Peugeot 205 Reviews from North America

1990 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

The car is extremely fun to drive

Faults:

Starter motor died at 50,000 km.

General Comments:

Amazing cornering.

For such a small and light car, the power generated is totally sufficient. you can keep squeezing the gas, and it just keeps giving.

Lots of room in the front, however in the rear... not so much.

Good build quality.

This car is simply amazing. it is light, yet very powerful. This combined with awesome handeling makes it a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

14th Apr 2004, 09:19

Hi.

I'm a GTI driver from France... I'm delighted to see our favorite hatchback is also being driven on your side of the Atlantic!!!

I'm very interested in knowing how your car got to the States, and how you obtained authorization to drive it around legally!!!

Please join us on this forum: http://www.forum-auto.com/sqlforum/section5/sujet128431.htm

There is a topic specifically dealing with this car in the States, come and join us to tell us more!

Have fun with your Peugeot!!!

10th Jun 2004, 16:49

Um... I went to your site that you gave me... but I don't understand anything, its French. anyways I'll tell you here how I'm driving it in North America. in Canada there is a rule that if the car is over 14 yrs old (I believe), you can import it without having to pass the emissions tests. it is classified as a collector car.

10th Nov 2004, 09:00

Hi My name is in terry, I am wanting to import a 1.6GTI to Virginia, usa, any information on how I could do this would be helpful, I live in the UK.

Thanks.

Terry.

1989 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.9 1.9

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

The joy of driving

Faults:

The car is still original. We replaced the hand brake cables. We replaced the head because a valve broken due to a inappropriate fuel octane. Too low.Know I am using 94 octane with a additive for a total of 98 octane. Be side that the car runs like a beast.

General Comments:

The cars handling is like a go cart. In Quebec the road are very ugly and this 205 is not made for that. Too hard, but the torque and response of the engine is superb. 0 to 200km with out no problem. The seat's are fantastic with there support and grate view. I most enjoy the car in U.S.A the roads are superb and my 205 GTI 1.9 like that. I have Peugeot's and B.M.W,Audi cannot compare Peugeot for there reliability and the fun of driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

6th Oct 2003, 06:37

Hello,

This is Arnaud from France!

I'm very happy to see that there are few owners of this wonderful 205 GTI in America.

Would you have some pictures of your car?

It would be so great!

2nd Feb 2004, 10:58

Hi, I'm another 205 GTi owner from France... I do think it is a fantastic car... it's been (and probably still is) a legend around here back in the 80's / 90's...

Tell us about your car : how come it got to the Americas, and how did you manage to get the appropriate authorizations to drive it around?

Bye and good driving!

19th Jul 2007, 05:22

This car is very popular in France ; It's amazing to find one in North America :-)

http://tout-pour-auto.blogspot.com

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 2 reviews