2001 Volvo V40 Reviews from North America

2001 Volvo V40 1.9T

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9T Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Turbo seal needed to be replaced, but it was only $100. No other problems.

General Comments:

This is an amazing small powerful car. Very fuel efficient, reliable, great in the city and fast off the line thanks to the turbo.

I put winter tires on it, and drive in a cold snowy Canada with unbelievable traction. I have traveled the snowy mountain highway at over 150 km/h, and have crossed in major snow storms just before they had to close it because all the SUVs were skidding off. :)

If you are considering buying one, you will not be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2009

2001 Volvo V40 SE 1.9T

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I'd buy another one in a minute

Faults:

It's a red vehicle and the paint is a problem, as it looks oxidized a week after a wax; I just don't do it anymore.

General Comments:

I have driven this car 300 mile s a week for a year and a half. 34,000 miles and aside from oil changes, tire rotations a set of headlight bulbs and some performance mods, all I've had to do is a rear brake change. The paint on mine is red and yes, it looks very oxidized and had this happened after a year or two if I had been a new buyer, I'd complain, but I knew the paint issue going in. This has been a very reliable, problem-free, fun-to-drive vehicle. A sport exhaust, K&N filter, gas shocks and a fat anti-sway bar have made this car a great cruiser and fun to play with the beemers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2008

2001 Volvo V40 1.9T 1.9Turbo

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9Turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61400 miles
Most recent distance62120 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

We really like this car!

Faults:

Car has had no problems.

General Comments:

I bought this car for my wife on Aug 1st 2005 and she loves it! It is like new and has been well maintained with 62,000+miles on it now. It has loads of power and still gets 33mpg on highway! The mpg is almost as good as my Honda Civic. I will add more after we have had car longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2005

31st Dec 2006, 16:34

I thought that the V40 line was discontinued in 2004.

2001 Volvo V40 T 1.9 turbo

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance124000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong wih the car, other than my totaling it in an intersection last week.

General Comments:

I am compelled to inform others as to how this car performed in an accident. I "T" boned a Hyundai in an intersection. The V40 absorbed the impact beautifully and the only injury suffered by me is a sore foot (my braking foot). The young Hyundai driver is OK too, though wiser.

Unfortunatley, the V40 is a right off. $23 thousand (Canadian) in damages.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2004

2001 Volvo V40

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance46660 miles

Summary:

Something is wrong with the model design

Faults:

Several things have gone wrong in the 15 months I've owned this car:

The gear shift had to be replaced because it got stuck in gear.

Then a radiator cap had to be replaced.

Then they said that the battery was old (3 months after I bought it).

Then the car wouldn't start and they said that the ignition didn't recognize my car (the immobilizer?)

As we speak, the car is in the shop because the battery is dead, the one that is only a year old (the warning light never came on).

The week before that, the tail lights went out.

General Comments:

The car runs well and is easy to handle when it runs well, but 6 trips to the shop in 15 months is very frustrating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2004

5th Dec 2004, 15:52

I purchased a second hand V40 six months ago. 28,000 miles on the clock. It has been back to the dealer garage at least eight times. Currently waiting to go in again. Unsafe to drive as clutch not working and virtually impossible to get into gear. Slave cylinder renewed only five days ago!

2001 Volvo V40 T turbo

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Absolutely wonderful!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

After owning 2 great used Volvo 240's I though I would treat myself to a new American car. What a mistake. You cannot compare the quality of a used Volvo with a new American car.

I have now returned to Volvo with my used V40. What a dream! It is very reliable and a pleasure to drive. The seats are comfortable, the cabin is roomy. It is perfect for a couple with a small family.

The car handles the snow like it has all wheel drive. It is also a great looking car and looks new, even after 3 years.

The dealer experience was also positive. I realize that generally each car dealer stands on their own separate of the manufacturer, but I can't help, but think that Volvo is much more involved than other dealers in setting the 'tone' on the sales floor. The Volvo salespersons are salaried as opposed to commissioned. My wife commented that it was nice to NOT feel like hens among the foxes in a showroom. For example, do you hate it when the car salesman takes your offer to the elusive business manager for secret chat? At the Volvo dealer, I actually was party to this conversation. I was treated like an intelligent human being. What can't other dealers do this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

2001 Volvo V40

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance15550 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A trusted start when entering the express way or having to pass.

A quailty ride on short or long trips.

Required oil change set at every 7500 miles and 1st service not reqired until 65000 miles. (so I was told)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2001 Volvo V40

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Safety, performance, comfort all wrapped up into one!

Faults:

Has needed new brakes twice since we purchased it used 18 months ago. I suspect it needed new brakes when we bought it used from a Volvo dealer, but oh well.

Air conditioning leaked into passenger side front seat, but it went away by itself.

Nothing else!

General Comments:

Best value on the road! What more could you want: safety, performance, comfort, carrying capacity, and that great Volvo look!

We bought the Volvo because we wanted something REALLY safe. You don't get any better than this: head airbags, side airbags, front airbags, whiplash protection system, and more. Nobody does safety better than Volvo.

The V40 was our choice because we needed some carrying capacity, but didn't want to pay for a V70. A V40 is 91% of the length of a V70 but only 65% of the price!

The ride is great --- wonderful pick-up, really comfy seats, very stable and heavy feeling.

My only complaint is the interior is a bit cramped feeling (plus we have the sunroof which eats up some space).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2002

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews