with no hesitation when getting on the highway.

General Comments:

If I could find a comparable auto, I'd buy it. My brother tried to give me his Lexus. I guess there is nothing like an Oldsmobile. I am going to try an Audi and check it out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2007

4th Dec 2007, 15:26

I guess there is nothing like an Oldsmobile. I am going to try an Audi and check it out.

- Don't check out the Audi. Try checking out the best Olds of them all, the 2001 - 03 Aurora 4.0.

1985 Oldsmobile 98 Regency

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance233000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

This is the most reliable car on Earth!

Faults:

The passenger side window doesn't go down (it fell into the door & had to be "demobilized").

The air conditioning doesn't work.

Nobody can ride in the back of the car, because it bottoms out if people are back there. Its the struts or shocks that are bad.

The door to the gas cap has rusted so much that it is permanently open. In fact, most of the car is rusted (I'm glad it was a brown car to begin with).

The car sometimes shuts off right before I back it out of a parking spot, but then I turn it over again and it is fine.

The radio stations deprogram themselves every time I shut the car off. I've tried to fix that by changing the fuses, but that hasn't worked.

Very rarely the car's engine alarm dings and the oil gage goes from over-full to empty within a second or two, and then back again. Then I know I need to put more oil in as soon as possible, or else the car will break down.

The tailpipe and muffler rusted so badly that they fell off of the bottom of the car (that was a fairly cheap fix, though).

General Comments:

This car will never stop running! The engine is a fantastic piece of machinery that has reliably gotten me from point A to point B for 15 years. I cannot say enough good things about how reliable this car has been for me!

This car rides like a dream! The ride is smooth, and the car has great get-up-and-go! Friends always prefer to ride in the Oldsmobile because there is a lot of room, and it is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2007

12th Jun 2009, 16:19

If the car's engine alarm dings and the oil pressure gauge (not the level gauge by the way, it's a pressure gauge) jump like that, it means you're burning or leaking oil constantly, and that alarm/gauge thing happens when the level has gone down so low that your engine is about to seize up.

Check your oil every week! check the LEVEL with the DIPSTICK. then you won't be running low over and over, a habit that will definitely kill your car.

Cheers,

Don.

1985 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 3.1 L 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

If you buy this type of car make sure the person who owned it before replaced most of the parts

Faults:

Transmission won't switch into 2nd or 3rd gear sometimes.

Pushrod loose in the engine.

Power steering went out once a couple of weeks ago but has been fine ever since.

No emergency brake.

Power window buttons on driver's side wore out.

Alternator is going bad.

Power antenna motor wore out.

Brakes went out.

Only gets about 10 mpg in the city and 14 on the highway.

Repairs: New radiator and all new parts for the brakes.

General Comments:

This car looks nice from the outside and inside, but when you drive it that's a whole diferent story. I would love this car if everything wasn't wrong with it. There isn't any rust on it and I love the inside because it's so roomy inside, the seats are like sitting on a couch.

I think the reason why I have so many problems is because my grandpa put 70000 miles on it at speeds no more than 20 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 13:49

Sounds like you just got a lemon. I've had an Oldsmobile 98 and it lasted until it was in a severe accident. Most of the reviews on this site on the same car are happy with it too. Don't worry, every line of cars has at least one lemon.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews