2005 Pontiac Montana Reviews from North America

2005 Pontiac Montana SV6 3.5

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 kilometres
Most recent distance189000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

Very good build and reliable

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with this van.

Only had it for 5 months, and it has been very reliable. Smooth ride, fuel for city driving is average around 20-23MPG. Highway I've managed up to 27MPG.

Only problem I've had was the CD player is broken and wouldn't play. My brother owns a 07 SV6 and has the same problem, and has had to replace it.

Other than that, I love my van, and love the DVD player even better.

Had an 02 Montana before this one, and that was very nice too, but was getting high Kms, and started needing repairs more and more, so got rid of it, but couldn't complain about MPG (28 on highway). Very nice van though, but didn't have the DVD player!

General Comments:

For what I had, my van sure beats paying an arm and leg for an import, and I have always been GM fan, and they did good on this van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2012

2005 Pontiac Montana EXT 3.4L

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance80400 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

Nice to drive, but poor quality

Faults:

Ran fine for 18 months, at which time the brakes became warped and corroded (fixed under warranty, apparently due to a bad batch of original parts).

Next the CD stopped working. They replaced the radio under warranty.

Now, although I've only had it for 2.5 years, the light behind the radio LCD display went. VERY ANNOYING. GM won't fix it because: a) I'm out of warranty (82,000 km) and b) radio bulbs that fail require the ENTIRE RADIO to be replaced, at a cost of $400.

General Comments:

I'm giving up on GM and will only go with an exceptional warranty vehicle next time.

GM was able to keep me as a customer near the end of my '01 Montana lease expiry with good financing etc., but I supposed I should have learned my lesson with the '01 (tranny blew up at 16,000 km, needed expensive head gasket at 60,000 km).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2007

2005 Pontiac Montana

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carHyundai XG350

Summary:

Perfect van

Faults:

Has no right side power door.

General Comments:

I'm in love with my Montana. It is very good on gas, I pay only $30 to fill the tank. It is so nice. Even with 96000 miles, it still runs great, and everything is working great too.

When I drive on dark roads at night, I don't need the highbeems, the fog lights are helpful enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

9th Oct 2007, 21:07

Did you have problems with, ABS and the second airbag on your 2005 pontiac Montana sv6.

2005 Pontiac Montana SV6 3.8

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carPontiac Montana

Summary:

The vehicle is nice, but not very comfortable on long trips

Faults:

Cam shaft key in cog sheared, per dealer. They said that Pontiac got a few soft keys. The cog fell off dropping the timing chain and now the engine has to be replaced! Side passenger door does not open unless you pull hard, it has been adjusted twice. The door trim on the drivers door and side door is coming unglued.

General Comments:

I think it is inexcusable for GM to have waited until my engine blew up to notify me of the problem they knew existed. My wife could have been in heavy traffic and stopped causing a terrible accident on a freeway!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

14th Feb 2007, 14:18

What size engine does your van have and is there a published GM recall notice for this fault?

2005 Pontiac Montana SV6 3.5

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

Nice try, but gas is too expensive and service sucks

Faults:

Fuel economy is terrible. Average of city and highway is 16.8 MPG.

Rattle in the front end.

Brakes squeal, and there is a shudder when pressed hard on the highway.

Noise from the ignition through the DVD player.

Side door hinge hits the body when opening and closing the door.

Tires are wearing out with very low miles and very easy driving.

AC/heater system does not heat/cool very well.

Rear seat belt did not retract properly.

This was all before 10000 miles.

General Comments:

When I first looked at and then bought the Montana SV6, I was very pleased with the price, style and options on the van. Once I started driving it though, the ongoing problems started, the worst being the terrible gas mileage that the car gets. GM, in their infinite wisdom, installed a fuel economy monitor on this van, and it is sitting on 16.8 MPG (that's as low as it registers) and does not budge. This really sucks, since they advertise about 26 MPG combined.

The other problems are ongoing annoyances, as the dealerships seem unable or unwilling to repair them. The only one they did fix was the seat belt.

Not a happy camper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

15th Jun 2006, 10:30

I own a 2006 SV6. The rattle in the front end is probably a sway bar bushing, I just had one replaced under warranty.

I've not experienced the "Ignition Noise" you say comes from your DVD player. I would assume this noise is coming through your head sets and not the radio. You may be picking up RF interference from local towers or other sources.

I am a little annoyed with the less than friendly second row seats. They are difficult to remove and adjust.

My van is an extended model and Heating/Ac is more than adequate when compared to my previous van, a Kia Sedona. The SV6's system functions much better.

I've just past 10k and I really can't say anything bad about my SV6. So far the dealer has been very attentive and I'm very pleased with their performance. Perhaps you should find another dealer.

Good luck and keep us updated.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews