Porsche Cayenne Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

2008 Porsche Cayenne GTS

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carPorsche Cayenne

Summary:

It is a fine automobile

Faults:

The paint is damaged by "grit"on the road during normal winter driving conditions. This happened the very first time I drove over mountain passes on the freeway. The damage is extensive to the wheel well area and the trim around the wheel area. The damage has now extended to other areas of the paint on the side of the car. The car is black and the primer underneath is white. The dealer and the regional rep have refused to acknowledge responsibility.

General Comments:

Other than the paint, the car is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2009

2003 Porsche Cayenne S V8 N/A

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 N/A Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles

Summary:

If I knew this car would have these problems, I wouldn't have bought it, even though its a lot offun

Faults:

-One front high beam didn't work (probably 3 or 4 times)

-Turn signals stopped working (probably twice)

-Steering headlights stopped working (twice)

-Software had to be reloaded (lost some software functionability because of it)

-Glove compartment button was crooked when I bought it

-Horn broke and sounded like a donkey

-A piston was misfiring

-Drivers window switch plate peeled

-slight shaking at idle

-creaking noise when brakes are applied and released

-Camber problems on the front wheels

-Radio stopped working

-Aluminum trim changed color

-Poor reception on car key.

General Comments:

This car has been an absolute disaster. It's been in the shop more times than any car should ever go to the shop. MY headlight assemblies have been a nightmare.

While none of these problems have ever left me stranded on the road, it is incredibly inconvenient to take it into the shop on a regular basis. A car of this category should not have problems like this. Maybe I got a lemon. Maybe it's because it was one of the first cars rolled off the assembly line. Either way, I am very unhappy with the build quality of this vehicle.

Now, to be fair, this car is so much fun to drive! It's faster than a car this size should be, and it's not even the turbo model. It's handling still astounds me. I can't believe a car of this size manages to perform so well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

8th Jan 2006, 11:33

Unfortunately it's sad, but true. When it comes to first year models, especially those chock full of electronics and new designs, buyers are essentially beta testers. And given you probably paid somewhere north of $70K for your Porsche, that is unacceptable.

Word to the wise is to never buy a car until it's been out a few years, no matter how tempting. And certainly don't pay a premium for it.

2004 Porsche Cayenne V6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Faults:

The dealer did not inform me that I needed winter tires.

The steering makes funny noises.

The air conditioning is inconsistent.

The car shifts at the wrong times.

The engine is too small for a 4800 pound vehicle.

General Comments:

The V6 engine is too small for this heavy vehicle. If you go uphill in hot weather, often you have to manually shift to a lower gear to get enough power. Passing speed should be better. With the next model up, the 'S', you get great power, but you cannot modulate pedal effort, so the vehicle tends to lurch from a standstill.

The salesperson did not talk about the tires needing to be switched in the winter. Thus, you need to alternate tires (and expensive rims) because the manufacturer puts high performance tires on this all wheel drive SUV.

There is no separate zone setting for the air conditioning, even though you have passenger settings. The is only one overall setting.

The looks of the vehicle are marvelous, the braking is exact, and the steering is precise. These features are overshadowed by some other glaring flaws.

The dealer was not consistent on how frequent oil changes are necessary.

There is no garage door opener option available on the base model, which is still expensive.

There is no full size spare, only an inflatable mini tire with its own compressor in the trunk.

I have replaced the radio in the first 8 months of ownership.

There are so many factory recalls that I don't know how many items have been altered.

Do not expect to get a Porsche loaner if you are getting service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

6th Dec 2005, 00:10

Maybe you should have just purchased a regular, well established S.U.V. such as a Toyota or Nissan- far cheaper, and far more reliable! The only thing they lack is "pose" value- and so what! People who buy expensive (and often impractical) vehicles, are kidding no one except themselves. Sad, but very true!

26th Jul 2007, 03:15

Actually I don't entirely agree. This vehicle is highly capable in terms of actual off roading performance. The engineering is simply state of art. I don't think the dealer is SUPPOSED to inform you of putting on winter tires... you kinda know that by common sense.

No automatic transmission shifts at the right time; at least I haven't seen one yet. Use the manual shifter; it's there for a reason.

26th Jul 2007, 09:58

I buy because of performance not posing... Cayenne Turbo, Trailblazer SS offer this. I do not see a Toyota performance SUV.

28th Dec 2007, 21:26

Mate, have you ever tried a Toyota Land Cruiser V8 2002-2005?

I can tell you that It can easily beat your Porsche in any terrain... specially in the Dubai Dunes...

29th Dec 2007, 07:29

I agree with 0:10 you should have bought a nice street SUV such as a new Range Rover with the air suspension. I would go with a Porsche Turbo version or a new Trailblazer SS. Incredibly fast vehicles, great handling and performance. I would take them out on an extensive test drive... I always do that and test new imports and domestics actually quite a few before handing them money. Don't just sit in the seat in the dealers lot or you will be lowering your expectations.

29th Dec 2007, 11:57

Should have gotten a Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8. The Cayenne is nice, but an SRT8 has far better value.

29th Dec 2007, 16:55

This is top technology, performance and handling territory not just best value.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews