SAAB 9-2X Reviews from North America

2005 SAAB 9-2X Linear 2.5i EJ253 H4

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.5i EJ253 H4 Automatic
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A SAAB you can live with

Faults:

One interior bulb was out, easily replaced.

Nothing else except normal wear & tear items - brakes, wiper blades, etc.

General Comments:

For me, this is mostly an appliance vehicle and occasional hauler, with a little pizazz.

Like most other Subaru's, it's pretty durable - a decent 'everyday' powertrain, low maintenance costs, nothing really to worry about except general maintenance.

Power is adequate, but isn't inspiring - ultimately that's OK, as having a simple, straightforward, uncomplicated engine for a change is a plus.

Handling is average, maybe slightly above average with the AWD.

The front seats are actually quite good, with decent bolstering.

Interior is a bit cheap overall, but not terrible. It's very quiet, even on the interstate (extra sound-deadening was added IIRC). Interior is 99.9% rattle free.

Cargo capacity is on average with most hatchbacks; this isn't a full-sized wagon and it has a sloped back, so bigger items won't fit easily. Getting an average sized mountain bike in the back was challenging.

It's a split-personality experience driving this car - it looks better than a Subaru, while overall being less of a headache than owning an actual SAAB. I don't beat on it ruthlessly, but it seems to comply happily when it's occasionally wrung out. I don't baby it either.

If it blew up or died, I'd probably try to find another or a similar Subaru... but would most likely end up with an old Volvo 240/740/940 :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2012

29th Apr 2012, 05:03

Is this guy writing about a Saab or a Subaru? He doesn't seem sure, as he refers to both at different times!

29th Apr 2012, 11:01

The Saab 9-2 was based on the Subaru Impreza.

2005 SAAB 9-2X AERO 2.0 Boxer turbo

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Boxer turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Ugly Duckling!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

This car has got to be the best damn vehicle ever produced for under $40,000.

It is rat dog ugly like all Subaru's, but as a reliable year round rocket and tuner car it really can't be beat.

So just how bullet proof is this car... I recently lost control (sand on road) and took it over a meridian at about 50 km/hr. All 4 winter rims were destroyed and the only thing the car needed was a wheel alignment. I thought for sure this was going to be one big bill. Thank goodness I didn't have the stock 17's on.

So you wanna tune... stock she has 227 hp. Stage 1 is $700 and you're at 255hp. Go stage 2 for another $600 and you're at 285hp. The best part is anybody can tune this thing. You don't need to know very much to get this bad boy to 300hp. The parts are all WRX parts.

Without the access port this car has brutal turbo lag. I would not recommend the auto with the 2.0t. But the access port just about eliminates the turbo lag, so an auto may not be that bad. I personally think this car has to have a manual, but for those desiring an auto, the access port is a must.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

28th Apr 2008, 19:48

You went from 0 - 82,000 km in 2008??? And how did you find an '05 with 0 km on it?? I think these cars are pretty sweet looking myself and they leave the WRX way behind in the looks category. I agree the 5 speed is a must on this car... The '06 is much better on the low end and much of the lag is gone on the bigger 2.5 engine.

2005 SAAB 9-2X Aero 2.0 turbo

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX8

Summary:

Saabaru - Love it for ever!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a great reliable car where you leverage the build quality of the Japanese and the styling of the Scandinavians.

This car is a refined Subaru WRX wagon. I personally like the look much more and the performance reminds me of my old 1996 Audi A4 but without the headache of the repair bills.

The car is a pleasure to drive and amazing in the snow. I still think the A4 Quarto is a better 4-wheel drive system, but this car is a fraction of the price. The power behind this 4 banger rivals what I had in the A4. The engine is responsive and fun to drive.

My previous car was a Mazda RX-8 and this is equally as fun to drive. Sure 0-60 takes a second or two longer to reach, but the transmission is smooth and the fuel consumption is very economical. I would recommend this car to anyone. I've always been told that Subaru's rock, but now I have seen the light!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2007

21st Aug 2007, 22:27

Enjoy your Saabaru while you can for it will not be repeated now that GM no longer has any interest in Subaru, having sold off their stake to Toyota.

2005 SAAB 9-2X AERO 2.0t

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0t Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Bullitt proof bang for your buck tuner car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Awesome car! I couldn't be happier. extremely rare, yet parts are in good supply from the wrx.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

2005 SAAB 9-2X Aero 2.0 turbo boxer

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo boxer Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

It is a great year round sports car!

Faults:

You have to keep the engine above 2000 RPM's for usable power, which takes a bit of getting used to.

General Comments:

The 9-2X is quick and very fun to drive, and it also cruises nice on the highway.

I haven't had it long enough to really run it, or see how good the reliability is, but it is basically a Subaru underneath, so I feel it will hold up really well.

I always liked the WRX, and then they released this version of it in SAAB form, and I couldn't resist. I picked it up for under $20,000 too, which helped my decision. Thanks GM for the discount!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2005

1st Sep 2005, 14:09

Just an update... I have about 4,500 miles on the 92X and it is still performing flawlessly. It actually performs better now that it is broken in and it has a lot more power below the 2,000 RPM range for 5th gear cruising at 45 and such... nice for fuel savings. Still no problems and no disappointments... I love driving it and I still can't believe the bargain I got on it! I'll update again later...

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews