1991 Toyota Corolla Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 6

1991 Toyota Corolla LS 1.5 gas

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.5 gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

It was my best and reliable friend for 21 years

Faults:

Fan heater switch stopped working.

Starter motor needed replacing after 10 years.

Exhaust system replacing frequently.

Didn't like our salty Canadian winter roads.

General Comments:

It sure doesn't owe me anything!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2012

1991 Toyota Corolla DX 1.6

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carVolvo GL

Summary:

The 1991 Corolla was a solidly reliable car that was also like a trusted friend

Faults:

Early on, I had a situation that occurred twice where a spark plug actually shot out of the engine while driving. On one occasion where this happened, it left a dent in the hood. However, I think this was due to the Autolite Platinum spark plugs I used. After I replaced these spark plugs, this situation didn't occur again.

General Comments:

This is a very basic car. It is not the sportiest or most eye catching car you will ever own.

However, the 1991 Corolla is (or was) very reliable, and easy to maintain.

Despite a weird spark plug situation early on, my 1991 Corolla was a very low maintenance vehicle that just felt like it could run forever.

When I traded it in early 1998, it was for reasons of vanity, and not due to any forseen potential major problems.

I actually felt guilty after I traded it in, I almost felt like it was a baby I gave up for adoption without just cause. I still miss my 91 Corolla, despite the fact I now own a 2003 Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

1991 Toyota Corolla 1.6

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired512 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

You can't beat 40 miles per gallon for the price!!!

Faults:

Engine blown at 169,000 due to poor maintenance.

Upper head gasket at 125,000.

Lower gasket at 125,000.

Alternator at 190,000 due to age.

Water pump at 220,000 due to age.

Seats are wearing badly, but nothing a seat cover doesn't resolve.

Seat adjustment lever for passenger seat stopped working after approx 10 years.

Still running strong after being sat on by a Cow Elk about 12 years ago. Headlights adjustments now done by hand due to the elk breaking the headlight adj frames.

General Comments:

Car is fairly slow to accelerate to 45, but once there, it handles well and responds well to the gas pedal.

Standard radio still works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2010

1991 Toyota Corolla LS 1.6

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

Best car ever

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Never let us down in 17 years!!

Ended its days as a reliable, economical commuter car before she was rear ended.

Best car ever made. Car was written off, but the husband lived, wish it was the other way around.

I loved that car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2009

1991 Toyota Corolla 1.6 DOHC

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance144442 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I love it, and miss it dearly

Faults:

The right wheel started to make a strange noise a few hundred miles ago. Problem was traced to a CV joint that never got fixed because the car got wrecked.

AC compressor went out around 130,000 miles, and was fixed for 500 dollars.

Glove box handle broke, but was easy to replace.

A stick shift with no tachometer still amazes me.

General Comments:

The car fits me like a glove.

Relatively long throws on transmission, good feel of where you are and what you're doing in the car. I'm 19 and still managed to get almost 30 mpg out of the car, with it fully loaded with people. Held up extremely well through the almost 30 thousand miles I put on it.

I plan on restoring it when I get the money, because this car has a lot of life left in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2008

1991 Toyota Corolla 1.6

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

The best car I will ever own

Faults:

Replaced cracked exhaust manifold (twice)

Replaced radiator (twice)

Rear struts replaced at 146000; all struts needed replacing by 180000.

A/C compressor quit working at 178000.

General Comments:

This base model Japanese sardine can came from the NUMMI factory after Toyota turned it around. In terms of construction and reliability, this is about as good as it gets. Most of the problems that I did not list were clearly caused by poor maintenance or lack of inspection.

The old lady is still going strong at 188K, though she does smoke a bit when cold. The shop's diagnosis was that it's old age and she'd go on for another 50000 without rebuilding the engine.

My Corolla has taken me through all sorts of hazards and weather, including several hurricanes and the odd blizzard, and has never let me down. Even doing 105 mph on a wet road did not faze this car. She maintains a superb grip on the road at all speeds and in all conditions. She starts at -1F as well as at she does at 105F.

Performance is much better than one would expect from a 1.6L engine. It doesn't have much zip when you take off but, by the time you hit 60, you migh as well be in a much more powerful car. Acceleration in fifth is magnificent for a small engine and lets you overtake fearlessly as the car goes from 70 to 90 in no time. The transmission is flawless even at her advanced age. I'm rather fond of the high clutch that gives more leeway for sloppy shifting than most cars do.

The interior is fairly cheap, consisting mostly of hard plastic. Still, it fits five in the city without protests, even from the taller ones, who got put in the middle. The paint job on the outside was not terribly good. The car was turning pink and peeling after more than a decade under the Florida sun.

Long after I give her up due to a growing family that needs more car space, I expect to be saying that this was the best car I ever owned. My next car was a Corolla, too, but in the end I gave that one up instead of the old '91 because this was, hands down, the better car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2008

31st Mar 2008, 07:59

Anybody who drives like " 105 mph on a wet road " in a car of such a slight build is likely to have a short driving career. Slow down man.

20th Apr 2008, 14:19

I was young and stupid (and the 105 mph is for me and you to know and the Arkansas Highway Patrol never to find out about). Now I'm old and responsible with kids and all that so I've given her up for a car with more features that isn't half as much fun to drive. I bought this car for $950 in 2004. Four years and 51000 miles later I sold her for $1200 even after explaining in detail everything that was or might possibly be wrong with the car. You can't beat a Corolla for resale value.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 26 reviews