Saleen S7 Reviews from North America

2006 Saleen S7 V8 7.0 twin turbo

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 7.0 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles

Summary:

Useless + pointless + dangerous = fabulous

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I work at an exotic auto dealership in south Florida, we received one of these babies early 2006. The car was shipped to our warehouse Orlando from the manufacturer in Irvine. We had the honor to pick it up. The thing was towed of course. But we always take every new car for a spin before selling; call it "quality control".

This thing is scary!!

Power borders on the absurd!! The cabin is tiny, there is no space and no external visibility at all.

We manage to hit 150 in less time than it takes to write this sentence. It is good they don't sell many of these, they are saving peoples lives.

Racing a Porsche, a Corvette or a BMW is a waste of time. If you want the ultimate, buy one of these. You won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2007

18th Sep 2007, 18:54

Nice comments coming from a salesman of these cars.

E.Z.

6th Jul 2013, 04:29

Yes, especially as he was kind enough to thrash 150mph out of it before selling it to its first owner.

7th Jul 2013, 09:45

I don't think 150 MPH is thrashing one. He could have pushed it up over 240 MPH. To have an opportunity to drive one is worth getting fired for in my opinion. Some cars suffer more driving slow in heavy traffic, overheating, vs speed. That's what many are built for.

25th May 2014, 20:43

Those cars are meant to be driven; if it gets trashed to drive it at 150mph then it's not worth selling it. And what seller won't want to try the one in the show room? Great review & nice to share.

2006 Saleen S7 7 liter twin turbo

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 7 liter twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carCadillac Escalade

Summary:

Truly an American super car

Faults:

So far all is good.

General Comments:

I just got this car a week ago; and let me tell you, it has always been a dream of mine to own a super car.

Obviously this car is not my daily commuter. I just take this car out on the weekends and drive it to my weekend house on the beach, which is about a 200 mile drive, and I now enjoy every second of it.

The acceleration is astounding; which is the reason I bought this car. I've been hearing a 2.8 0-60, but I've always get in the mid 3's (by my mental count).

I can't tell you about the speed because so far I have only taken it to about 110 mph, but some time in the near future I am going to take her to the racetrack and am going to push her to the limits!

Fuel economy really isn't that bad considering its engine size. I average around 8mpg, which is better than my previous H1 (which I sold because I hated it).

I am really getting into super cars now, and if I get another I will have to sell this one because of insurance reasons, but I am thinking about trying out either a Lamborghini or a Bugatti (not sure I could afford that one though).

I would recommend this car to anyone who is a true speed demon, or just loves a lot of attention (I sure get tons of it).

If anyone has any questions regarding my car about anything, just e-mail me.

tommycel@gmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

17th Jan 2006, 00:39

Hey buddie I like the car:) ahah.

19th Dec 2006, 14:23

Hey bud! What's wrong with the insurance for this vehicle? Obviously I'm sure it's expensive, but anything on top of that?

8th Jan 2009, 12:34

Wow, I wish I had your wealth.

16th Aug 2009, 22:53

I've always been a car fanatic...unfortunately, I'm by no means rich. I'd love to have the chance to drive a car like this... But I guess I'll have to stick with my Honda Civic until the lottery helps me out!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 2 reviews