Volkswagen Thing Reviews from North America

1973 Volkswagen Thing 181 1.6 Dual Kadrons

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Dual Kadrons Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance3564 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The strangest, but coolest car ever made!!!

Faults:

When I first bought this car it had been sitting outside for the last 7 years with no plates and no work done to it. Once I aquired the thing, I proceeded to paint the rims, put a new motor in, clean up all the grease everywhere and dump the transmission fluid. Also the person that owned the car previous to the last owners did some ghetto wiring to the car. That was fixed by me. Other than that, after I did all that was needed to get the car in running order I have had no problems.

General Comments:

The car handles great, and the ride is much more comfortable than my 59' Rag top. The seats are really comfortable, and it is really great driving a convertible on those hot California days. I get lots of looks and people asking me about it when I stop. This is the funnest and best car that I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

29th Dec 2004, 18:46

Sorry, but I seriously question someone who would give a VW Thing a 10/10 in comfort amd performance. Imagine a old VW Bug with no carpet, no soundproofing and no interior trim to speak of, and even slower acceleration due to the boxy body.

1/10 would be more like it!

And we won't even question how this character found a 28 year old vehicle with only 1000 miles on it!

25th Jan 2005, 18:00

In the movie, "Meet the Fockers", Bernie Focker drives a VW Thing, and while chasing Robert DeNiro's character, gets pulled over by a local power-mad cop, leading to one of the funniest scenes you will ever see!

16th May 2005, 12:07

The Thing is the funniest car to drive. everyone love the car and they love it even more when the doors and top comes off.

17th May 2005, 11:52

Especially when they come off at 60 mph!

23rd Aug 2006, 20:45

I will never sell my '73 Thing. It is by far the most enjoyable car I have ever owned. 10 / 10 +

6th Aug 2007, 15:34

Just bought a 74' "Thing". Love it except for the front seats. They aren't the original seats. Somebody put in "Beetle" sets replacing the original ones. Now my legs are right up under the steering wheel. Makes it hard to drive. Need original "Thing" seats.

25th Aug 2007, 16:20

Seat Seeker: check out The Thing Shop in Arizona. They sell Thing seats. If anyone wants to sell a type 181, post a comment, I am in the market. This car is way cooler than a beetle! I want a modern day Thing, what car developer is going to step to the plate?!

1st Oct 2007, 01:48

I had a Thing for years. J.C.Whitney make moulded plastic bucket seats with padded inserts. Excellent modification for a vehicle that sits outside a lot.

Check local regs before folding the windshield and removing the doors. I had a town cop quote me all reasons why this was dangerous.

1st Jan 2009, 11:39

I had a 74 that came to my house in a thousand pieces on a flatbed truck. I built the car from the ground up and it was beautiful. It's one of the most interesting cars ever built and really turns heads. Cheaper than dirt to maintain if you do your own wrenching.

1973 Volkswagen Thing Type 181 1.6

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

An attention grabber!

Faults:

I have only had problems with this car, as all Volkswagens from that time period had including:

A snapped accelerator cable.

Rubber brake lines needing replacement.

Engine leaking oil from the engines.

Rear main seal.

Those are all easily and cheaply repairable!!

General Comments:

In all, the Volkswagen Thing is a very fun car to drive in the warmer months of the year. Just remove the doors, fold back the vinyl convertible top and hit the road!!

The gasoline burning heater does help in the colder months, but the heat is quickly lost once driving.

The car handles surprising well and is fun to take off-roading.

Driving this car, one will attract a lot of attention!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 2 reviews