1994 Plymouth Voyager Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

1994 Plymouth Voyager SE 3.0 Mitsubishi 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Mitsubishi 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Roomy, powerful, but you need to be vigilant

Faults:

1) A/C Compressor locked up had to disconnect (cut belt).

2) Had to replace O2 sensor, costs were - $75 diagnose, $75 sensor, $100 labor.

3) Interior rattles a bit when radio volume is turned up.

4) Very springy on bumps, will get new shocks.

General Comments:

Good power.

Tons of room.

Seats come out easily.

Decent gas mileage.

Handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

1994 Plymouth Voyager Sport Wagon 3.3L V6

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

If you want a fast good looking mini-van, this is for you!

Faults:

Transmission died at 125k.

Not great on gas, about 20mpg.

General Comments:

If you want a fast mini-van get this thing. I just got my license and this is my parents car, but the acceleration on this thing is awesome! A friend of mine said he had seen these things hold their own against an RS Camaro and in some cases win. I doubted this until I started driving this harder. The other day I pulled on to a main street, speed limit is 35. A new RS Camaro races by and in just a few seconds I matched his speed of 75 and tail gated him!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2001

10th Jan 2004, 21:59

Possibly gas mileage would improve with less racing.

11th Jan 2004, 17:44

Racing in a mini-van...that's just wrong.

6th Jul 2005, 06:28

I own a 1994 Voyager Sport Wagon. Received it as a gift from my dad who stopped driving at 85. Had 18,000 miles on it 2 1/2 years ago. It now has 50,000 and I have put enough in repairs to have a P.T. Cruiser buildt for me. But it refuses to die and is reliable, but is on death's door.

20th Apr 2008, 21:26

You don't race a minivan! My 94 Voyager 3.3 has 198,000 miles and I still drive it daily. But, then again, I don't take my vehicles to the dealer because I don't trust them!

1994 Plymouth Voyager 3.0 litre

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Not too bad overall

Faults:

Radiator fan has broken twice in 82,000 miles. First time at 32,000, second time at 82,000. Costs 325.00 for a replacement. Design is so poor that there is no way to just repair it without replacing the entire unit.

The transmission had to be rebuilt at 40,000 miles. The transmission work was covered under warranty.

General Comments:

Pretty good car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1994 Plymouth Voyager Base 3.0 V6

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

Waste of time and money!

Faults:

Transmission went three times. After the third time it went I decided to get rid of the heap of junk. We have had nothing but problems with this mini-van. I would not recommend a Chrysler mini-van to anyone due to the poorly built transmissions.

General Comments:

Piece of junk!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

8th Sep 2001, 20:24

I've just purchased a Plymouth Caravan LE (85). I was in a bind and needed a vehicle quickly. I didn't want to buy off just anybody so I went to a used car lot and bought this van. It's been 9 weeks.

My drive-axle ripped in half the other day. Thinking it was the drive-axle I changed it and put in a used one from a scrap yard. It was labour day and nothing was open except the scrap yard. Before that I had it towed home for $110.00. Anyway long story short, 3 drive-axles later and I just found out my transmission is gone and I'm sure going 60 km/h to 0 in 2 seconds. Didn't do my van any other favours. That's what happened when my transmission went and locked the drive-axle.

14th Jun 2002, 08:10

We had a 1986 Plymouth voyager it was good except for the bad mitsubishi motor in it that was a v4,if it was a v6 maybe it would have been better. In Febuary 2002, we bought a 1994 Plymouth voyager 3.3l v6 sport, it's great, but the air conditioner is jammed so we have to change it. But that's the only problem until now.

11th Sep 2002, 19:27

I own a 1994 Grand Voyager and the drive pulleys have gone out 4 times. It's very frustrating. The trans went out at 42,000 miles. I've got 109,000 on it and other than those items it's been OK..

Regards.

Jack.

2nd May 2003, 10:00

I have a 1992 Plymouth Grand Voyager LE. I have 168,000 miles on the Van. I love this Van. However, there is a problem that I feel needs to be addressed by Chrysler. The axles have had to be replaced three times each side. I know "maybe you should check the motor mounts" forward and back. That is the cry of every Chrysler fan I have met. And in some cases I guess the motor mounts have caused a problem. I have checked them, they were checked each time the axles were replaced... just thought some one might benefit from this information. Chuck.

22nd Mar 2012, 22:09

Unbelievable that anyone would replace nine transmissions!!!

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews