1978 Porsche 911 Reviews from North America

1978 Porsche 911

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carSunbeam Alpine

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

When I purchased the car, it was a basket case. The car had been sitting outside for two years.

The top had a leak, and about of 1" of water was in the drivers side floor.

The seats were leather and dry-rotted, the dash was leather and dry-rotted.

The engine was frozen, along with some parts missing (nuts and bolts) that secured the steering assembly.

The paint was faded and the clear coat was missing all across the hood.

General Comments:

Removed and rebuilt the engine - it had 80,000 miles on it.

Removed and replaced the leather seat skin covers, new leather dash, new leather rear panel, along with miscellaneous trim.

Since the rebuild, I have driven the car approximately 80,000 miles, and it is a pleasure to drive.

Have driven it on the track along with several autocrosses. The car is super quick, and can defeat Mustangs on the top end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2010

1978 Porsche 911 SC 3.0

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50787 miles
Most recent distance78311 miles

Summary:

Classic Porsche looks and performance, a real head turner

Faults:

Alternator went out at 74K.

AC never worked.

Brake supply lines and brakes at 62K.

Fuel line from chassis connector at 70K.

General Comments:

Very powerful and reliable. Have had remarkably low problems for a 30 year old performance car. Gets about 27-28 mpg on the road, about 19 in traffic around town. Parts and service are expensive!

Love the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2008

1978 Porsche 911

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Pure sweetness

Faults:

Alternator went out, new radio drained batteries, seats wearing, oil plug worn, other just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Awesome car to drive, very stylish, and just an all round sweet ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2008

1978 Porsche 911 Targa SC 3.0

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

This generation of 911 helped keep the 911 around; this car is excellent!

Faults:

This car is pristine. I am very picky about my vehicles. so it needs a tune up, new belts and some new fuses.

The fuel pump stopped working; bad fuse.

General Comments:

This car is fast, fun and reliable considering that it is 30 years old, all original and never been restored. When I take this car out, it's great to drive and it's a head turner. You can smoke the tires if you choose, or cruise along and enjoy the ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

1978 Porsche 911 SC German Model

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission German Model Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 6 Series

Summary:

Fan Tastic

Faults:

This 911 has been bullet proof, but I have done quite a bit of work on the engine just to upgrade the entire auto. I have probably spent close to $3,000 US on the motor and another $5,000 on a new paint job.

I would not be afraid to drive this car anywhere in the US.

General Comments:

What can anyone say, but it's a Porsche. Just a fantastic car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2007

1978 Porsche 911 SC 3.0

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50074 miles
Most recent distance66532 miles
Previous carPorsche 914

Summary:

Very reliable, fun classic, I'm hooked on Porsche

Faults:

Fuel line leak, had to have through-chassis connector ends replaced $108.00.

Heater tubing worn out, replaced $46.00.

Shift linkage very vague, replaced with improved factory shift linkage kit $150.00 (still worked OK I chose to replace)

Replaced stock cam tensioner w/Carrera type and direct oiling system $900.00 (not broke, I chose to replace)

General Comments:

Car is beautiful, looks new & sounds tight and strong. Remarkably fast, accelerates quite strong to about 145mph tapers off after that, but still pulling @ 155. (recently passed a 2004 Mustang GT briskly when he topped out @ 133)

Corners very well, when pushed hard back end will slide out. The trick is to hold or give a little more gas as slide begins. If you hit the brakes or back off in slide, your toast.

Gets about 26 mpg on road @70 mph cruise. Best all around smooth cruising speed is 110mph when I can get away with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

29th Sep 2006, 19:38

Reviews like these, and lower US prices (compared to Canadian) prices for older 911's make me wanna sell my e30 BMW and catch the next flight to the states for a nice little P-Car.

Great review!

13th Aug 2007, 15:43

A STOCK 911 SC WON'T do 155 mph. They are 130-140 mph cars, at best.

21st Nov 2012, 21:17

You are correct, and the review is by a dreaming car crazy 18 year old. I have owned a 79 SC for years, and it is in mint original condition. The car is impressive for its day, but in stock form, cannot and will not see the north side of about 135mph. All original reviews and road tests are still available online.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews