1991 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 7

1991 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.3

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance163200 miles

Summary:

One of General Motor's best!

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 148000 miles.I've had to put on a starter just once, an alternator also.That's all and I've owned the car 7 years.

General Comments:

A very reliable good car. Easy and cheap to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2004

1991 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1 liter, multi-port fuel injection

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter, multi-port fuel injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Very reliable; lots of fun to drive

Faults:

Replaced alternator.

Replaced water pump.

Power door locks failed.

General Comments:

Absolutely the most reliable, fun car I ever owned. I miss the digital "Flash Dash". I really hated getting rid of it, but I was starting to get some miles on it, and thought it better to get something newer before I faced any big repair bills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

23rd Jan 2006, 17:00

Yeah, I had a 1991 Olds Cutlass Supreme, and when I sold it it was the worst decision I ever made. I still see it every once in a while, but the guy who bought it off me has beat the crap out of it... dents everywhere and stuff. Kinda hurts to see it like that *sniff*.

19th Jun 2009, 01:31

I bought a 1991 Olds Cutlass Supreme with only 71,000 miles from an elderly woman. I put on ~15,000 miles on it within the three years I owned it.

So far I have had to replace:

The fuel pump, radiator tubes, the cylinder for the brakes, alternator, seat-belt, and other odds and ends.

Now the paint is falling off. I don't know what the deal is with that, but you see several GM and Mopar models out there from the early to mid 1990s with paint peeling off the exterior.. Whats the deal with that??? I took it to a car wash with a high pressure hose, BIG MISTAKE! Paint chips flew everywhere.

I wouldn't say it's the worst car ever. Its got a lot of backseat leg room. I like the middle front seat. But it is not entirely reliable. It is a mediocre car that has some perks.

10th Jul 2009, 13:00

I bought a 91 Olds Cutlass Supreme International a little over a year ago. It had about 161,000 miles on it. The biggest problem I've had out of the car was mainly the sensors. (TPS and MAP sensors) Other than that, it's a pretty cool car. The digital dash lights up the whole interior at night; the stock dual exhaust makes it purr like a kitten every time I start it up.

1991 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance219000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Best Value car I owned

Faults:

Altenator 3 times.

Switch Signal (3 times) smokes coming off the steering wheel.

A/C evaporator plate, then compressor.

Antilock lights on.

Horn.

Body Rust.

General Comments:

Never had engine, suspension or transmission problems. Great acceleration and handling performance.

It's too bad oldsmobile is discontinued from GM (other than Aero).

I just gave it away because of severe body rust. I regret not having the rust proof done when I got the car and kept more care of the body by keeping it clean from street salts during winter months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

6th Apr 2004, 08:43

I have a 1992 Cutlass Supreme 3.4 ltr 24 valve DOHC fully automatic, leather interior, two door, dual exhaust. I love this car. I've had it for 4 years now and just recently its been giving me problems. In the past year I've had the brakes changed, the power steering line changed because of a leak, the leaking oil pan gaskets changed, the spark plugs and wires changed, the EGR valve changed and now i need to repair some of the cracked leather and some rust beginning to show. After all of this, i still love the car! its a heavy car in which i feel safe in, it drives amazingly and it has great pick up. the look of it is great but everyone keeps telling me i should sell it because i only paid 3500 for it and i've put in more money than its worth. there's something about Cutlass Supremes. i find whoever owns one finds it hard to let it go no matter how many problems it gives you!

5th Mar 2007, 16:27

ANY One out there with information on the ABS unit pump repair cost or where to get a used pump for a reasonble price.

Thanks,

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 25 reviews