1999 Volvo V40 Reviews from North America

1999 Volvo V40

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Faults:

Anyone have a miss issue that cannot be diagnosed or fixed?

General Comments:

Funny, I found this board again after seven years and was reading away on someone's entry. Wow, that sounds just like my car!!! Lo and behold, it was my entry from 2001.

I still own my 2000 Volvo V40. It's been paid for, for many years.

Volvo had a recall and installed some type of pump, which resulted in brakes not having to be replaced every 15,000 miles or so. Last time my mechanic changed the brakes, he stated the rotors really required replacing too, but we eeked out another set of pads without replacing them.

My struts have been fully replaced.

About 3 years ago, the check engine light came on. Took it to a Volvo dealership and they said it was the valves and wanted to do complete engine/valve job $2,000+. Husband drove it out of there for a 2nd opinion. Needless to say, it's 3 years later and we never have replaced the valves.

Last year something broke on the exhaust/converter that was a Volvo only part, no longer under warranty. My mechanic would have been able to get a part from somewhere in CA for $637.36. Merlin wanted about $1,000 to replace it. Another mechanic shop just did a weld and, knock on wood, so far it's held up.

Both of my rear springs are broken. I haven't fixed them, mechanic said not necessary.

But, the thing that is really bothersome. All of a sudden my car got extremely loud and began running rough. Mechanic was able to fix it, the noise component of things, but for over a year now, I have dealt with the miss on start-up, some days worse than others. The car never shuts off, just misses a bit on idle, never on acceleration or during driving. This morning, the check engine went back on, but car appears to be running okay. Will take back to mechanic and I'm certain he'll tell me I need to have a brake job and those back springs are still broken and need replacing. All in all, paying $1,200 a year for maintenance is better than a new car payment.

Would I buy a Volvo ever again, no way!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2008

4th Jan 2008, 11:55

By the sounds of it, all these bodge jobs are taking their toll on the car. The car has obviously has had a hard life. I am now on my second V40 and continue to be impressed with how well built and engineered it is! My last one - 1998 had well over 100,000 miles and never gave grief. My current 2001 has almost 90,000 miles and is running great! Go Volvo - I will not drive anything else.

15th Aug 2009, 15:39

My wife has a 2000 V40. We've had it for 4 or 5 years now and it has roughly 95K.

It's been a turd right from the beginning. Incredibly loud car. Road noise like you can't believe.

Motor mounts failed, which of course made even more noise. Replaced them only to have them fail again.

Front sway bar bushing failed. Entire engine cradle has to be dropped to replace a simple bushing.

Started running rough shortly after she got it. Dealer installed new fuel pump.. worked for a brief time. Back to serious miss on acceleration. The wife drives it gingerly and she doesn't notice the miss too much.

A/C system has developed a leak.

Turbo started spewing oil out of a return line.

Brakes, just like an S70 that I used to own, must be replaced far too often. Was told by dealer on my S70 that the factory pads are quite hard and cause excessive rotor wear.

About the only good thing I can say about it, is with all of its problems, it's paid for and it continues to run, and we'll drive it right into the ground and then purchase anything other than a Volvo.

1999 Volvo V40 1.9

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19999 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Leave it on the lot!

Faults:

Oil gasket leaking at 50,000.

Thermostat for climate control not working at 54,000.

Engine coolant sensor not working at 54,000.

Front brakes replaced every 20,000 miles. I'm on my second replacement set.

Front rotors gone at 54,000.

Rear brakes replaced last November and already 1/2 finished.

General Comments:

I am frustrated with this model of Volvo. I traded a Villager with 80,000 for a smaller, runaround town car and find the performance of the Volvo unsatisfactory. While most of the repairs were covered under either the new car warranty or the used car warranty, I have already spent over $1500.00 in repairs. I hate to think about what the future will bring.

Specifically, I find the replacement of brakes so often unacceptable. Of course, they look to the driving habit and the driver. These have not changed and on no car I've owed have I gone through brakes like this particular car does. In the 6 years I owned my Villager I replaced brakes twice.

Now the rotors! I've never replaced rotors on any vehicle. I also own a Ford Explorer with 84,000 miles and the rotors have never needed replacements.

I've tried to talk with the dealership about my concerns. They really don't want to hear it. I have, however, been told told by the service rep that I should have purchased the S60 or S80 because the brake system is different. Not sure how much to believe this, but I can infer lots of negative things from his comment.

Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2004

14th Dec 2004, 12:26

I have owned two V40s, both from new. Both were the most reliable cars I've ever owned. The first was ordered as 'silver', but on delivery was a disappointing muddy silver. It had leather seats which I slid about on, but which were otherwise very comfortable and supporting. After a couple of years I changed it to a bright red V40 with a smaller engine that often isn't quite powerful enough, but what do you expect from a mere 1600ccs? I have now owned this car longer than any previously and in four years it had developed only one fault, that eventually cured itself. It has been incredibly reliable and now fits like a well worn pair of shoes, but it is evident that we drive lower mileages in UK than in North America- hardly surprising in view of the differing areas! Front tyres( English spelling) do about 24000 miles. I've always liked the look of this car and the only grumble is something I knew about before I bought it- the high sill to the boot. Otherwise I love it.

25th May 2010, 17:32

Mine is a 1999 V40, in Jamaica, still has on the factory tires. Only problem it had was the accessories belt pulley seized. Still running on original brakes, timing belts, spare tire dry rotted, and the rear hatch struts stopped working 6 months ago.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 2 reviews