2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8

Summary:

Avoid socialism

Faults:

Name it.

The highlights:

Bizarre electrical insanity. Eats batteries now. You cannot let it sit without running the car for thirty minutes every couple of days. It is designed to fail with great debt paid by the owner.

Volvo was a Ford owned brand, supposedly assembled in Sweden by Volvo with Volvo, Ford, GM, and Bosch etcetera parts, including an entirely unreliable GM transmission that's been swapped out twice.

General Comments:

It's a polished turd or lemon; as you like it. The wife insisted she should have it. In typical female fashion, wifey refers to it as she. I refer to it as the hangar queen. Those in the aviation business know what I mean. I am amused that I can search the Interweb for solutions to this pig's problems with some success.

The best part of the fairy tale is that the thing will not rust, period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2015

19th May 2015, 16:20

Shame it was unreliable, as you could've had it remapped/chipped being a T6 up to about 315 HP and say 330lb ft torque easily, and as long as the auto box didn't shred to pieces with the torque, it would've been a right sleeper.

That's got me thinking for a bit of fun... ha ha!! Looking on Autotrader, there's one for sale 109 miles from me on a 02 52 reg with 132k miles on the clock that looks clean for £1195!!

24th May 2015, 03:34

They could have done a much better job, but hey it's quittin' time, so...

25th May 2015, 15:07

Interesting that you'd rather own a car where no one can work out how to fix its faults, rather than owning one where they can - I'd much rather own a car I can fix cheaply!

2000 Volvo S80 2.9L

Summary:

Beautiful JUNK

Faults:

ABS module failure.

Water pump, t-stat replaced.

All belts replaced.

Front struts replaced.

Passenger side ABS wheel sensor replaced.

Front lower ball joints replaced.

Rear sway links replaced.

Passenger side wheel and bearing assembly replaced.

Reset CAN bus system several times.

Door lock system faulty (still needs repair).

Complete transmission failure (numerous attempts to properly fix).

Ongoing engine surge problem when stepping on the gas.

Front brakes, calipers and rotors replaced.

The latest is a PO 335 code (crankshaft position sensor failure).

PO 300 random multiple cylinder misfire detected.

General Comments:

I have owned several Volvos in the past. I always had exceptional luck and always a very positive experience. As a result I didn't investigate the kind of experience others were having with this year and model.

I later read of numerous problems and have experienced many of them myself.

After purchase, I read of endless problems in numerous blogs. One in particular stands and should be heeded: Don't purchase!! "run away"

I have to say that after owning many, many used cars over the years, this car has been the absolute worst of all. The only other that was even close was a Saab 900 (complete engine failure).

NO MORE VOLVO FOR ME!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2015

20th Apr 2015, 13:38

Just buy a newer model S80 or other model Volvo. From 2006 they are all usually very reliable

2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8 twin turbo

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

The only problem I have had with this car, is my links (rear and front) have to be replaced often, but at $30 apiece, I don't mind.

My seat tore last week, but that only cost $100.00 to repair.

General Comments:

I love my Volvos, because they ride really nice and are very quick.

We own three Volvos with over 300,000kms, and all work great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2012

2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8 turbo

Summary:

Great car, very comfortable, expensive to repair

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 200,000 Km, Volvo dealer wanted $3000 to fix plus parts. I fixed it at a standard garage for $1500 with parts.

Links changed at 220,000.

Engine light always on, I ignored it after a while.

Drivers and passenger side window gets stuck or slow to go up.

The gas fill door broke off.

General Comments:

I loved this car, it's got the most comfortable seats ever.

It's a little expensive to repair when things go wrong.

The handling is okay.

I love the power, lots of nice toys, the stereo system is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2010