FSO Polonez Reviews from Poland

1992 FSO Polonez Caro 1.6 GLE

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 GLE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carFSO Warszawa

Summary:

Cooool

Faults:

Well... once when I was doing 180 km/h something went wrong with propeller shaft. But it was my fault. I should put more attention for that part before that.

General Comments:

Polonez is really something nice. Car with spirit, history and potential :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2007

1989 FSO Polonez GLE 1.5

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance426000 kilometres

Summary:

This not a bad car. I like it because is comfortable

General Comments:

Good brakes (4 disk), but problematic with the hand-brake.

Body corrosion!!

Inside it's very comfortable, not bad materials.

Acceleration is poor, but when you drive it, you can do it all day. This car likes long journeys.

It's slowly, very slowly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

1997 FSO Polonez 1.6 GLi 1.6i with LPG

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i with LPG Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 126

Summary:

Nice car for young people

Faults:

There were no problems with this car except regular (every 15000km) electricity generator troubles.

General Comments:

This car is cheap. In Poland you can get it for about 5000-7000 z³ (about 1200-1700USD). Of course you can get cheaper ones, but... believe me they are scrap. Generally it's slow (max 140km/h) but it rides, I have never stopped on the road because of some damage. The running costs are low, especially on LPG. And the service is everywhere, especially in Poland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1st Aug 2004, 13:52

I had an FSO Polonez 1,6 SLE built in 1990. It was a very nice car, quite reliable, spacious and comfortable. The 1,6 engine provided 86hp which was just enough for every-day use. It could drive fast, but it also needed more and more fuel then. A radio and soft-adjusted suspension made the Polonez a good choice for long-distance trips around Poland, although it was never a good car for abroad journeys. The suspension did not allow, however, to drive fast through tight turns. I thing that, for a car in the early 90's, it was a good choice - cheap, spacious and solid car, which could be repaired in any garage in Poland. I am happy to read some good reviews on the FSO POLONEZ.

14th Jan 2005, 08:12

I owned seven FSO Cars between 1980 and 1998 and never had a problem with any of them... six were Polonez and the last one was the diesel Caro. I miss them.

5th Sep 2005, 06:35

A very cheap car for young people. It's easy to repair in your own garage. I like my FSO Polonez 1.6 GLI. 120000km with no problem; the car still drives very well.

6th Jul 2007, 19:23

I owned a Polonez (sadly now departed) which took my family and I for over 150,000 miles around the UK including Channel Islands, Devon (4 times). Western Isles and, God knows how many other trips along the way. The only thing that went wrong was the voltage regulator when only 2 wks old (fantastic dealer backup on that one!!).

If you want something pretty for posing in DON'T have one of these, if you want a reliable, comfortable workhorse that puts up with all the crap you throw in it's direction... get a Polonez.

1995 FSO Polonez GLI 1.4 16v

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good car, but only with the 1.4 engine

Faults:

Muffler got rusty, I have to buy a new one.

Upholstery on driver's seat got ripped after 220,000 km.

The electric engine of the left window is broken.

General Comments:

The car is really quick, it's engine has 103 HP and accelerates very easily.

The cabin is quite spacious and comfortable.

It's really versatile thanks to the lift-back and fold able backseat.

It doesn't handle perfect, but quite good. After all it is not a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

19th Dec 2004, 21:56

This is my first car. I'm young man and I thing, it's a good car. With LPG = 9l LPG/100 km. acceleration = 15 s 0-100 km/h.

1991 FSO Polonez Caro GLE 1.5

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Most recent distance210000 kilometres

Summary:

Good price for a good car. I love it :)

Faults:

Replaced rear suspension in 1997.

Braking system replaced (braking disks).

New fuel container in 2000.

General Comments:

The engine runs perfectly since 1991 :) All that time I had no serious problems with the car.

It's very big and comfortable, but it could use a more powerful engine (mine has 90bhp).

Braking system has got four disks, so there is no problem to stop the car anytime. The car is also very safe; it has no airbag, but the body is well built and heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews