1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

All 4 corners of pads, calipers and rotors twice, serpentine belt and hoses, twice, intake gasket leaking coolant into crankcase, power window register broke, B pillar entry door handle broke, radiator needs replaced, A/C completely needs to be replaced, headliner coming loose over rear seat, auto trunk opener shorted out.

What a piece of junk that somehow managed to unfortunately get shipped to the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2011

29th Aug 2011, 08:56

O.K., you bought an 11 year old car and got 6 more years out of it...

31st Mar 2014, 14:26

This review seems rather biased, and really provides no factual based comments that provide an effective argument.

Maybe you should suspect your mechanic, garage or your driving habits, rather than blaming these failures upon the automobile.

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible 3.4

Summary:

Very sharp and nice looking car!

General Comments:

I originally bought my triple black Cutlass Convertible as a project.

Other than regular maintenance and faded paint, the car was in a fair to good condition.

I have 2 teenage daughters, so they use it as an extra vehicle.

So for the price I paid ($6,500), it has been in my opinion a great deal!

Yes, I've had many issues with the alternator and getting body parts like weather stripping, but it remains a project car.

Last year was no doubt my best year ever, with very little maintenance required.

For those considering buying one, beware of the parts issue (body), but these cars are beautiful, and quite frankly the value can only go up...

I can be reached at ohoh@nbnet.nb.ca

Pierre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2011

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1

Summary:

My favorite car in the world

Faults:

Rear window weatherstripping has completely deteriorated.

Alternator and starter have gone bad, and been replaced.

Convertible top started to malfunction in 2010.

General Comments:

My father bought this car brand new and gave it to me when I was finally old enough to drive. It is white with a black interior and only 104K miles on it now.

I need to find a replacement part for the top. A support rod has snapped and I cannot find anyone with a new part. If anyone knows a place or person that might be able to help me, please email me at heilmanp@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2010

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass Convertible 3.4 DOHC

Summary:

Unique powerful all American fun mobile

Faults:

Bought car AS-IS from mechanic friend who had fixed an oil gasket leak by replacing most of the gaskets. I then took it to another master mechanic shop and had the rest of the manifold gaskets and seals replaced, as well as all of the gaskets on the front and top of engine. I also had the timing belt and serpentine belt replaced.

My cousin and I took a weekend to replace all the struts and all brakes. We also replaced the air and fuel filters, as well as the oil and oil filter.

The car was previously very dirty inside and out, and I have cleaned it up to make the paint shine and make all the interior leather look like new.

I have had the convertible top replaced with a new top as well.

General Comments:

Now that all the repairs are done, this car runs like a dream! It's fast, quiet and very powerful. I also like the fact that it's such a rare car that uses such commonly available parts. It's really the best of both worlds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2009

1994 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1

Summary:

I love this car, period

Faults:

I have had to replace the serpentine belt, and it is due for some brake pads on the rear.

General Comments:

This was my mother's car. I have just inherited it from her estate. This car was her baby and she really took good care of it. She did not drive it that much. During the last 2 years she did not drive at all.

The car was taken care of by my sister, who had it serviced at the GM dealership where she works. The car is great to drive, runs and looks like it is almost new, other than a few scrapes etc. (which will soon be taken care of).

It has the 3100 engine, which has decent power, but I would rather have the 3.4. Still, can't complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2009

9th Nov 2009, 10:52

"It has the 3100 engine, which has decent power, but I would rather have the 3.4. Still, can't complain."

- An easy solution to this problem... take & trade it for one that has the 3.4.

9th Nov 2009, 17:30

Might wanna be careful. If a vehicle has been sitting for that long, it may need some parts replaced just because of sitting for so long. Things like bushings and shocks don't do well without exercise. And actually, the entire car benefits from getting used regularly. Just like the human body, a car really needs exercise too.

9th Nov 2009, 23:27

If you had the 3.4 you would complain.