2007 Volvo S80 AWD V8


Everything I wanted out of a Dad car!


Needed a new battery; granted the battery that was in it was a Volvo battery from 2009.

General Comments:

The car was built in November of 2006, and made it to U.S. shores from Sweden on 12/12/2006. Sold to its first owner on 2/23/2007. I am the second owner.

The car has been great so far. I have put about 5K miles on it; picked it up with a hair over 90K miles. Decided on the S80 V8 after researching a reliable and safe car that was still going to be somewhat fun to drive. My S80 V8 has all options except Nav and Dynaudio, so I cannot comment on those. The 4C adaptive suspension and safety features like frontal collision and BLIS work great, especially for a car made in 2007. The tech is just as good as my wife's 2013 Subaru Outback Eyesight system. And the adaptive cruise is also excellent.

Don't ask me about mileage. I put in premium and I drive it in a spirited manner. I have fun :)

Not one issue yet. I'm sure spark plugs will be the next coming service, but I still have 20-30K miles before I do those. I was pleasantly surprised by the S80 and plan to keep it for at least 5 years. If anything goes wrong I will update this review.

Find a good one, and keep it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2016

16th Mar 2016, 23:35

Don't worry my friend, as most Volvos go you'll be wishing you bought something else as the electrical systems and suspension take a nosedive as the car ages.

On a positive note that Yamaha built V8 will be singing beautifully while the rest of the car falls apart around it.

Good review.

2007 Volvo S80 3.2


Goodbye my love, goodbye!



General Comments:

Today was a sad day for me, as I had to part with my trusty S80.

It had served us excellent during 3 years of our leasing contract, and although I was eager to buy it at the end of this period, my wife insisted we must have an SUV!

So we finally did it, and the good point is we picked a brand new XC60 from the same dealer today.

Long live Volvo, and long live our new car :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2010

2007 Volvo S80 3.2 3.2 Liter


My S80 has 1300 miles and won't start!


The car refused to start at 1300 miles and after two weeks and countless phone calls, the dealership simply said: "It's too new. We don't know why it won't start and hope that Volvo engineers can tell us." Nice to know that Volvo trains it's service technicians... Although a great-riding car, I would NEVER purchase another. The sticker was more than $40,000 and the car is not reliable.

However... the 2006 Toyota Camry rental that I'm driving seems to work just fine.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage overall, nice handling, outstanding luxury without being in-your-face. Really, a nice car when it used to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

14th Aug 2007, 06:20

As with ANY newly released car (including Toyota), teething problems can occur, and until the fault surfaces, a definite remedy may not be there.

The good thing is that Volvo is working on it and being HONEST. I have worked in a car dealership and CARS BREAK (!). Personally, I think that you have judged this car too early, as it may be something very simple to fix and go on to give you thousands of pleasing miles. Plus, I think the S80 has the best cabin ever!!!

24th Aug 2007, 11:57

I've been driving Volvos for more than ten years. In the past, I've owned the 1995 850, a 1999 S80, a 2002 S60 and I purchased the new 2007 S80 yesterday. This car is fantastic. It is by far the greatest Volvo I've ever owned.

19th Nov 2007, 21:58

Wow, I hope they get your new S80 running again! I think the new S80s are beautiful cars and I hope they will be better than the first S80. Best of luck to you!

29th Oct 2008, 13:23

The new S80 IS far better than its predecessor was in its first year model. Sorry you're having trouble, but it's highly unusual.

9th Feb 2009, 19:51

I work in a Volvo dealer; you probably know this by now, but your key needs to be programmed. The new S80 now (2/9/08) has an excellent track record. Good luck with your vehicle.

2nd Sep 2015, 22:00

Exactly what happened to me... within the first 1300 miles...