2005 Subaru Forester XT 2.5


Baited me and switched during ownership


Small fuel tank, lousy suspension (rolls a lot), skinny left door rest for arm, great performance but would not buy another, because it was enticing to spend money on it: with a face lift, suspension roll limit kit, bigger intercooler, and generally it cost too much to own.

General Comments:

Owned an '05 XT turbo. Great comfortable car to drive, but could not keep gasoline in it. It just drank fuel!

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails going straight, but cornering is nerve wracking.

However the cabin is very gloomy and the seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd August, 2012

2005 Subaru Forester 2.5X 2.5L gas


This car is unreliable


The transmission failed after only 35000 miles. The cost to replace the transmission is $4000. Failure occurred right after the guarantee ended. A transmission should last more than 5 years and 35000 miles

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable.

Looks good, even after 5 years.

Unreliable, should have lasted longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2011

13th Jun 2012, 22:50

Never had transmission issue. Kept it for a year before trading it. Why?

Side windows shaking at speed when half open.

Rear compartments rattling. Partly solved with foam and velcro.

Sluggish transmission and no low end torque.

Agricultural boxer engine.

Smooth on the interstate.

2005 Subaru Forester XS 2.5


Love it!


No problems, on third set of tires. Just wear and tear.

Timing belt at replaced @ 105k.

Just replaced suspension end links and bushings @ 116k.

General Comments:

2005 Forester with 119k now. I drive it almost 30k a year, regular wear and tear, but no problems to speak of.

Using Mobil 1 every 6k and get regular basic maintenance a-la carte per Subaru schedule. I just use a good, regular octane, brand name gas.

Great no-frills engineering, and just drive it without worry. Very happy with this generation of the model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2009

2005 Subaru Forester


Windows wobble at speed when open.

Harsh suspension and premature rattles on bad roads.

Scratch on phony aluminum dash panel.

Noisy and cheap engine sound.

Need full throttle for lane changes.

General Comments:

Hundreds of HP on the chart, but not available on the wheels.

Symmetrical AWD is a another word for 50-50 torque split. After research, it is based on a viscous coupling design available on a 1993 patented Jeep Quadratrac. Not to mention the Boxer engine based on a German design (also available in a Tucker).

Will last forever if you can suffer a loose chassis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2008

2005 Subaru Forester XS 2.5


I love it!


Nothing has ever gone wrong with this car. Everything functions on demand 100% reliably.

General Comments:

This car is reliable and cheap to maintain. The cloth interior is cool in hot weather, the cabin roomy and airy. Excellent seat warmers, heat, and air conditioning.

This is my second Subaru. And I will buy a third.

I had a 1984 Subaru Brat for 20 years and 270K miles and it had two Subaru problems. I was constantly replacing manual clutch -- seems to be a Subaru design fault. My new Forrester is an automatic and has not had similar failures. Also on the Brat, I replaced the emissions train constantly, including two catalytic converters (California).

Loved the Brat's on-demand 4WD and prefer it to AWD, because I want to decide when I need traction, rather than have the car decide.

Also, there's no such thing as replacing one tire on an AWD car, unless it's shaved down to match the others, and the tire and spare rotation is a pain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2008

2005 Subaru Forester XT 2.5


Good, but sensing a bad direction for Subaru USA


Rear wiper assembly coming apart. This is the third time.

Clock on dash does not work.

Both headlight bulbs went in May 2006 (car was assembled in July 2005).

Power door locks quit working.

Clips to use the rear center seat belt broke. Dealer won't fix, and my Forester only seats four.

General Comments:

The engine is good.

The car stalls when pulling out of the driveway or a parking spot.

The cabin has good materials, but the seats have horrid contours.

All-wheel-drive is acceptable.

Visibility is wonderful.

Gas mileage is poor, 14 US MPG in the city, 16 US MPG highway.

I didn't have these sorts of problems on my 1997 Legacy L Wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

15th May 2009, 08:24

What?? You stated multiple problems with this car and then you gave it a 10/10 for reliability? You also said you'd buy another car from this manufacturer. I would never buy two cars in a row from one company if I had one this bad.

17th May 2009, 09:13

Original reviewer here.

Headlights are regular maintenance, but I thought it was important to point out. I have not replaced them since. Everything was covered under warranty.

The engine, transmission, and drivetrain have had no problems, so that's why I gave it the rating I did.