2001 Saturn SL Reviews from North America - Page 6 of 7

2001 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 SOHC

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Good for the money

Faults:

At 18,000 miles my transmission blew up, but from doing a smoke show, at 50,000 miles my head cracked, and at 102,000 my radiator side post cracked.

General Comments:

Good running car for a saturn. Used to burn a lot of oil, but I poured Lucas in with the oil and it fixed the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

2001 Saturn SL SL1

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

OK car, Bad transmission

Faults:

The transmission started acting up around 30000 miles. I had trouble with the transmission up until the car died at 98000. By died I mean the transmission finally went out. Traded it in for an Eclipse.

General Comments:

Decent car not worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2005

30th Oct 2007, 16:20

These cars with auto trannies are just horrible, trust me, learn to drive stick, it will save you in fuel and trannies! Amazing economy cars!

2001 Saturn SL SL2 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres

Summary:

Generally reliable, but very low quality for the $21,000 asking price I paid

Faults:

Car would not start after I left it for 5 days parked outside in winter. Could not get it working, had to be towed and had to pay over $800 in repair costs. Dealer stated "engine was flooded". Unacceptable.

General Comments:

Loud engine and lots in noise in interior cabin.

Engine is anemic.

Brakes are weak.

Exterior headlamps offer very poor lighting. I would call this a safety hazard.

Exceptionally cheap interior plastics even by GM standards.

Soft, soft seats that offer no support.

Low seating position gives poor visibility.

Dull and drab gray interior.

Front windshield is very sloped and results in a cramped seating position.

Car has poor side-impact ratings.

Overall, the build quality of this car is poor, and is very cheaper put together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

4th Sep 2005, 09:18

$21,000 is in Canadian dollars. A strategy used by GM is to offer a really low base-price, then to make you buy `package` options to get the things that you need, like A/C, which makes the final price of the car jump to a price you would pay for a Japanense one.

2001 Saturn SL 2 1.9L

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I would buy another Saturn for the price and convenience

Faults:

The clutch went out at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought my Saturn SL2 brand new, in 2001. It's a 5 speed, and I have always loved the way it shifted into gears. Very smooth and precise.

I drove my car from Pennsylvania to Florida with my husband, two of my children, and myself, along with all of our stuff, and we just set the cruise control and it was a great ride.

I do believe if you want space, though, this car would not be for you.

I consistently drive around 88 miles per hour on average, and the cruise comes in handy on long stretches of highways.

I've always been comfortable in the car myself because I'm only 5'1", so the car is great for shorter people. Everything is very near to you.

I would definitely recommend this car. It would be a great starter car, or a great 2nd car to do your running in!

In 86,000 miles, this car has been well worth the money, and I'm getting reading to upgrade to a Vue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

2001 Saturn SL 1.9L SOHC

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Great fuel economy, starts everytime

Faults:

Right rear tail-ight bulb blew at 28k miles. 2 dollar repair bill.

General Comments:

www.fueleconomy.gov rates the 2001 Saturn SL1 at 40 MPG on highway miles.

I've had this car for 8 months, and already put an astounding 20 thousand miles on it, and she still runs every time.

I even slapped a nitrous kit on my Saturn, and haven't had any problems either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

2001 Saturn SL SL2 1.9 Liter V16

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Liter V16 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

It handle like a dream and runs like a champ

Faults:

A factory defect was detected, but not documented with the rotors. The steel they used to manufacture the rotors was sensitive to hot and cold and had the tendency to warp. Especially when you pulled it in and out of the garage when it was -20 below zero outside. The break assembly wasn't covered under warranty, but the dealer still fixed with no cost to me.

General Comments:

This was my first new car. And the reliability, service, and how it handles on icy roads really sold me.

The only issue for me is that it's a little small for a born truck person. I bought a SUV, which are made quickly. I'm going to miss the trust and confidence that could be bestowed upon me with my best car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

10th Nov 2004, 14:02

You had better watch the oil consumption. It will sneak up on you and you'll loose your engine.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews