2003 Suzuki Cultus Reviews from Pakistan

2003 Suzuki Cultus VXR 1.0

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Mehran

Summary:

Good affordable car

Faults:

Since I bought it, I faced braking problems.

Its seats are a little uncomfortable, and the engine sounds really bad, unlike in the EFI version.

General Comments:

After 5 years of use, its speed average is fine.

The interior is stylish and it looks good; quite luxurious and easily maintainable.

Air conditioning is fine too.

It's a nice car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2008

12th May 2012, 14:51

I have Cultus VXL2004 in excellent condition. Haven't visited mechanic in last two years for repairs except for general maintenance, but I have also faced the same braking issue. I sometimes feel that the brakes don't grip the wheel. I have driven almost 3 Cultus of similar models, and 3 Suzuki Margalla 95 to 97 models, and have noticed similar brake jamming issues in all of them. This happens very rarely, but it does happen.

2003 Suzuki Cultus VXR 1.0

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Khyber

Summary:

Good car, but should be checked before selling to customers

Faults:

Seats make a squeaking sound from the day I bought the car.

The door locks do not work.

Plastic clips on the carpets and interior have started to come out.

General Comments:

A good car, but the seats and side covers of the doors are of low quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

11th Sep 2006, 07:39

Hi.

First time on this site & I am reading these reviews with interest. Its been a while since I have been in Pakistan, but I travel a lot & I can't believe that people posting these messages have no understanding of mechanics.

Suzuki is a cheap car with a small engine (low BHP & torque) so what do you expect?

I have spent a few minutes looking at the engine specs & they are still using 1970s (or early 80's) straight aspirated engines!

If you wants to switch to LPG (or CNG in Pakistan) then use multi-point injection systems, but it appears to me that most kits in Pakistan are single-point and some of these cars are 8 valve rather then 16 valve (significant reduction in compression ratios)

I can't beleive that people in Pakistan have so much money to dish out for old & outdated/engineering...I have visited other third world countries which are poorer then Pakistan, but even they don't expect the performance of a Ferrari from a 1.0 Ltr 8 vavle single-point straight aspired engine!

In the West Suzuki is a "CHEAP" below-average car & that's where it belongs. I will end the note with a saying in English, "You pay peanuts: You get Monkeys"

I am not trying to offend anyone just trying to set the expectations straight.

Thanks.

10th Apr 2008, 15:54

Wow, blaming the victim. Haha. I visited the showroom and without sitting in noticed the following.

1- Fuel cap lid not straight to body line

2- Rear door rubbers curled up and forced out

3- Rear hatch had to be banged hard to close

4- Limited open angle of rear door

5- No luggage area due to CNG

6- Try turning the car at 60Km/h the tires squeal like crazy

7- What about a long ride, better take along something for the back pain haha

8- Rude sales people

9- Only 1 year warranty, and from other comments it appears that nothing is covered under it.

Thanks we can live without the Cultus. I am happy with my 22 year old car, still more comfortable than it. By the way I am happy that my people demand quality, and not afraid to ask for it.

2003 Suzuki Cultus VXR 1.0 Carberator petrol

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Carberator petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62 kilometres
Most recent distance6400 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi 3000GT

Summary:

A decent second car

Faults:

The window handle came off many times.

Lots of loose screws that had to be tightened.

General Comments:

Overall this car is nice. After you buy it, you should definitely change the tires immediately as the ones that come from factory are dangerous, thin, and give poor braking. I suggest wider tires which give you better handling and braking power. Otherwise nice good car for inner city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

19th Nov 2005, 06:40

Car is a decent looking and needs some strict Quality Control, to keep the standards high, complaints about door and windows levers are genuine this must be improved.

7th Apr 2006, 07:31

It's a nice looking car, but there are some majer problems like uncomfortable noise, fuel inefficeincy

2003 Suzuki Cultus VXR 1.0

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carHonda City

Summary:

Good intra-city use car

Faults:

The 1.0 liter carburetor engine has started to produce unwanted noise.

A/C compressor bearing belt had to be replaced at 25000.

The doors produce a lot of noise, like that of metal-to-metal contact.

General Comments:

The factory fitted C.N.G ensures a safe environment along with low cost fuel.

The interior is nice and in rhythm with one other i.e. the glove box, mug holder, steering wheel, speedometer etc.

Offers a color changing speedometer, which is white in sunlight and black in the night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

11th Jan 2004, 10:36

No it's a quite good Car with fuel economy and I never heard any wrong noise from this car since I bought it three years ago.

I would recommend this car against santro, alto, cuore and kia.

19th Apr 2004, 02:44

I agree, not a bad car over all, but being assembled in pakistan, its not 100% perfect. The doors make some metal to metal noise on bumps.

10th Jul 2004, 12:49

Generally the car is OK, however poor quality control with forced deletion plan when local vendors are not able to provide items with correct specifications is probably pushing this car down against cars which are still low on their deletion plans. Specially the items of rubber and plastic are far cry from any thing 'satisfactory'. Interestingly these are not covered under warranty too.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 4 reviews