2004 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews from North America

2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

It's a great car

Faults:

Window clips went bad on 3 windows. Clips are cheap plastic.

It also eats too much gas.

General Comments:

This car is great!! I had this car for a year, bought it at 86000 miles, and never had a problem with it. It has great horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2013

2004 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 3.4L OHV SFI

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.4L OHV SFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

This car has good performance and looks good, but is not reliable

Faults:

The power-steering pump went bad.

The water pump leaked.

A strut mount bearing had to be replaced.

The A/C compressor makes some knocking noise.

The fuel pump check valve leaks.

A bearing inside the transmission makes some clicking noise during acceleration, but the transmission still works fine.

Replaced muffler and resonator assembly.

Replaced battery.

General Comments:

I was hoping that this car would be reliable when I bought it, but I've had numerous problems with it. Several parts went bad, so I've had to replace them.

I still have to replace the A/C compressor in the future, because it makes some knocking noise.

A bearing inside the transmission makes some clicking noise during acceleration, so I would have to get that checked out.

The 3.4L pushrod engine is somewhat noisy.

I think GM needs to focus more on quality, because this car has not been reliable. I will not be recommending this car to other people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2012

5th Jan 2013, 17:28

If you buy a used car, you save a large sum of money over new. That said, there are risks, mainly not knowing how the previous owner cared for it. Best to fairly pay an independent mechanic to check it over completely; his cost will reward you in the long run

2004 Pontiac Grand Am V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

It's a good car, overall

Faults:

The clips on the power windows are made of plastic, and continue to break. The plastic is just not durable enough. The clips should be made of metal, and be mechanically attached with screws to the bottom of the window.

General Comments:

I feel that General Motors should have a recall on this, and fix this problem immediately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2012

18th Feb 2013, 03:43

I agree about the window clips, it's made very cheap. But everything else is great, and it has good power.

19th Feb 2013, 16:05

I owned a 2001 Grand Am until trading it in 2009. It was a great car and I never had a single problem. I was aware of the fragile plastic window clips and handled the issue by advising my passengers not to slam the doors. I never had any issues with them.

2004 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.2 Ecotec

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Automatic
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Dependable mid-size car with good gas mileage. It's awesome!

Faults:

Issues with the security light.

The car wasn't getting fuel, so the dealer thought it was the fuel pump. After hours and hours of investigation, it was the fuel pump fuse; it had burnt. Still haven't found the cause of why it burnt.

Back speakers went out at 145,000 miles.

Face plate for stock stereo system cracked at 180,000 miles. Unknown cause.

At 191,000 miles I had to replace the battery.

Also costs of typical maintenance (oil changes, tires, brakes.. etc)

General Comments:

This car is my favorite car I've ever owned.

Poor seating ergonomics for my husband (He's 6 ft 5/250 lbs), but I had no problems.

It's roomy enough for a family plus car seats, yet sporty enough for a new teenage driver. Great car!

The way you drive this car has a huge impact on its reliability. I base this on the huge number of problems people have had with the Grand Am. I like to take it easy, and hardly ever have to go over 2500RPM.

I bought it this year, and have put 86,000 miles on it. I was expecting it to fall apart like my old car (Ford Probe), but it didn't. This car has been such a great ride!

In summary, I find the 2004 Grand Am to be a fun and practical choice in vehicle. It has great styling, it has very reasonable power, and nice ergonomics. It is a very easy car to live with. It does what you ask of it readily, and with enthusiasm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2011

17th Oct 2011, 10:15

What kind of driving do you do to put on 86000 miles in one year?

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews