Volkswagen Quantum Reviews from North America

1985 Volkswagen Quantum 1.7 liter gas

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 liter gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Dasher

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Very little, actually. Most of my trips to the garage were for preventive maintenance.

The A/C compressor died around 140,000 miles.

The air intake had to be replaced.

The fuel pump relay died around 165,000 miles.

Most of the parts I replaced were hoses, belts, tyres; things that are subject to normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Great car. Very reliable. I owned it for 11 years.

Very comfortable to drive. I owned 3 VW Dashers prior to this car. Good cars, Dashers, but this one beats them.

It is a bit more expensive to repair, though. Probably the best, most dependable car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2008

1985 Volkswagen Quantum

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Summary:

In today's times with gas over $2 .

Faults:

The normal part replacement's of a car this old.

It needs a new paint job.

I did have to replace the heater core last year.

General Comments:

My point is my car is 20 years old.

It is cheap on gas.

I enjoy driving in it and riding in it.

It hasn't really left me sitting yet.

I am going to paint it and drive it for another twenty years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

1985 Volkswagen Quantum 4 cylinder

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

I thought when I purchased this car that I was getting a quality vehicle. It was until about two years later when it started to nickle and dime me to death. The heater core went out at around 70,000 miles. The cv boots were replaced three times. The drivers side wind shield wiper broke at 40,000 miles. The antenna broke at 80,000 miles. The tape player broke at 50,000 miles. The gas mileage was good, and the engine was tight. Other than that, it wasn't a good car. No more Volkswagons for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

28th May 2005, 00:12

And that's all that went wrong? All that stuff is typical for a car with the mileage you stated when those parts went wrong. Besides, how could you call it a bad car when it never left you stranded?

8th Nov 2008, 18:12

I drive a 1986 VW syncro quantum wagon, 4wd. I also am tired of fixing things... I had to put new windshield wipers on it last year! 233,000 miles never had any engine problems, replaced the trans at 205,000. This car is a winter wonder! From a red-light stop, I have stomped so many subaru's by locking in the differential, I can absolutely smoke them. Kinda fun!! It surprise's a lot of people at icy stoplights. I love this car!!!

1984 Volkswagen Quantum

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Previous carIHC Scout II

Summary:

A Ultra-reliable vehicle

Faults:

Temp sensor went out at around 45K...took about 10 minutes and 10 dollars at the local parts store to replace.

The motor for the slide-back sunroof broke... replacement was too expensive at the time (broke college student) so I simply used the manual hand crank inside the control box on the ceiling.

Was totaled by the side impact of a dump-truck that ran a stop-sign. (however I can't really fault the car for that... although the fact that I'm still alive speaks wonders for the saftey factor of the car)

General Comments:

Great car... fantastically reliable. Started first time, every time... even when the temp dropped to -17 F.

It was driven hard by a broke college kid (me) and didn't receive all the maintenance it should have and still it kept running perfectly.

If they still made these I'd most certainly buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

24th Jun 2004, 03:25

Volkswagen still does make the Quantum, they call it the Passat now. I doubt though that the new Passat is anything like the old Quantum.

28th Nov 2009, 17:53

I agree with the reliability... but forget about it when any Quantum gets over 100,000; nothing but problems.

1984 Volkswagen Quantum stationwagon turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance128674 miles

Summary:

Gets me from point A to point B and hasn't broken down on me - yet!

Faults:

All of the windows are powered, but the two rear ones don't go down anymore b/c the mechanics broke the wires in the doors..didn't feel like paying them to fix it.

Car in good condition for age.

Seats/material/interior excellent condition.

Great for driving in icy weather-manual.

Sounds like a tank b/c of diesel engine.

General Comments:

Good pick-up.

Good mileage-32/45.

Original paint job- still mint condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

4th Jan 2003, 14:48

That's a pretty rare car you got. Most Quantums are hard to find, the ones with a diesel engine are even scarcer. Does it have the 4WD?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews