1999 SAAB 9-5 2.3t


Money pit


What has not gone wrong with the car. It's one thing after another with this car.

Leaks oil.

Had to have oil pan cleaned out or the engine would blow up.

Wiper motor failing do not work on intermittent.

Speedometer burned out again.

Clutch is slipping at 130k.

Pulley seized and broke the serpentine belt.

Gas smell inside the cabin of the car.

Check engine light has been on for a year.

Burn way too much gas, and burns some oil too.

Thermostat not always working properly.

Brakes are horrible, and they are fairly new.

General Comments:

This is a very solid car and looks great, but is so problematic, it's a money pit. I am disappointed with it. I thought it was better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2009

12th Nov 2009, 13:40

Aren't many cars "money pits" when they get old and pass 100,000 miles?

(Before people jump all over me - I said "many" cars, not "all" cars)

21st Feb 2013, 21:06

Any 10+ year old car is going to be requiring attention. Some (European) will require you to a) know how to fix your own car or b) have a fat wallet so you can pay someone else who knows how to fix your own car.

This much is absolutely true... there is NO safer car on the road than a 9-5. None. If this is important to you, then the quirks of a Saab are like spots on a dalmatian. They're just there.

I own 2 Saab 900's, and I'm looking for a good 9-5 as well. Will never own any other manufacturer if I can help it (come back, Saab!)

Peace out.

1999 SAAB 9-5 SE 2.3 turbo


This SAAB is a total pieice of garbage


Head gasket blew.

Water pump went twice, 2nd after 500 miles.

EPG valve needed to be replaces.

Coil, 2, with 200 miles.

Timing chain cover cracked.

Piston needed to be replaced after head gasket went.

Air filter box got a crack and needed to be replaced.

Mechanic now says axles need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I hate this car, for a 1 owner with 74,000 miles on it, you have to be kidding me, this car has seriously been in the shop more than it has been on the road, it has cost me almost 8K in repairs and endless fights with my girlfriend, it has left me stranded twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-5 2.3 turbo


Good, reliable car to drive


Had to have the oil pan cleaned out.

Leaks a little oil; from where I don't know.

Replaced serpentine belt (pulley seized and cold didn't help either).

Speedometer/tachometer burned out.

General Comments:

This Saab has been to hell and back with me. She has been in an accident. And I have run her out of gas a few times.

Most recently drove her through a puddle that was about 5 feet deep and she still runs (amazing in my opinion - the engine went underwater).

Saab builds an incredibly strong car and very durable.

She has been a charm to drive over the last year; extremely comfortable and fun to drive.

The 9-5 is the luxury model from Saab, but there are a few things that I am not sure if it is the car itself or all 9-5s, but the brakes on the car are not the greatest, her suspension is extremely soft, but that is due to her old age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2009

12th Jul 2009, 10:41

You do know that if the "puddle" was 5 feet deep - the entire car would have been submerged, don't you?

Where I come from we call "puddles" that are 5 feet deep, lakes.

15th Jul 2009, 10:49

It was extremely deep it came up to my windows, so it was at least 3 ft deep. It was an exaggeration to say it was deep.

1999 SAAB 9-5


I wouldn't trade my SAAB for the world!


The A/C blower went out this year.

General Comments:

I have nothing but praise for this car. It is nice looking, and I always get comments.

Coming from a Cadillac, this is not the most comfortable car, but it gets the job done.

Great on gas and no down time (except regular maintenance)! I have abused this car since I got it, and it is still ticking just as good as it did when I bought it. It is as reliable as an old faithful dog; always there and always ready. My next car will be a SAAB!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

26th May 2009, 14:19

No -- keep your car! SAAB 9-5 reviews are not very encouraging, and a friend who has had 3 SAABs has been dissuaded by his SAAB specialist mechanic from getting a 9-5 because of problems with it. You've clearly had a car built on the day that all the planets were aligned right. Just keep it.