1996 Toyota T100 SR-5 3.4 liter V6

Summary:

Super mid size truck, worth every penny

Faults:

Head gasket recall, got it fixed by a Toyota dealer, can't remember the year.

Hesitates when I accelerate, easy fix (changed spark plugs and wires).

General Comments:

Super reliable truck.

Very quiet for a truck.

Very comfortable and roomy.

The 3.4 liter V6 is very strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2011

30th Jul 2011, 20:45

I love when people refer to a certain pick-up as being an "SUV with the roof chopped off". What do you think an SUV actually is? It's a TRUCK WITH A ROOF on the back! What do you think a 2500 Suburban really is? It's just a 2500 Silverado with no bed and extra seats! So yeah, it's an SUV with the roof chopped off. Call it whatever you want, but "truck" sure is easier to say.

1995 Toyota T100 SR5 3.4L

Summary:

A stalwart truck hiding behind bland mid 90's styling

Faults:

Replaced stabilizer bar links at 225,000.

Replaced leaky fuel tank at 230,000km. There is a plastic skid plate beneath the tank that has a tendency of trapping silt and moisture, which will lead to rusting.

Aside from that, just routine maintenance.

General Comments:

This is the SR5 extended cab model. Bought the truck for skiing, hauling and towing. Seats 6, can haul a cubic yard of gravel (with aftermarket airbags), drops into 4Lo for moderate off-roading, what more could a guy want?

Gas mileage averages about 13L/100km with a best observed 11L/100km.

Interior is very solid feeling. I test drove an 08 Tundra for fun, but found the interior finish very sloppy in comparison. The Tundra has about twice the horsepower though!

The V6 offers 'acceptable' power. I frequently tow a 3000lb tent trailer through the mountainous interior of BC, and it handles it pretty good.

Excellent ground clearance lends well to some of the nastier decommissioned logging roads, but makes it a bit tougher for loading/unloading cargo (especially a motorcycle) from the truck bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2010

1996 Toyota T100 DLX 3.4 V6

Summary:

Sick as hell

Faults:

Seat rip on driver's side by the seam.

Spark plug shot out of the engine once.

My biggest issue has been the gas tank, and from what I've learned and heard, it is a very common problem, so before you buy T100; check the tank. I have looked at every scrap yard in New England, and nobody has one, and there are no aftermarket direct fit tanks (you would need to get universal one and fab something up). I used a sealer from KBS coatings and it's still working. We will see if it makes it through the winter.

General Comments:

I like the car; it looks awesome, is quiet, handles well, and although it's not the fastest, the gear ratios make it very usable.

If you're looking at one, check the tank and buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2010

1995 Toyota T100 SR5 3.4L V6

Summary:

Slightly underpowered, but still a sterling example of Toyota quality

Faults:

Early after purchasing the truck, I began to have rear brake problems. Truck would warp rear drums within 500 miles. Dealer replaced rear hubs and problem was solved.

General Comments:

This is my second Toyota truck in 25 years. I hated getting rid of the first one, a 1982 FWD. I still see it occasionally on the road. I love my 1995 Extended Cab T100 truck; paint, engine, performance nearly as good now as when new. I'll keep this one another 10 yrs or so or 300k miles. I might get tired of it by then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2008

1996 Toyota T100 Extra Cab 3.4L V6

Summary:

This will be my last truck purchased

Faults:

Absolutely nothing in the eleven years of ownership. Replaced battery once, tires once, front brakes pads once. Just the normal maintenance has been required.

General Comments:

It performs outstanding when hauling, towing and everyday transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2007

3rd Feb 2012, 15:10

This is additional info on my previous review.

It is now February 2012, and my T100 has 75,462 miles, and has been excellent. The only problem has been the paint on the roof and hood. The clear coat was looking very bad, so I took it to a body shop. The man said they could match and repaint the roof and hood, and nobody would be able to detect, so I agreed. He did a perfect job, and now I'm sure my truck will last another 75k miles and 16 years with no mechanical problems, just regular maintenance...

24th Jun 2014, 19:37

How much did the touch up run you? My T100 is pushing 320k miles and the clear coat is starting to fail in a few areas.

27th Mar 2015, 20:11

$600.00.