Suzuki Khyber Reviews from Pakistan

1996 Suzuki Khyber GA 1.0 petrol

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance112510 kilometres

Summary:

Superb in its class

Faults:

Some dings in the body.

I have found engine going weak when using CNG rather petrol (but mine is on petrol)

Got my car's engine overhauled recently, but for the first time since on road (112100 km)

General Comments:

Worth keeping if maintained properly and driven nicely.

Nice acceleration and handling.

Smooth and easy to drive, though it does not have power stearing.

Economical, 11~13km/l within city, and 15~17 on long route.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

1999 Suzuki Khyber GA 1.0 Carburator petrol

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Carburator petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance119323 kilometres
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Do buy such a great car

Faults:

Its carburetor choked at 65000 Km

There is no more such a great fault which may be mentioned here.

General Comments:

This car is just the replacement of your money.

Its air conditioning system is very good.

It normally gives 16 Km / Liter without A/C and 14 Km / Liter with A/C.

It is a comfortable car for four persons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

14th Dec 2006, 04:01

Tell me how to improve its consumption.

9th Sep 2008, 19:55

I have Suzuki Khyber 1991 model. Running very good, but some problems with its wiring. I tried to get its wiring diagram, but couldn't find a copy.

26th Apr 2009, 00:17

I have Suzuki-Khyber-1991. I purchased it for Rs: 1,91000/- as new Zero-Meter in 1991. It is still running good. I had a number of problems during the time.

Its dipper switch points have gone carbonated.

Its clutch plate was changed for it was not working properly.

Its water coolant mixed with engine oil due to some internal leakage problem.

Its engine was overhauled due to this problem.

Its generator went out of working and was replaced with 'Kabli' from Bilal Ganj.

Lot of wiring problems, but no wiring diagram is available. After sale service is not good in Pakistan.

Its body is not made of good material, so lot of body repairing during the time.

Its front wheel universal joints were changed.

Overall, I like this car and try to maintain it.

25th Feb 2010, 10:24

I have a Khyber 1995 model. I bought it for 2.75 lakhs. It's a competent car, excellent engine, great pickup, it covers 0-100 km/h in 5.2 seconds. I had took this car to 195km/h, and there was not much sound, and I think that this is included in my top ten cars.

Very good consumption of petrol and good ac. I have beat Corolla Indus 1.8 GLi by many times by this car.

2nd Jun 2010, 07:46

I have Suzuki Khyber 1997; it's great, I like it very much, but my A/C is not quite good. The air throw is good but not much of a cooling :( I recently checked for any leakages, but nothing helps. Can anyone help me please?

6th Jul 2013, 08:34

Go to an A/C workshop, and if he knows how to deal with it, then tell him to clean your blower box. When you ask him to do so, he will duck down to your dashboard and open two boxes, which are very important to be cleaned. I have had done it recently, and it was like a plastic bag full of dry leaves in there. The problem you are having is related to this, assuming the R134a gas has been refilled and all pipes are good with no leakage.

Average review marks: 9.6 / 10, based on 2 reviews