1999 SAAB 9-5 Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 8

1999 SAAB 9-5 SE 2.3 turbo

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

This SAAB is a total pieice of garbage

Faults:

Head gasket blew.

Water pump went twice, 2nd after 500 miles.

EPG valve needed to be replaces.

Coil, 2, with 200 miles.

Timing chain cover cracked.

Piston needed to be replaced after head gasket went.

Air filter box got a crack and needed to be replaced.

Mechanic now says axles need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I hate this car, for a 1 owner with 74,000 miles on it, you have to be kidding me, this car has seriously been in the shop more than it has been on the road, it has cost me almost 8K in repairs and endless fights with my girlfriend, it has left me stranded twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2009

1999 SAAB 9-5 2.3 turbo

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Good, reliable car to drive

Faults:

Had to have the oil pan cleaned out.

Leaks a little oil; from where I don't know.

Replaced serpentine belt (pulley seized and cold didn't help either).

Speedometer/tachometer burned out.

General Comments:

This Saab has been to hell and back with me. She has been in an accident. And I have run her out of gas a few times.

Most recently drove her through a puddle that was about 5 feet deep and she still runs (amazing in my opinion - the engine went underwater).

Saab builds an incredibly strong car and very durable.

She has been a charm to drive over the last year; extremely comfortable and fun to drive.

The 9-5 is the luxury model from Saab, but there are a few things that I am not sure if it is the car itself or all 9-5s, but the brakes on the car are not the greatest, her suspension is extremely soft, but that is due to her old age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2009

12th Jul 2009, 10:41

You do know that if the "puddle" was 5 feet deep - the entire car would have been submerged, don't you?

Where I come from we call "puddles" that are 5 feet deep, lakes.

15th Jul 2009, 10:49

It was extremely deep it came up to my windows, so it was at least 3 ft deep. It was an exaggeration to say it was deep.

1999 SAAB 9-5

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carCadillac DTS

Summary:

I wouldn't trade my SAAB for the world!

Faults:

The A/C blower went out this year.

General Comments:

I have nothing but praise for this car. It is nice looking, and I always get comments.

Coming from a Cadillac, this is not the most comfortable car, but it gets the job done.

Great on gas and no down time (except regular maintenance)! I have abused this car since I got it, and it is still ticking just as good as it did when I bought it. It is as reliable as an old faithful dog; always there and always ready. My next car will be a SAAB!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

26th May 2009, 14:19

No -- keep your car! SAAB 9-5 reviews are not very encouraging, and a friend who has had 3 SAABs has been dissuaded by his SAAB specialist mechanic from getting a 9-5 because of problems with it. You've clearly had a car built on the day that all the planets were aligned right. Just keep it.

1999 SAAB 9-5

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

It's a great car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Both my Saabs were economical, dependable, trouble-free and a delight to own/drive. I don't know what these other people expected, but the car is exceptionally agile, good on fuel, fast and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2009

6th May 2009, 14:07

I own a 2003 Saab 9-3 Convertible. I've had a similar experience. My Saab is quiet, comfortable, reliable, and gets excellent fuel mileage. (31 mpg on a recent 750 mile trip).

I couldn't ask for a better car.

1999 SAAB 9-5 SE V6 turbo

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Don't buy it just cause it has a sunroof and leather seats

Faults:

I bought the car 4 months ago off of craigslist. It was my first car, I'm 16. It took me a year to save 3500.00 for my first car. I was so happy I bought this car.

Then the first week I had it the fill coolant light came on, so we filled it up and then 2 days later it happened again. My dad looked under the hood and I had a major radiator leak. I had to replace that for 600.00.

While the car was there, my mechanic told me my pistons were going bad and I would probably have to eventually get a new engine. Then about 3 weeks later, one cold morning my car wouldn't start. Fuel pump 400.00.

Then about a month later, it was starting weird and my check engine light was on. Spark plugs 60.00.

Then just two days ago, I was driving to work and I was coming to a light, and I went to stop and a strange noise came from my car, then it was really hard to use the brakes. My emergency warning lights came on and I turned off the car, worried I would ruin the engine. I have it towed to the shop to find out the engine blew. They quoted me 5,000 for a new engine.

I'm just a 16 year old girl with horrible luck?

Or I just picked the wrong car?

My older sister has a '95 Saab 9000 with 200,000 miles on it and it's ran to this day with no problems.

Don't BUY A 99 SAAB 95!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

15th Mar 2009, 11:21

Don't blame Saab. You shouldn't buy a car with 130,000 miles on it without having it checked out first.

15th Mar 2009, 16:23

I think your title should be, Don't buy a car from craigslist. Seriously, did you not take it to a mechanic before you bought it??? A 99' 9-5 bought privately for $3,500 must have a lot a lot of miles on it to begin with. Next time, do more research on the vehicle before you buy it, and not just because it has leather, a sunroof, and a sister with an older model. The 99' model is even better than the '95.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews