Triumph Spitfire Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 2

1979 Triumph Spitfire 1500 1.5 liter 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Fun, high-maintenance convertible

Faults:

The carburetor is not very good. It leaks and should be rebuilt or replaced if original.

The body is very prone to rust.

General Comments:

The is extremely fun to drive, like a glorified go-cart. It handles well, but very small inside and out. Only practical if you can work on them and you will work on them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

1st Jan 2009, 11:33

Spot on comments. It's fun, but if you don't do your own wrenching it would become a nightmare very fast.

I liked mine and enjoyed the challenge of keeping it up.

1970 Triumph Spitfire Mark 3 1.3

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44900 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles

Summary:

A fun little car for the weekends

Faults:

Carburetor rebuild

Ignition system rebuild

Faulty fuel pump

Faulty speedometer and tachometer cables

Faulty exhaust system

Ignition wiring fire

Leaky heater valve

Corroded battery box and battery cables

Faulty voltage regulator

Worn seats, carpet, convertible top, and weather stripping.

General Comments:

It's an old Spitfire, so naturally there are things that are wrong with it. There are still intermittent running problems that occur, but the rebuild of the Stromberg CD150 carburetor and the entire ignition system has gone a long way towards making the vehicle much more reliable. I trust it to get me to work a few days a week, but wouldn't want to drive it more than 50 miles from my house.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

13th Apr 2003, 21:53

All faulty items listed are wearable items that need to be replaced in time... No fault of the parts, just past their time.

23rd Jun 2004, 00:09

Just one thing... what's it cost? If I have to ask I can't afford it, right?

23rd Jun 2004, 06:47

You must be kidding... an old Spitfire is about the cheapest way to experience vintage British sports car (TR-7's don't count)

9th Jun 2007, 01:11

I had a 1968 Spitfire back in the late seventies and loved it.

It drove like a street legal go-cart and returned excellent gas mileage. These cars have a legendary tight turning circle, and the steering was light as a feather. It was more fun to drive than my '66 MGB.

The routine maintenance was easy because of the excellent access to the engine when the bonnet was opened. The only other car like that was the Jaguar XKE. In fact we used to call the Spitfire GT-6 the "Baby Jag".

4th Jun 2008, 16:21

I bought a 1970 spitfire brand new. It was a great little car.

Drove it every where. One year I put the top down and the tonneau cover on in early March, and didn't put the top back up until mid November. This was in Ohio, so it got a little chilly.

About 1987 I ran out of gas on my way to work at 2:00 am in the morning. Parked up on the side walk and walked the rest of the way to work. At 4:00 am the police called and said it was in the middle of the road upside down. Some losers thought it was funny to flip it and beat the crap out of it.

I would have kicked the crap out of them if I could have caught them. Loved that car.

1979 Triumph Spitfire 1500

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Great fun car to drive

Faults:

The master clutch cylinder broke.

The dash caught on fire twice.

The lights went off few times while I was driving at night.

General Comments:

Even though I had some problems with this car, I love it.

It's a very fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

1980 Triumph Spitfire 1.5

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

A kids go-kart with a licence plate. Whee!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Surprisingly reliable little machine! This one never learned it was supposed to break down constantly. Lot of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2000

1976 Triumph Spitfire 1500 1500

Year of manufacture1976
Engine and transmission 1500
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10

Faults:

Emissions equipment. Difficult to find new and used are expensive - yet required for state smog tests.

General Comments:

Fun car for cheap open top driving pleasure. Excellent engine bay access makes it an ideal enthusiast home mechanics car. Everything is right there in front of you. Interior looks nice but is a bit cramped for some. Most parts easily obtained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 1999

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews