1981 Volvo 245 Reviews from North America

1981 Volvo 245 DL 2.1 Gas

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.1 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired214000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliable, slow, ugly, noisy vehicle

Faults:

Sucked in a valve seat, and needed to have the head machined, at about 700 bucks, when all was said and done. Rear main seal went bad, I mean, real bad, it was dumping oil out as soon as I poured it in. That was another 700 or so. Needs brakes, and front rotors right now. Tail gate wiring is toast, I think water leaked in. The seal between the exhaust manifold and downpipe is shot, so it's really noisy. I keep trying to kill this thing, so I can justify getting a new vehicle, but it's stubborn, and won't die.

General Comments:

Slow, noisy, old, ugly, smelly, cumbersome. Reliable, boxy, safe, oh, and slow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

8th Apr 2004, 22:02

Funny, I am not one to really take care of my cars, thus I can truly predict its life expectancy. My '82 Volvo DL I cannot predict. It has taken some serious punishment and it still seems to 'tick' as if it were saying, "is that all you got"? THIS - CAR - WILL - NOT - DIE!!! I have to agree with the statements: slow, ugly, smells, slow etc. AND, yes, I know its greatness is overshadowed by its monstrous looks, its toxic smell, and its 'pedestrian like' speed but you know you have to give it up for its reliability. THIS - CAR - WILL - NOT - DIE!!! I guess with all the "BAD (s)," the "GOOD" is pretty good. Just think of it like the movie "SHREK" although it's ugly, gross, and stubborn, it has a good heart.

28th Oct 2004, 09:10

I have an 82 244 diesel wagon, and I have to agree with the above comment, these things just won't die. My wagon has over 400k on it (odemeter stopped working four years ago) the engine was only rebuilt once, tranny and clutch were replaced at 300k. The car is still my daily driver. It always runs poorly, but it always runs. I can't kill it.

15th Jun 2005, 16:52

I was the original poster. I am sad to report that this beloved Volvo wagon threw a rod on the freeway, and is no more. Since I posted, I've gone through an 88 corolla, that got totaled in front of my house, a 91 SAAB 9000CD, which was a piece of crap, and now I have a 2002 F-150. I miss my old wagon.

8th Jul 2006, 02:25

PS - Just to clarify, I went for the $2 extender and it works great. I just carry an extra spark plug or two to replace the old one from time to time. It was a lot cheaper than an engine overhaul.

9th Jul 2006, 23:20

I have a 1982 244DL with a petrol carburettor engine. It has done almost 400,000km and is still going strong. The body and interior are in good condition, and it always starts and runs really well. This car is by no means a sports car, but what it is, is a well built reliable car.

21st Sep 2009, 12:35

My 81' Volvo wagon is totally dorktastic. I love being tailgated constantly because of my cars pedestrian like speed. One of these days some rich person is going to hit me and I'm going to buy another old Volvo. It's very roomy and safe. Works for me!

1981 Volvo 245 DL 2.1 Gas

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.1 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Slow, noisy, and very reliable

Faults:

Did the brakes

It ate a valve seat a few months ago, had the head machined, and all was well.

General Comments:

Very reliable. Pretty thirsty though. I drive the heck out of it, and it keeps going. It just won't die. It has a massive exhaust leak right now, that I need to fix, so it sounds like a fishing trawler. But other than that, I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews