2008 smart fortwo - city coupe Passion Gas

Summary:

A fun little car and surpringly roomy

Faults:

Absolutely trouble free so far.

General Comments:

This little car has surprised me. I bought it to tow behind my RV, and have ended up using it for much of my daily driving.

It is quiet, economical and surprisingly roomy inside. My wife loves it, and my teenage son would never give it back to if I let him keep it. It handles well, is peppy to drive and burns very little fuel. Fit and finish is excellent; I have no complaints.

Wish they sold the diesel version in the US.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2014

2008 smart fortwo - city coupe Gasoline engine

Summary:

Lots of fun, and useful transportation too

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all.

General Comments:

I bought this car to tow behind my RV, because it is fairly light. It has come as quite a surprise to discover how well it drives. This is a great piece of engineering, and feels much bigger than it is. My wife keeps taking it, and says she loves it too.

This car is fun, surprisingly roomy inside and quite economical. I wish they sold the diesel version in the US. Mine gets about 42 miles per gallon, which isn't too bad.

By the way, it tows easily behind the RV too, I often forget it is back there!

The gearbox takes a little getting used to, but once you learn to feather the accelerator to shift, it is actually very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2012

2008 smart fortwo - city coupe Passion Cabriolet

Summary:

I love this car, and can't wait for the 4-door

Faults:

The car kept dying when I drove it off the lot. They discovered the radio was draining the battery. It's fixed, and there are no problems now.

General Comments:

This is a much under-appreciated automobile. I have read that it is slow, clunky to shift and dangerous on the highway. None of this is true. If you know how to work the tiptronic, this car drives incredibly smooth.

I drive this car 30kms to work every day on the highway, and I do it in the passing lane. It's very comfortable doing 120km/h, and can be pushed to 130 if needed. It's a very stable car, especially for the size.

I have the full package with leather heated seats, so comfort is pretty high. Not sure I would do a 6 hour road trip in this vehicle, but day-to-day commuting is perfect, and cheap.

I went from a 3-series Bimmer to this Smart. You have to swallow your ego a bit, but not too many people laugh when you pay $30 to fill up at the pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2011

2008 smart fortwo - city coupe Passion/Cabriolet

Summary:

Way too much effort to make it enjoyable

Faults:

I am a car dealer, I purchased the Smart at a dealer auction.

Pros: The vehicle really is terrific on the highway. You would think you were in a much larger vehicle!

Cons: It has an electronic clutch. It calls itself an automatic, but actually is a manual transmission without the clutch pedal. It is fun to drive at first, but after a few hundred miles, it is very bothersome. The car rocks back and forth when it shifts, regardless if you allow it to shift automatically, or if you use the paddle shifters.

If it were not for the transmission, I would have kept the car, but it was just too much of pain to drive on a regular basis. -Jim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2011

3rd Jan 2011, 17:35

I looked at a new Smart a couple of years ago. It impressed me as a very expensive golf cart.

2009 smart fortwo - city coupe Brabus 1.0 gas

Summary:

Fun, Fun, Fun

Faults:

Blew right rear tire at 1500 miles.

General Comments:

This is our youngest son's car, his first, and what he wanted to learn to drive.

This model is the Brabus edition. It is an upgraded Passion Coupe, with sport suspension, dashboard tach and clock, leather, paddle shifters, Brabus wheels, and tuned exhaust, along with Brabus markings.

The car comes in two colors, black with black Trident, silver with silver Trident. Interior is Black leather.

Let me state that I have owned several small engined cars, including a FIAT 850 Spider and a Datsun 710. One of the cars I learned to drive was a Renault Dauphine. I am well aware of the limitations of small engines.

For the size, the car is quite peppy. It takes about 1500 miles of driving to break in the engine and transmission. 0 to 60 times are not much different from a Volvo 240. Using the paddle shifters and shifting at 4000 rpm, along with the small size makes one think you are really going fast. Personally, I have had it up to 75 mph.

Interior space is adequate. As you cannot see the end of the hood, the car seems much larger than it is. Seats are firm but comfortable. While the car was meant to be a city vehicle, it is roomy and comfortable for day trips (after all, the dealer was 150 miles away). One accessory I wish it had was cruise control.

Mileage is good, but is hurt because of the hills here in NW Illinois and Dubuque, Iowa. There are about 6 smart fortwo's in the area. Everyone stares at the car either because they have never seen one, or because they are wondering what is doing so far from Chicago.

Now, the big question: Would I purchase one for myself. Probably not. Maybe a Mini or Fiat (if and when they actually become available). For now I will stick with my Chrysler 300C.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2010

16th Dec 2010, 12:07

I have had our Smart up to around 155KM per hour. It's a 2008, same motor, Passion trim though.

3rd May 2011, 13:50

Don't even try comparing a Smartfortwo with a Ford T-bird.