2000 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews from North America - Page 87 of 87

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Huge improvement over the Jetta III

Faults:

The fancy remote key went bad 2 weeks after receiving the car. Dealer paid for towing and repair.

The most annoying thing is the fact that the front dealer plate was screwed straight through the bumper with self tapping screws. Now I am unable to remove my front plate as it looks ugly with two holes gouged in the bumper.

The front suspension developed an annoying squeak after 10,000 miles.

The rear right speaker face plate vibrates (loose).

The driver door creeks. On the last service, the dealer was not able to see to the above, but did reschedule another date.

General Comments:

Although I have had the above problems, they do seem to be minor, in general the car is a bargain at the price and the finish is up to German standards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

29th Apr 2001, 16:43

I live in Ontario, and have the same problems!!

The front door creeks because of bad locks, the rear tweeter rattles (Fixed 4 times), and the engine vibrates at 900-1100 RPM.

Now the paint is coming off the rim and the rear seat creeks.

This car is a real disappointment.

7th Jun 2001, 13:37

I have a 2000 Jetta GLS with every option but the VR6, and it is the best car you can get for that cheap.

I have not had any problems with the car at all. I don't know why those guys say the car rattles because I have a 5000 dollar stereo system that I installed, yet I have no rattles. I think that they are way too picky, go buy a Neon and see how many rattles that has!!!

2000 Volkswagen Jetta VR6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission VR6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance8700 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Please don't let me down anymore!

Faults:

Vacuum leak, rear window regulator failed, side view mirror switch went bad, CD changer replaced, looks like I'm going to have to take it in again for the other window regulator, it's going bad! To be continued.

General Comments:

I love the way this car drives and the way it looks, but the electrical problems are really a pain! If you buy this car you better get the extended warranty! If there were no problems at all I would love this car forever! It's luxury with a reasonable price no doubt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2000

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 TDI

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance3800 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A perfect blend of performance, style and sensibility

Faults:

Nothing yet, I've only had it for 2 months. I have heard the odd soft buzzing from somewhere in the dash - which comes and goes, but that's about it.

General Comments:

Awesome fuel economy, of course. Everyone knows that about the TDI. However, it has surprisingly good performance, especially on the highway where passing is a breeze. With leather seats and a stick shift (and barely any rear leg room), this car screams stylish sports sedan at the same time as being a well-mannered, smooth ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2600 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fast, slick, and solid

Faults:

In-dash CD player back-ordered and took 6 weeks to come in.

Rear left speaker rattled, so dealer replaced stereo and speaker under warranty.

Rear-opening sunroof rattles and makes noise when raising (defect?).

Heard that engine lights on the dash have a tendency to come on and the dealer must reset... begs the question of whether they are truly signaling a problem.

General Comments:

So far I've thoroughly enjoyed this car. It's my first new car purchase and I did a lot of homework beforehand. Heard a lot of pros and cons about this vehicle. It appears to be a very sturdy vehicle with a lot of safety options, and at the same time the V6 is incredibly fast and powerful. Hope it holds up over the years!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2000

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Fuel froze once in Winter, could be bad fuel, although I never had this problem in the 12 years I have been Volkswagen diesel.

General Comments:

Superb car, handling is almost perfect. A bit loose under heavy breaking in a curve at high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2000

2000 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 Turbo Diesel

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Turbo Diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing wrong with it yet, haven't had it long enough.

General Comments:

Awesome fuel mileage, still breaking the engine in and I'm getting 40+ driving hard. 100+ mph and flooring it at stop lights. Just a beautiful good car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 1999

10th Mar 2001, 13:22

At 100+ you must be up very high in RPMS, you won't get much more power after about 3800 RPM.

I know, the TDI needs the 5 speed auto transmission where it can shift to 5th gear at 80 mph, around 3000 rpm, and have it start out in 5th gear at 2000 rpm and on up from there.

30th May 2001, 18:12

I have a 2000 TDI automatic and have gotten it up to 120mph and the tach was no where near redline.

7th Aug 2001, 20:09

I have a 2000 Jetta TDi and find it to be a very decent car.

I have a volvo S40 also 2000 and could conclude that Jetta is made OK in comparison to that model of auto.

I recommend drive testing it before buying so you feel the car and test for the weaknesses as well.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 279 reviews