2004 Pontiac Aztek Reviews from North America

2004 Pontiac Aztek

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1700 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Right rear hub and rear-end had to be replaced at 17,000 miles (under warranty). No problems since then.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle we have owned. I wish they still made them, and we would be first in line to buy a new one. It is equipped with OnStar (which I would not like to be without again, as I have had to use it in emergency situations). I love the looks both inside and out. I don't know why some think it's ugly; it was just before its time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2010

2004 Pontiac Aztek 3.4 V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The most versatile car I've ever owned

Faults:

Have replaced front hubs twice, once at 80,000 and once at 140,000.

Gas gauge very erratic.

Rear hatch won't open without pulling up on it.

Front brakes have been replaced 4 times, rear shoes still original, rear drums replaced at 100,000.

The air compressor for the level ride has rusted beyond repair, and so the inflator and the air shocks are no longer functioning.

Front struts replaced at 80,000.

Front seats are very worn, holes have appeared at the sides.

General Comments:

This car has been one of the best I've owned. The only real issue has been the brakes, and the front hubs. We have over 170k miles on it and still are on the original spark plugs. This car has never been tuned up and still runs like new. The paint has held up well and still has a great shine. If they still made this vehicle, I would not hesitate to buy another one. Looks aren't everything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2009

2004 Pontiac Aztek

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10

Summary:

Not an aztec... more like need a tech!!

Faults:

This car was my first brand new car. I was so excited and then a major let down. The car would shut off when going around sharp turns.

The trunk was never operating correctly and had to be shut several times for the light to go off.

The window stopped working.

The material around the shifter would always bunch up and have to be fixed.

I had taken this to the dealer several times, and each time one thing would be repaired something new would happen. One of the employees at the dealership who saw me in the place several times jokingly suggested I received a "Friday made car". I think he was right!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

2004 Pontiac Aztek Versatrek V6

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Fantastic... Wish they still made em!

Faults:

Nothing, seriously!!! It's been great!

General Comments:

Wow, absolutely love it! Had for almost 3 years... No problems, and runs and drives like a dream. Good control in snow with the AWD. And personally, I don't mind the looks. Wish they still made em, I'd be another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2007

2004 Pontiac Aztek

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance47500 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Great vehicle... bad repairs

Faults:

Just recently had to have the front driver's side wheel bearings replaced.

Have gone through 3 sets of rear brakes since buying the vehicle.

Seats stain very easily.

My radio was defective...wouldn't hold stations in memory.

General Comments:

I love the SUV. I'm just very disappointed by the problems listed above that I've had with it. I attributed it to a poor dealership since it was a "pre-owned" guaranteed vehicle.

Luckily I was smart enough to purchase the extended warranty which covered the radio and bearings.

Gas mileage is decent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2007

2004 Pontiac Aztek 1SC Rally Edition 3.4L gas

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4L gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30400 miles
Most recent distance30460 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

It's the most beautiful car I've ever seen, driven and owned

Faults:

None yet.

General Comments:

This car rocks:

Quick acceleration.

Great gas mileage 24-27 mpg combined city/highway.

Smooth & comfortable ride...won't feel the bumps.

Enough gadgetry to make even 007 and Batman proud.

Huge cargo space... try 4 X 8 plywood slabs.

Safe as a Volvo.

Versatile...it's a car, it's a mini-cargo van, it's a mini-RV with the.

Tent package...world's first TRUE CROSSOVER.

Cheap to buy because people keep saying it's ugly. These are the same people who drive SUV's that are soooo BLAH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2007

25th Jan 2007, 12:15

You're right, it WAS the world's first crossover, and they ARE great vehicles. What matters is that YOU are happy with it. They are very high-quality and versatile vehicles with the awesome reliability and build quality of GM. Congrats on a great vehicle!!

25th Jan 2007, 12:42

You've only had this car for a little over 200 miles. I would not rate the reliability just yet. Mine was the MOST unreliable vehicle I have ever owned. The A/C system was by far the worst. Constant attention, replacing, and suffering of stinkyness. The next was the transmission, always something not right about it. Fuel pump, thermostat, radiator hoses, fan bearings, heater core, the controlls, power locks fell in, power windows don't always work, etc etc etc etc etc.

I luckily dumped it at 41,000 miles to a person that was running an impact test for new highway barriers. I was happy the thing was out of my hair, and that I got to watch it get munched.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews